We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Let down by early departure service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beyt Al Salaam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beyt Al Salaam
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Let down by early departure service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed one night here as we needed to be in Stone Town to catch the early morning flight (6.15) from Stone Town to Dar for the BA flight to UK.
The hotel is centrally locate but not on any of the main roads so noise is not a major problem. We had a good size room with large en-suite but I found the bed uncomfortable (I could not fits the moulds made in the mattress.
The biggest problem though was that we needed a 5.00 am start in the morning and had arranged for an early morning call and packed breakfast which is part of the service. When it came to the morning, there was no morning call (just as well I was awake), no packed breakfast for us and no-one, including the night security guard to see us off. In fact we had to unbolt the door ourselves when the taxi driver knocked on the door. Simply not good enough.

On a different note, we did use the hotel restaurant having seen some positive reviews. The food was hit and miss, one particularly nice started but others dished merely ok and not as good as food we had had elsewhere, but perhaps we had been spoiled.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daccad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
68
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were spending a night in Stonetown at the end of a week at the Next Paradise Resort, and were recommended this restaurant by the resort owner. He told me it was his favourite in the city and I now know why.

We always try and end a trip in a really good restaurant and this placed fitted the bill perfectly. Great cocktails, Really great, very artistic and creatively presented food using freah local produce, and large enough not to fall into that novelle trap.

The service was extremely attentive, without being intrusive and the wine list had a great variety which were reasonably priced, as Zanzibar can be quite expensive for good wines.

We were introduced to the manager Mickey, who is a very pleasant guy who once again was also very attentive withoud invading our space. He ensured we had a great conclusion to our trip and I must say that this was a very relaxing and calming location to end the day in what is a very frenetic place... Tranquility in the midst of mayhem.....!!!

Room Tip: Try the spicy crab soup served in the coconut shell. I am allergic to shellfish but this dish was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swift0262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel was recommended in guide books so I booked for two nights. The location is terrific.
The staff saidthere was wifi but I was never able to log on in both days that we were there.

We reserved the sultan room which had two rooms and two bathrooms. Plenty of space but no hot water which was ok because it was quite hot in Stonetown during our stay. Both beds had mosquito netting.

I can see why some people might call this hotel charming for there are interesting period pieces which are very " Zanzibar". However, the reception area could stand a serious uplift. We found it to be dark and depressing.

The staff was accommodating and pleasant in the restaurant. Food was ok but not memorable. There was only one other room occupied during our stay.

Room Tip: The location is fabulous. The sultan room has two bathrooms which might be good if you are travellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkysenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

While we didn't actually stay at this hotel, we dined here twice. The food, though pricey for Stone Town, would be a steal anywhere in North America and is of exceptional quality. Wonderful soups, seafood and curry. Service is attentive and the setting is very beautiful. Highly recommended for dining.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jmacleantaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

You could not find a better location to stay in Stonetown. The six room B & B that used to be an old Arab Tea Trading House is located on a small square and shaded by magnificent trees and directly across from the small luxury Zanzibar Serena Hotel.

The rooms are well appointed with plenty of space and (very important) air conditioned. We were in the room named "Beyt al Chai" and this looked out on Kilele Square.

Everything was within walking distance and made for easy moving around despite the humidity. I would recommend walking to Forodhoni Park in the evening (about 4 - 5 minutes) and there you can feast to your hearts content on barbecued food of every variety.

Eating at the Beyt al Chai was okay. Breakfast was a hit or miss affair and we had lunc one time which was fine - nothing exceptional.

Definitely a great place to stay, but go further afield to eat.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the room we stayed in named: Beyt Al Chai
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steppestrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Beautiful old home, one block from ocean. Beautiful wooden four posters netting enclosed. Some view of ocean. Friendly helpful service. Much nicer, it appears, than other hotels which look fancy on the outside. This is a find and excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for sultans room on top floor, though other room we had was fine too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctoryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a charming, authentic guesthouse in a great setting near to the seafront, the Forodhani Gardens, the old city, and The Africa House. On arrival we were delighted to be upgraded to the Sultan room and given a cold bottle of bubbly as they knew it was our 10th wedding anniversary. This was a lovely touch. In the evening we ate at the Beyt al Chai restaurant and enjoyed a really great seafood dinner with a nice bottle of wine. We stayed here for two nights, which was a perfect amount of time to explore Stone Town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seagull70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#12 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#14 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyt Al Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyt Al Salaam

Property: Beyt Al Salaam
Address: | Kelele Square, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania (Formerly Beyt al Chai)
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyt Al Salaam 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who want to experience the charm of a classic Zanzibar setting with a touch of ancient Arabian mystique, the place is Beyt Al Salaam, formerly known as Beyt Al Chai. This is an exquisite 10-room boutique hotel within a traditional Zanzibar house, built on 3 floors in what was once a tea house. Sitting only a few paces from the sea, the house is cool and breezy. On a typical day, guests relax in our beautifully appointed lounge and rooms overlooking a square filled with hibiscus and ancient tamarind trees - simultaneously feeling the pull of the mysterious Indian Ocean that lies just beyond the trees and soaking up the ambiance of this World Heritage Site only steps away from the shops, restaurants and attractions of contemporary Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beyt Al Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beyt Al Chai Hotel Stone Town
Beyt Al Salaam Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing