We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh So Close”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Ennetbaden, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Oh So Close”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I truly wanted to give this an Excellent rating, but somehow it just misses the mark...but not by much. The room was wonderful and the view outstanding. It is a small boutique hotel with lots of character and stairs. Everything was just that fine. The hotel just lacks the finess and service to be given an excellent rating.

The dinner we had was TREMENDOUS and oh so good. We ended up having a Swahli traditional dinner, which I would highly recommend.

The location was also spot on, in the heart of Stone Town and in good walking distance to all important sites.

Maybe the main trouble was being on Safari, on our own, for 8 days and then to be thrown into the hustle and bustle of a busy city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    121
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
74
343
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Beautiful heritage hotel in the middle of old stone town. Boutique style accommodation with a difference. Each room individually decorated in specific theme. We stayed in Dunia, a large room on the top floor(no lifts in this hotel). The room was very big, a huge bed, net enclosed, with stools bedside to climb up onto the bed. Ensuite is truly unique, up more stairs and on the roof top. It is open air with views across the water and rooftops. Also has a nice siting area & a couple of sun beds. Call to prayer is is quite loud, especially morning, but this is Zanzibar. Staff extremely friendly & accommodating. Breakfast is the usual fare. No swimming pool but good air con. Would highly recommend hotel especially if u want something a little different from the big multi nationals.

Room Tip: Dubai room roof top ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LeisaD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We loved staying at the hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfy, with great ambience. We had a fabulous bathroom with luxurious products. Would not hesitate to recommend to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shezzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Tonw
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you like: interesting architecture, one of a kind furniture, an authentic ambiance, little touches of luxury, and attentive service - check out the Zanzibar Palace Hotel before you book anywhere else! It is a small hotel right in the heart of Stonetown, but has all the modern comforts in a beautifully restored old building. The service is excellent, and all the staff are friendly and helpful without being pushy.

My only regret was that I could only spend one night there. Hopefully I will be back.......

Room Tip: The Rosewood Room was very comfortable, with a dramatic 4 poster bed. Although the windows open onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Arrived at the ZPH and had a very pleasant lunch shortly after our arrival. We found all the staff very attentive and helpful and who were able to put us in touch with a local guide who walked us round the places of interest ie market, slave chamber, house of wonders etc and also gave us a short history of Zanzibar.
We stayed in the 'Farizah' room which was tastefully decorated in the old colonial style and would have liked to have stayed longer but were tied to our flight times. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: As the Farizah room, which was on the 'reception' side of the building, was the only one we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Zanzibar Palace Hotel for two days in the Dunia suite. The bathroom has a fantastic view over Stone Town and gives you the luxury experience of bathing and showering in the open air. Beds are huge and comfortable. Nothing is too much asked for, staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel looks well maintained and extremely clean. The manager Robert and his assistant Mark really have things under control and are always happy to help out. Lovely and relaxed atmoshpere!

Room Tip: In dry season the Dunia suite is the best with the open rooftop bathroom with private sundeck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Inez W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were lucky as decided to stay 3 nights in Stonetown, so had time to fully enjoy the Farizah Suite and this hotel in general. The staff never stop smiling and were always interested in you - they greatly add to its charm. To the gentle water feature in reception to the very comfortable bed we recommend it. The Swahili meal was amazing and one of our best meals on the island. Close to everything we could not have asked for better.

Room Tip: The stairs are not as bad as some reviews make out. And as they carry the cases - no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastbourne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing