We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Other world hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Other world hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel was truly 'other-worldly'! The rooms, which were large and comfortable, were almost out of Arabian Nights, except that the facilities were modern! The furnishings were sumptuous and tasteful and well maintained. The hotel is set in the heart of Stone Town and so one is constantly aware of life out there, yet cocooned within a safe place. The staff were from start to finish friendly, informative and efficient and nothing appeared to be too much for them in order to make the stay there a good experience. Robert and Mark were excellent hosts and the staff were just so friendly and apparently happy in their work, which is always a good sign! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel - we were unfortunately only there for two nights, so try to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    115
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
70
330
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Old world charm in the heart of Stone Town! The hotel is charming and very authentically Zanzibar. The rooms are roomy and comfortable. The food was great -- the couple sitting across from us at dinner was served the largest reef lobster I have ever seen. My wife and I stayed in the Dunia suite, which was fantastic and has a rooftop deck and tub -- highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatherw0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsp2007_9
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I regret that we only had one short night at this hotel. We arrived late at night and were shown to the beautiful Sultan's room. It was beautifully decorated and had a large bath, balcony and sitting area. After a nice big breakfast the helpful staff gave us a map and highlighted the tourist and shopping area's we should see. Hopefully next visit we'll get to stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mrsp2007_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned a few days ago after a 4 week trip to Africa and have stayed in a variety of hotels. Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a boutique hotel very efficiently run by two very pleasant gentlemen,Mark and Robert. The service here is personal and caring. The supporting staff are also very friendly and efficient.
While the hotel is a throwback to the past with decor and artefacts reflecting the oldtimes,the amenities are modern with aircond rooms and hotwater system that works. Free wifi in the room is a bonus.
Cooked breakfast in the morning is very good and the restaurant where we had seafood was excellent. We were served afternoon tea with cakes in the room.
Locationwise, it's right in Stone Town but is only a 5 mins walk to the seafront.Another bonus was the good value if you need your laundry to be done.
Highly recommended, excellent personal service all round and two managers on the ball.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank msyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very different,it's old fashion charm at it's best with it's wonderful Arabic style and design(special one night stay)all staff were very helpful and friendly.Breakfast was perfect with plenty of different choices! The location of this hotel is definitely central for walking out and exploring Stone Town, which is fascinating.Just which we had had a little longer here to explore!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous multi centre holiday with Imagine Africa. This is our second trip with the Imagine Group and both were absolutely fantastic. We stayed for two nights in this bijoux hotel in the Sherali Suite. Our room had a four poster bed, a free standing bath in the middle, a lounge area, a chilling area which was a huge padded rug on the floor and loads of cushion an enormous bathroom area and a view over Stone Town and the Sea.

The food was amazing and the staff were so professional and obliging. We had a welcome glass of champagne and a platter of fruit on arrival and room service is free.

The hotel can recommend trips for you, we did the guided tour of Stone Stone and the Spice Tour which were both very worthwhile.

We also enjoyed the Spa facilities and enjoyed a 'couples' massage, which was both thorough and relaxing.

Stone Town itself is not spectacular but the Zanibar Palace certainly is.

Elizabeth Kingsman

Room Tip: There are many mosques in the town an the call to prayer five times a day, particularly in the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay stay at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel following our trekking up Mount Kilimanjaro. The staff were excellent and very attentive. The managers were really helpful in guiding us around the narrow alleyways and helping us plan our exploration of Stonetown and local areas of interest. The food was excellent- I had the biggest jumbo prawns ever and the other fish was delicately cooked! A lovely hotel to stay for a short visit to Stonetown.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in the room called Farizah (means Arch). Large airy room with an enormous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#2 of 34 in Stone Town
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#10 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing