We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1001 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We only stayed one night in the hotel, but it was so good! We loved the it, the room was beautiful and the bathroom was great! It was a great welcome, very friendly! They gave us a good advice before visiting the city! The hotel was in the middle of the city, in few minutes you were at the market and the shopping areas. The breakfast was very good. we hope to come another time and spend some more time!! This hotel was a wonderfull end of our vacation. Thank you very much for your hospitality.

Hans and Corina

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corina z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 584 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

It is a small hotel with only 9 rooms, tucked away on a side street but only minutes from the main areas. Our room (Nadia) was on the first floor and added to the ambiance of the island. This room seems to be a bit smaller than the others, but was just fine for us. The website shows pictures of each room, so you could look on there if you wanted to pick a room. It was decorated with fresh flowers upon arrival. Robert, Mark and the rest of the staff were very helpful. They were also quite honest about which sights they recommend a guide for, and which we could do on our own, which was appreciated. We decided to go to Prison Island and see the giant tortoises last minute, and they had someone available to take us within 10 minutes. Also, we had to leave quite early the next morning before the kitchen opened, and they had a boxed breakfast waiting for us when we left. We had a wonderful time here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanka625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wonderful staff room 4th floor arabica suite was great roomy light and comfortable good position only 10 min walk from main shopping areas markets etc + felt perfectly safe at all times helpful staff gave excellent advice on safety trips etc bar restaurant cosy but great would stay again def

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogerc333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I echo the other guests in how friendly and helpful the staff are. First class!! We loved the rooms and the uniqueness of this place. One night we stayed on the second floor with an enormous bathtub and bathroom. We felt like royalty. The bed was quite comfortable. We stayed a second night on our way back from the beach and we stayed on the top floor which was fun. We had a small deck so we could look out over the rooftops while enjoying our coffee in the morning. But, getting the coffee up 3 flights of stairs was challenging! There are no elevators here which we didn't need but worth noting.
My only apprehension was navigating the streets at night back to the hotel. You have to pay attention to where to turn. One night we had someone from the restaurant walk us back.....made me feel safer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 8doggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

How can you not love this place? Each room is uniquely designed to fit into the Arabian nights theme, which is historically what Zanzibar is about The staff is great. They really bend over backwards to accommodate. The place is wonderful. The breakfasts are excellent.
I've never stayed in such a small, but wonderfully unique place before.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room out of the 9 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladytraveler1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel ready fits in the past of Zanzibar. The Manager, Assistant Manager and staff made us feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived. Only a small hotel with 9 large rooms, all separately named and differently themed. We stayed in the Farizah room on Level 1. We were very comfortable. We dined in the hotel and were not disappointed, the entire meal was outstanding as was the ambience of the small but tastefully appointed dining area. If you don't want to experience the past then this is not your hotel, however if you do want to get in the mood of your surroundings and want to be made feel welcome you will do no better than staying here.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room and were pleased with our choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjmortons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay albeit short! The authentic decor within created a wonderful ambience.

We had the room with the enormous bath and shower, amazing. Very comfortable and we were also greeted with swan shaped towels and flowers everywhere!

There is an indoor fountain (original air conditioning system) and numerous beautiful lanterns.

Should not be confused with the new Grand Palace Hotel!!!

Room Tip: Sultan Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gillian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $136 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing