We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you read is right...”
Review of Fumba Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fumba Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Everything you read is right...”
Reviewed October 11, 2007

I stayed here just for a few days as part of a group that had been on Safari, and was very very impressed with the quality of the accomodation, food and surroundings.

You are very well looked after by friendly staff, but there is a general relaxed feeling around the place which is welcome.

The beach, while nice, is not amazing... but the pool is excellent. The accomodation is lovely, with a small hut each - and only 30ish on site (so it's nice and quiet and private).

  • Liked — Staff, accomodation, views and the hot hot sun!
  • Disliked — Mosquitos :( although there weren't that many.. There's not much to dislike really...
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mister_phillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    74
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
70
182
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manja
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We just returned from a safari in Tanzania and then we visit fumba beach for our honeymoon. We expected a nice place, but it was more than that! When you're staying at fumba beach you've no idea what happens in the rest of the world. The crew is mostly friendly and everything is possible. They will take care of everything but more important: they really want the guests to have a unforgatable time! We had private dinner in our lodge at the veranda with our own cook, making a delicious meal. The only sounds we hear were the sound of the waves of the sea and the bushmonckey! Also we went for a boattrip to sea the blue lagoon! it was amazing, the ocean was very quite and there were dolphins swimming next to our boat! We really want to come back at this place: for the beautiful place but also for the more than friendly people! The owner is a dutch man who knowns everthing about hostility, we would recommand everybody to go to this magnificant place!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank manjaManja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed at Fumba for four days after a week's safari in Kenya.

If you like eating out under the southern stars, swimming in the pool or in the Indian Ocean, relaxing in a hammock overlooking the beach, walking around the grounds and seeing bushbabies by night and monkeys by day, sampling superb food, and feeling miles away from anywhereand yet only half an hour's drive from Stone Town then this is the place for you.

There are good excursions too - two of our group went to see the monkeys and other wildlife at Jozani Forest, and several of us went on the Blue Safari trip, a wonderful day which included seeing dolphins, snorkelling from a sandbank, swimming in a coral lagoon, a lobster BBQ and a trip on an outrigger canoe.

The staff were attentive and charming thoughout, including Simba, the manager's dog, who accompanied me on my morning runs up and down the beach.

We'd go back like a shot......

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a few too many mosquitoes
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinbrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

My best friend and I spent four nights in Fumba Beach Lodge (FBL) a week ago. I must confess that it wasn’t our first choice for accommodation but since it was the peak season, we ended up with FBL. No doubt that by the end of our stay, we felt that we had made the right choice and would like to recommend others who are looking for a quiet, peaceful and gastronomical experience to stay at FBL.

The Lodge is situated not too far from the airport (about 30 minutes’ drive) but the drive was very bumpy and uncomfortable due to the bad condition of the roads. As I arrived late at night, the whole ride was in pitch darkness as there was no public lighting along the remote and isolated roads of Fumba Village. Expect to find FBL as the only “civilized” spot in the village and once you leave the Lodge, there is not much infrastructure or facilities in the village. The good thing is, it is only 30 minutes from Stone Town and it is easy to arrange for transportation with the Lodge to get there. We had rented a car to drive to Stone Town and Nungwi (north of Zanzibar Island), all in one day.

The first impression I had of FBL was the silent and dark ambience (since I arrived in the night), possibly to create that romantic atmosphere for honeymooners or couples. For a split moment, I wasn’t sure whether my friend and I had made the right choice since we were rather weary about the fact that most 4-star hotels in Zanzibar are catered for honeymooners and since we are not, we might have felt awkward or uncomfortable. That feeling dissipated after awhile as we finally settled into the lodge and by the end of our stay, we were reluctant to leave.

The lodge is simple, clean and comfortable. Since our lodge faced the ocean, it was simply blissful to hear the sound of the waves at night. FBL takes great care of its guests’ comfort by making sure that the lodges are sprayed with insect repellant every night before we went to bed. Daily bottled water was supplied as well. We felt that we had a lot of privacy since there are only 26 lodges spread around the compound.

However, despite our pleasant stay, there are several things which we thought the Lodge could improve on. We felt that it lacks some basic facilities such as telephone (even for internal purposes), hair dryer and mini bar. We encountered some minor problems like operating the safety box and discovering holes on the mosquito net. Since there was no telephone, we had to walk all the way to the reception to get assistance (and it was quite a distance since we were placed at the end of the compound). Our chocolates were melting in the Zanzibarian heat simply because there was no fridge to keep it cool.

After exploring the Lodge a bit, we actually thought that the owner has managed to decorate the Lodge tastefully by paying great details to colour, fabrics, ambience and comfort. The pool overlooks the ocean which provided a calming effect while the leisure area is built around a huge baobab tree, creating an exotic African feel. Since the beach is just a few meters from the Lodge, we took pleasure in walking along the beach to a fishing village close by, where traditional and weather-beaten dhows bob in the gentle waves.

The staffs were very friendly, helpful, polite and available. While we appreciated such hospitality, we felt that sometimes it was too “generous”, particularly with the waiters. We felt that at one point, since we were two women on our own, we were more vulnerable towards the waiters’ unwanted attention. There were two occasions when we were annoyed with the waiters; once when a particular waiter kept coming to our table to have small chats and the other when three different waiters were serving our table at the same time. Our conversations were disrupted every few minutes when one waiter came after another to enquire whether everything was fine with us. We didn’t like that at all as we wanted to enjoy our company and meals without unnecessary interruption. We felt sorry that we had to be “rude” to the waiters in order to get our message across.

We were staying on half-board basis and agreed that the meals were well-prepared and tasted wonderful, especially during dinner time. The dinner menu varied every night while we were there and since it was not buffet style, we found the quality and portion better than most other hotels we had been before. Although seafood was the main attraction, the menu also catered for meat lovers and vegetarians. On our last night, the Lodge had prepared a lovely dining set-up on the beach for guests who were leaving the next day. As my friend would say, “It is indeed romantic.” All in all, we were very pleased and satisfied with the meals prepared at the Lodge.

With so many delightful experiences we had while staying at FBL, we were disappointed that the massages we had at the spa were poor and pale in comparison to so many other massages we had before. The masseuse who attended my friend was unenthused and unskilled. My friend left the spa feeling upset and annoyed, rather than relaxed and calmed. The service was also disappointing. When we requested to have our massages at the top of the spa (as described by the Lodge’s brochure and website), we were told that we couldn’t because there was electricity failure. I secretly felt that the masseuses were just too lazy to accommodate our request. So we had our massages in the dark and our bare skins were feasted by mosquitoes. I would say that the spa was our biggest disappointment with the Lodge.

Overall, I would recommend this Lodge to anybody who is going to Zanzibar for the first time, especially for couples. If you are traveling on your own but would like to spend some quiet time alone or just being contented with reading a good book by the pool, this would be the right place for you. However, if you are looking for some fun and excitement, this is definitely not the place, although the Safari Blue one-day trip might compensate for it. I felt that we had that balance of staying in a totally peaceful, quiet and relaxed environment and yet having the possibility of planning a one-day trip to somewhere more exciting and adventurous.

  • Liked — Food and the pool
  • Disliked — Spa and lack of communication facilities
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NipetteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

After spending 2 weeks camping in East Africa, it's fair to say that running water would have made me very happy, but the Fumba Beach Lodge was a 4 night stay in heaven!!!!

The staff - were all incredibly friendly and service was great - particularly Adam the receptionist.

The food - wow!!!! dinner was incredible on every night - the menus rolled and tied with grass a nice touch and the lobster flambee (upgrade for $10) was huge and so tasty.

The accommodation - check out their website... it really does look like that - the mosquito net around the 4 poster bed was fine until you realise that mosquitos are cleverer that you give them credit for and hide until the net is down :( - but barring the occasional mossy - it was great.

Our stay here was perfect for relaxation and beautiful views. I would heartily recomment the 'safari blue' day cruise and snorkelling & barbeque lunch & dolphin spotting (minus the crowds and not in their faces) & mangrove lake swimming & exotic fruit tasting.... and ALL drinks etc.... as the best value activity on Zanzibar. ($68)

If you want to explore Stone Town (great for shopping, a little let down on the sights) or Prison Island - yes trips can be arranged by Zan tours via the hotel - but you'd be wise to spend a night in Stone Town due to the $50 each way transfer due to distance and road conditions - and then just flop and enjoy the luxury that Fumba has to offer

  • Liked — Simba - the hotel's masaii dog who meanders everywhere and is a 'personal guide'
  • Disliked — the $50 transfer - through the hotel OR a normal taxi - just due to the location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank larosbif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
19.1 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
25.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
41.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.6 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
41.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
7.2 mi away
Chumbe Island Coral Park
Chumbe Island Coral Park
#6 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fumba Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fumba Beach Lodge

Property: Fumba Beach Lodge
Address: PO Box 3705 | Fumba, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fumba Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fumba Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fumba Beach Hotel Stone Town
Fumba Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing