We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in Zanzibar Palace Hotel as part of our honeymoon. Having enjoyed the beaches, we wanted to have a taste of 'inner city' Zanzibar. This hotel was perfect; located close to the hustle and bustle of Stone Town without being consumed by the busyness and noise. We stayed in a stunning suite on the first floor - all the perks of modern luxury set off by an Arabian décor. Extremely clean and spacious with very friendly and welcoming staff - always on hand to help. The walk in to the town centre (5-10 mins) involved walking through some quaint narrow streets as well as passing by some of the main attractions of Stone Town (Sultan's Palace and the Old Fort). This really provides the context for the hotel and allows for an appreciation of the historicity of Zanzibar in which the hotel is steeped. Various tours are easily arranged by the hotel leaving you with very little to worry about when it comes to organising your day's activities. Although we ate out for lunch and dinner, the quality and selection of the breakfast we enjoyed left us with little doubt that the rest of the food served here would be of very high quality. We couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 584 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed a day in Stonetown in July 2014 at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel and found it the perfect choice: Charming, small little Hotel, clean, very friendly and warm welcome, rooms are extraordinary, spaceous and renovated preserving the atmosphere of a palace of acient times.
They organized a tour through Stonetown with a good guide. So all in all we can highly recommend this Hotel. GM is a nice Dutch.

Room Tip: Any room will be good. Maybe choose the top floor for the veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed at the Zanzibar Palace for 2 nights in July 2014, it's a beautiful old building with everything you could need. The rooms are stunning and the service was friendly and superb. It's situated in a narrow alley type road in a good location with a short walk to the sea or shops. Would definitely be very happy to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jxxxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I came for our 1 year anniversary in June 2014 and stayed in the honeymoon suite on the top floor with a gorgeous private bathroom overlooking the sunset with a bottle of champagne in hand! The bathroom on the roof was definitely the special element but the staff and breakfast were also top class.

Every room is unique and the manager took great pleasure in showing us around each one to see the eclectic style of the whole hotel. It is located perfectly, a stroll away from the night market and right in the centre of town. It was quiet and comfortable and we would love to return!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite was pretty special but as we saw, every room is unique..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WanderingHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We made a stopover for two nights in Stone Town in this wonderful "hidden" Hotel. You open the door to a friendly, familiar and helpful and special world. We would stay here again and again and again ... ;-)
The staff was helpful in any case ... so they booked the best guide we ever had for a guided visit in Stonetown! The unique Restaurant is a class of ist own with the friendly staff and the extraordinary and delicious food. You don't eat there ... you will celebrate your meals there.
It's a seven star perfect Destiantion! Sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunther2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night in the dunia suite. Absolutely amazing room! It's on the very top floor. So be prepared to walk up 63 steps. As it is high up, there is not much noise from the streets below and it's airy and cool. Need to walk up 13 steps to get to bathroom with sundeck chairs. Can see the water from up there. During Ramadan, as I'm a light sleeper can be quite noisy and disruptive. Robert and Milou were excellent with helping you at every need. Just ask and they will help. WiFi has good connection in the room. Theres also TV and AC. Included breakfast is average.

Room Tip: Go for the Dunia room on the top floor. Quieter, airy, cool, bathroom overlooking water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was an absolutely beautiful hotel and I would not hesitate to stay here again. My friend and I had the Nadia suite. It was perfect. Two of our other friends stayed in the Dunia suite. Both rooms were different but equally charming and beautiful. The staff was helpful and friendly. It's a perfect location in Stone Town - easy to walk everywhere. With all the twist and turns of the city, we did get lost the first day or two but we did get it eventually. I want to go back to Zanzibar just to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born_t0_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $136 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing