We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The roof is really what makes this place fantastic”
Review of Princess Salme Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princess Salme Inn
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I've been to Salme Inn three times during the autumn 2011 and January 2012 as I was living in Dar. Salme's rooms are small but clean. There's no AC but a fan and really good mosquito nets. The hotel itself is only a two minute walk from the ferry to Dar, five-ten minute walk from the busses leaving for the villages across Unguja, and five minute walk from the city centre.
But what really makes Salme an awesome place is the roof terrace. It's on 4th or 5th floor with a view over the sea. There are sofas and a fridge where you can buy beer and soda and just write your room number and pay when you leave the hotel. The temperature up there is nice and cool and you could easily spend some hours up there just relaxing alone or with friends. There's a computer connected to the internet up there also.
Breakfast is served up there as well. Fruits, eggs, bread, tea, coffee, all the works.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicklasMeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Princess Salme Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 177 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We got a double room for two, and another one with four beds, and they are really small and with no toilet. I think the place is expensive for what you get. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is nice, and there is wifi, but no in the first floor, so if you want wifi, ask for a bedroom in the upper floors!
The location is ok, near the port, for us it was great as we were staying just for one night and going back to daar es salaam.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Princess Salme Inn in a shared bathroom room and really enjoyed our time. The exterior of the building is a bit off putting and had us wondering if we'd made the right choice. However, as we entered and were greeted by the friendly staff we were right away at ease. The roof top terrace is a wonderful place to hang out, watch TV, use the internet or just watch Stone Town. The breakfasts were large and extremely tasty. We got to try some new fruits and Zanzibar specialties that we had never even heard of before.

The room itself was very simple but completely adequate and good value for the price. The whole hotel is cleaned all the time and it really shows as the washrooms are always clean and the showers with their big shower heads wonderful. The staff is very friendly and honest which is extremely important. The cleaning lady found a 10K shilling bill in our room that must have fallen out of one of our pockets and we never would have missed it. However, when she found it while cleaning, she tucked into our bed sheet and left it there for us. Now that's honesty!

We loved our stay at Princess Salme Inn and would definitely stay there again if we return to Zanzibar in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This the sister hotel of the 1001 Nights Hotel in Stonetown. The hotel is located close to the shipping dock yet close to everything in historic Stonetown.The staff was very freindly & resourceful.The rooms are done in Zanzibari Style decor with some rooms having ensuite bathroom or shared bathroom on the same floor.The beds all have mosquito nets for your sound mind of sleep without having to drench the room with Deet.Rooms are cleaned daily have fan & air conditioning.There is internet access that's free to guests along with a mini-bar in the open terrace which you can view Stonetown. They are on the honor system as you just write down on piece of pad paper what you took from refrigerator beer or soda approx. $1-2 USD each. on a pad of paper.The breakfast is included in the rates as it's served on the terrace as well.It included fruit,eggs,sausage,coffee , juice very well balanced. Overall you can't go wrong with this place especially those on a budget.It was better then expected,stayed three nights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Located by the dock end of Stone Town and 5/10 minutes walk to the main tourist centre it was fine for a day or two. We were very lucky and got upgraded to an ensuite room which was great, clean and spacious. Wifi worked in the room which was amazing and breakfast on the terrace was lovely. Nothing too exciting but comfy enough!

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bethan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were spending a few days in Stone Town and didn't have a ton of money to spend on lodging. BUT, we wanted a few extra perks. Princess Salme came through! I highly recommend this hostel if you're staying in Stone Town! Free wifi is included -- and it not only functions 24/7 but is faster than much of what i've encountered in Africa. The upstairs common room is charming and offers nice breezes on hot days. Breakfast of fresh fruit and juice well as toast and eggs is included. The location is in easy walking distance of all of the highlights of Stone Town (as well as the ferry dock) but isn't in the noisy heart. Staff is friendly and responsive. Rooms and common areas are clean. Beds include mosquito nets and rooms have fans. Some rooms have air con and en suite -- all for a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top sleeping floor get wifi reception without having to go to the rooftop common ro...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjlrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Friendly staff and clean rooms.
We stayed 1 night to take the ferry in the morning and the beds were really comfortable, the room we had small but enough! Big bathroom, with curtain and no door. This was no problem for us, but good to know maybe :)
Nice breakfast on the roof.

The area near the harbour can feel a bit dodgy at night...But still good as it is close to everything.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liol15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
400 reviews
28.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#24 of 33 in Stone Town
104 reviews
25.5 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Salme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Salme Inn

Address: Mizingani Road, Malindi | P.O Box 2310, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 255, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $39 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Salme Inn is a bed and breakfast hotel perfect for travellers looking to see Zanzibar for less. When you're out and about all day, a comfy bed and hearty breakfast are all you need! So book Princess Salme Inn, a bed and breakfast in Stone Town Zanzibar where you pay less and sleep well. Princess Salme Inn is a simple but comfortable bed and breakfast hotel in Stone Town growing incorporating its customer needs. It is in an old Arabic mansion with traditional touches. The hotel has remained one of the cleanest in the area and still maintains the lowest rates in town. Our team will assist planning and recommending tours, transfers and even safaris ... .. Our rooms are simple with the highest level of cleanness. We have variety of rooms to suite your needs and budget, and leaving you satisfied at the end. From Backpackers to Honeymooners, from cheap / budget customers to mid-range customers. The rooms are naturally decorated in Zanzibarian style with traditional Zanzibar beds. We are working hard to bridge the gap between client satisfaction and management perception of good service. Your honest reviews even if they are bad and good ones, all help us grow better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Princess Salme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Salme Hotel Stone Town
Princess Salme Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing