We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Princess Salme Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Princess Salme Inn
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stay at Salme Inn for 4 nights. The rooms was clean, stuff and management very friendly. We book over internet and ask for transfer from harbor to the hotel. The hotel taxi wait us and drove us to the Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
18
57
28
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosvenor Dale, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2011

If you are looking to experience the old stone town, this is the perfect choice.
The building itself is an antique. We loved our room, the roof top lobby, free internet and breakfast.
People in Zanzibar in General are very kind. I felt safe all the time I was there. There was a festival in Stone Town and there was no day which was down.
The management and staff of the hotel deserve much for their kindness. They were able to organize very nice tours and transport at very low cost for us, until we were satisfied. This will leave longer in our hearts, Sweet memories of Zanzibar!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetMasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

When my husband and I checked in, the room we had reserved was not available, so they upgraded us to a private room with an ensuite bathroom -- and they gave it to us for the duration of our stay for the lower price. Don't be put-off by the unsavory-looking location; the hotel proved to be a good value and in a decent location. The breakfast here is served on a rooftop kitchen with a view over the sapphire blue waters. And the breakfasts were simply amazing -- fruitplates, unlimited coffee, egg, sausage, chapatti, toast, and some sort of fried dough-ball. There is also a computer with internet that you are free to use and a TV with cable on the rooftop restaurant. The room was comfortable and the bathroom had hot water. The bathroom was only separated from the room by a curtain and the bathroom was the typical style we got used to in Africa -- no shower curtain to separate the shower from the rest of the bathroom. The bathroom itself was a little grungy but the room was nice, the bed was comfortable, and there were mosquito nets. Overall, we had a great stay and the staff were wonderful. I'd stay here again when going to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrifterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I had booked 2 nights through Hostelworld. The taxi was waiting for me at the airport and then took me to Adam's Inn - about 100m away from Princess Salme Inn. I was told it was the annexe of Princess Salme which was fully booked because of a music festival in the town. My room was basic and clean and the breakfast adequate. It didn't have the artistic touches of Princess Salme nor did it have a rooftop lounge area. As I was only there for 2 nights then it was OK.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoolinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We had a pleasant stay in this hostel for about one week. The breakfast is very good being fruit, drinks and warm dishes. The beds were a little to short for me but that a general problem in Africa. I can only be critical about the location of the hostel. Located near the fish market may at times be a bit smelly....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roomtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2010

My friend and I stayed there this September. Don't be put off by the small alleyway leading up to the entrance. Although it was basic, it was great value for money, the staff were extremely friendly and the roof terrace had a great view. They also feed you up at breakfast! Would definitely recommend it and it was just a short walk from the centre of Stone Town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyshort1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
265 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We chose poorly on this one - just needed a place to crash for one night before heading up to Nungwi and thought this one would be all right despite some bad reviews in the past. Recent reviews had been much better. Anyway, rooms were basic but fine, terrace was nice, free internet on their computer (no wireless) but my wife got chewed up by bedbugs on her twin bed (not sure if I didn't get bit or just didn't react). Four days later and they're just starting to fade.

Pretty sketchy area (right near the ferry) - not sure why so many hotels are located there. Wouldn't recommend wandering around at night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
270 reviews
28.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Salme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Salme Inn

Property: Princess Salme Inn
Address: Mizingani Road, Malindi | P.O Box 2310, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 255, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Salme Inn is a bed and breakfast hotel perfect for travellers looking to see Zanzibar for less. When you're out and about all day, a comfy bed and hearty breakfast are all you need! So book Princess Salme Inn, a bed and breakfast in Stone Town Zanzibar where you pay less and sleep well. Princess Salme Inn is a simple but comfortable bed and breakfast hotel in Stone Town growing incorporating its customer needs. It is in an old Arabic mansion with traditional touches. The hotel has remained one of the cleanest in the area and still maintains the lowest rates in town. Our team will assist planning and recommending tours, transfers and even safaris ... .. Our rooms are simple with the highest level of cleanness. We have variety of rooms to suite your needs and budget, and leaving you satisfied at the end. From Backpackers to Honeymooners, from cheap / budget customers to mid-range customers. The rooms are naturally decorated in Zanzibarian style with traditional Zanzibar beds. We are working hard to bridge the gap between client satisfaction and management perception of good service. Your honest reviews even if they are bad and good ones, all help us grow better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Princess Salme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Salme Hotel Stone Town
Princess Salme Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing