We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this cozy hotel. The management and staff are very professional and were always willing to go a step farther step to assist us with whatever request we had. Thank you all very much for accomodating all of our requests and Kyle's; I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience Stone Town to its fullest.

Room Tip: lower rooms are best if you're not up for the challenge of climbing stairs; however, the staff i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 573 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We loved everything about the Zanzibar Palace hotel. I thought this boutique hotel with its unique ambience & great personalized service was worthy of a 5 star rating.
It is hidden away in one of the winding narrow alleyways of Stonetown, close to shops & within walking distance to the sea. The hotel is very discreet from the outside but once you set foot inside, it is like stepping into another world. It's filled with loads of history, character & charm. We received a very warm welcome by the assistant manager. He was very attentive & hospitable & he couldn't do enough for us. He quickly organised a very informative city tour of Stonetown at a cheaper cost than what we would have paid if we had organised it ourselves. The rest of the staff were also very friendly & helpful. We were kindly given an upgrade to "The Sultana room". This room was huge with a large balcony overlooking the rooftops. It was so beautifully furnished & tastefully decorated. Lots of nice touches, Bookcase with books, a large bath & a safe to lock away valuables. Complimentary ironing was provided & on our return from our night out, the room was prepared with the mosquito nets & air conditioning was switched on to cool down the room. The breakfast was lovely. Although I have a gluten free diet there was still ample between the omelette I ordered & a selection of food from the buffet. I would definitely recommend staying here but stay for at least 2 nights if you can so you have plenty of time to appreciate the experience.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BrisbaneWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was a lovely boutique hotel. We had a warm welcome and a cold drink on arrival. Mark, Robert and the whole staff team were helpful, friendly and attentive. Our room, the Sultana Suite, was beautiful; the balcony ran the length of the hotel and was an amazing place to watch Stone town from. Mark and Robert arranged two trips for us, a guided walk around Stone Town and a trip to Prison island both really enjoyable. They advised us about the best pharmacist, the nearest ATM and they even sorted out a problem with our return flight.
Breakfast was good, the coffee was particularly good and I am very fussy about my coffee!
For us this was the perfect place to stay, it had character, a degree of luxury, a good central location and most of all lovely staff.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front which was great to watch the world go by. The stairs were steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The location is perfect, close to the attractions Stone Town has to offer, but at the same time in a quiter part of the town. On arrival, we were presented with a passion fruit smoothie/juice and a cold towel, and our luggage was taken up to the room for us. The hotel and the rooms are decorated with antique, traditional Zanzibari furniture, but have all modern facilities. Breakfast is very good, with many options. The staff was very helpful and was interested in making our stay as good as possible. Their spa is also worth a try!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in this beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town. The staff was so exceptionally good to us, we felt like part of their family. They went the extra mile to help with a tour that wasn't even booked through the hotel. Our room was very comfortable, a home away from home. The food was excellent, service wonderful, even when we didn't let them know in advance (as requested) we would be having dinner in. We're very happy to highly recommend The Zanzibar Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The staff is serviceminded and professional. The hotel is perfectly placed regarding Stone Town and all it's splendour.
Breakfast is the best we ever had at Zanzibar, and the staff is helpfull regarding allergies. Rooms are beautiful, but the bathrooms are a bit small. Standard is still high, so it beats most of the other bathrooms we had on our journey. Good beds and they also prepare the rooms for the night, without extra cost! So the mosquitonets are prepared, aircondition set and the room made ready for a good nights sleep, while we where at the restaurants enjoying dinner. That extra service makes a huge difference.
We also enjoyed the spa, something that really made our day. A proper massage before the long journey back to Norway.
In the back of the reception there is a small bar, try the Konyagi! The local gin :)

Room Tip: It's a small hotel, with only nine rooms. Every room has it's own soul, and name... We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TorstL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

What a beautiful hotel! The hotel is decorated very nicely without being tacky. We had Arabica room on the top floor which offered great views over the town. We were on a half board package and we had dinner which my wife had the tuna and I had the steak which was fantastic. Staff were great and helped with directions for walking and even packed a breakfast for us when we had an early day. A nice and quiet hotel in the heart of historic Stone Town!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $155 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing