We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy-tale hotel in center of Stone Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very nice hotel, with all the rooms beautifuly decorated in a kind of old Arabic style. Very kind and helpfull staff, nice little bar, very childfriendly management. The hotel is completely aircondtioned. One of our best experiences ever.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our stay in Zanzibar Palace. The hotel is located in the center of Stone Town, cur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ThomasKinshasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 573 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great and Safe city. Great accomodations. Recommend the stay as well as the city market tour by island Express. Stone town is worth a visit for a couple of days i feel. The one night we spent was great. The great food at the hotel was a welcome relief after days in Africa!

Room Tip: All were good. Would entertain the top room just for the experience next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vancouver_stevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel. We arrived on New Year's Eve and ate in the hotel restaurant which we would recommend. The hotel is in walking distance of all the attractions as long as you don't get lost in the small streets which is very easy to do. However, we still felt safe even when lost. The staff are very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aggie3645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Zanzibar Palace is a fantastic hotel. We stayed there over NYE between our safari and trip up to Nungwi Beach for the remainder of our honeymoon. While at first we were a bit disoriented, mainly due to the location among the winding maze of streets in Stone Town, and the fact that our tour provider had provided us with incorrect information, the hotel itself is very beautiful and certainly unique. The room itself was very majestic (for a lack of a better word). We stayed in the Sultana room (if I'm remembering correctly) and the size, air conditioning, and comfortable bed were perfect, in fact that was by far the most comfortable bed we slept on during our entire trip. We also enjoyed dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was absolutely wonderful. The service was amazing and the food itself was incredible. Not that we were expecting it to be poor, but the meal far exceeded both my wife and I's expectations. My wife commented that the filet was the best cut of beef she had ever had. Excellent wine recommendations as well. The proprietors of the hotel were equally amazing. They gave us excellent recommendations on how to navigate throughout town, where to spend our evening ringing in the new year after dinner and made us feel completely safe wandering around town. The only real complaint is the street noise, which due to its location, there's not much you can do about. But by having the hotel off the waterfront, it caused us to walk around and explore more of the city, so while at first we were disappointed with the location, it ended up being a blessing in disguise.

WARNING: it is VERY easy to get lost attempting to navigate through the streets/alleys immediately surrounding the hotel. We never felt like we were in danger. But we definitely got lost and had to use the compass on my iPhone to get us heading west to find a way out of the maze. We very easily got turned around and had no idea where we were after about 15-20 mins of walking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mjohndrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in Zanzibar Palace Hotel. I arrived at after midnight in Zanzibar due to flight cancelations right from Accra through Addis Ababa to Zanzibar. My luggage did not arrive on the same flight. After spending some hours at the airport giving particulars about myself and my baggage, I took a taxi to Stone Town to the hotel. I was so tired and I did not even look around the hotel and went straight to the shower and then to bed. I slept comfortably throughout and did not even realize that it was christmas day. It was then that I realized that my room is called Rosewood on the top floor and it represent the arabic way of living.

I went down to breakfast and was very satisfied with what the hotel had to offer, a good coffee, sue danish, a good omelette - I was happy.

Now I have been in many hotels but Zanzibar Palace Hotel was unique - in the sense that it portrays the culture in the milieu it is located. It is welcoming, clean, very clean and the food was superb and excellent. The staff were so pleasant and willing to help all the time. Arrangements to visit the spice farm and stone town itself were made by the hotel and it went very well.

The SPA was very relaxing and good for me. Since I returned I have been telling my friends about it especially how modest and clean the hotel is and the good food served. I definitely enjoyed my stay there and would recommend it to anyone who want to stay within the vicinity of stone town.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have excellent view of Stone Town. In Rosewood, opened the windows to receiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MariaBGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We truly enjoyed our recent stay at the Palace Hotel and our visit to Stone Town. The location was easily within walking distance of attractions and places of interest and we felt safe doing so. The staff was very friendly and helpful and did whatever they could to make our brief stay the best it could be. We would highly recommend this property if you're in the market for a small, personal lodging experience in a place that feels more like staying in a 'palace' than in a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Conveniently located near major attractions, this age old palace is now reconstructed to accommodate 9 rooms. Every room has a theme from the historical days and we were in the Rosewood room. The decor is from late 1800s to early 1900s and will transport you back in eons. Its a pleasant experience from the oh-so-modern hiltons & hyatts of the world. The wooden furniture has intricate wooden carvings and the staff pays attention to detail. Breakfast is quite good & you can also exchange currency at the front desk.

The hotel has no elevator but the decor, hospitality and rooms will blow your mind.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sona_G81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $155 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing