We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“2nd VISIT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“2nd VISIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Zanzibar Palace Hotel in Stonetown. It was just as good as the last time. Its situation was really convenient for what we wanted to do. The rooms are quirky but we loved the room we were in this time which was on the top floor. Only down side is if you have difficulty climbing steep stairs. Food and service was good on the night we ate in. If we go back to Stonetown again we would definitely go back to the Zanzibar Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lowest floor if you have a problem climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherad_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    118
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
70
336
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location in Stone Town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast arranged at an ungodly hour to ensure we were fed before departing for an early flight. The room itself was not very appealing however and looked as though it was done on the cheap which was disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olibhiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel after being on safari and travelling by small plane, which was more like a bus the number of stops it made, and walked back in time when we entered the cool, reception area of the hotel! Although our room was on the second floor, up several flights of the steep, narrow, wooden staircase, the climb was worth it. Our room was just an extension of the time capsule that gives the impression that you are in a palace. As we were more than a little travel weary, we chose to eat in the hotel and were not disappointed, it was an exceptional meal, made even better by the service. Unfortunately we had only one night to enjoy the hotel and its surroundings but we would not hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrysta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Smack at the centre of town, 2min walk from one of the oldest banyan tree in the world and the sea, Zanzibar Palace Hotel is an old converted Arab House. Very tastefully decorated. The rooms are incredible. I stayed in Sultana room.. Huge room, with a private balconie overlooking the roofs of Zanzibar nd the narrow streets below. Room is so large there is space for a huge bath/jacuzzi style..

Love this place. Will never forget it!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank yaz3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

A lot of dough of course. But so well worth it. Heavy furniture at first, thick curtains, too antiquated, too English, and the magical bed looking at night, lit from within in a most dramatic way, as a peaceful grave... But to be enjoyed fully, every minute of it, every cell of your body enjoying one of these exceptional 9 rooms, forgetting about outside, forgetting about world news, just enjoying this special space, enjoying your personal thoughts on pure white sheets, wishing to lock yourself within and never have to go out... Not to speak of the dedicated staff, just the right distance - class and sense of humor. Shall not "click to rate" : many things, many persons are beyond rate, beyond any price tag. Enjoy and bless your luck.

Corinne, writer, Geneva (Switzerland) and Paris (France)
c.desarzens@bluewin.ch

Room Tip: Dramatic Sultana, sun-decked Dunia
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank corinne292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babati
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great hotel with really friendly staff (especially the good looking Dutch guy who's the manager) Our room had an awesome view. This hotel is beautiful. We really recommend the food as well especially the lobster. The service is great the staff made us feel welcome the moment we arrived. This hotel truly made our stay at Zanzibar worth while.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Quite in isagreement with fantastic review of this place. Perhaps it depends on the room. I was given a room on 1st floor which was not particularly charming nor had a decent shower room (no bath tub) where I felt like I was sent to a poor quality student accommodation shower facility. Amenity was not the quality that one wish to replace with its own. I was fortunately staying just for one night thus managed not to get annoyed but any more than one night at the same room would have driven me crazy.

Having mentioned all the negatives above, I must also mention the positives: management is very accommodating and helpful. Staff are friendly and hard working. And the quality of food @restaurant is really high.

So, in a nutshell, if you get a better room than the one I had, your stay will most likely be a really pleasant one.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#3 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#9 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#5 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, Persian rugs, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. In its adjacent building there is the Palace Luxury Spa, with its contemporary look and feel with one-of-a-kind art and furniture. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing