We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Dhow Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Beyt Al Salaam(Stone Town)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$68
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kisiwa House(Stone Town)
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveler rating
423
125
24
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
125
24
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorour honeymoonsteep stairsno liftrecommend staying heretwo nightssmall hotellots of characterlarge roomunique hotelfour poster bedarabian nightscity tournarrow streetsunique experienceair conditioningstayed longer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 586 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great hotel with really friendly staff (especially the good looking Dutch guy who's the manager) Our room had an awesome view. This hotel is beautiful. We really recommend the food as well especially the lobster. The service is great the staff made us feel welcome the moment we arrived. This hotel truly made our stay at Zanzibar worth while.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Quite in isagreement with fantastic review of this place. Perhaps it depends on the room. I was given a room on 1st floor which was not particularly charming nor had a decent shower room (no bath tub) where I felt like I was sent to a poor quality student accommodation shower facility. Amenity was not the quality that one wish to replace with its own. I was fortunately staying just for one night thus managed not to get annoyed but any more than one night at the same room would have driven me crazy.

Having mentioned all the negatives above, I must also mention the positives: management is very accommodating and helpful. Staff are friendly and hard working. And the quality of food @restaurant is really high.

So, in a nutshell, if you get a better room than the one I had, your stay will most likely be a really pleasant one.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lutecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a very grand and impressive building set amidst a maze of streets that formed the original Stone Town, so it is an ideal base from which to explore.
A delayed flight meant that we didn't arrive until 2am and in our grumpy mood it was unnerving to meet such cheeful and friendly staff at that time in the morning.
Our room was spacious and elegantly decorated with tradional Zanzibar furniture, but there are few frills and don't expect 5-star luxury. Ours was only a short stay and maybe we had one of the smaller rooms; our en suite was adequate. The public rooms, however, are a treat and we were well looked after by both management and staff; our dinner in the hotel was fine.
Overall I'd say this is the perfect place to stay if you want a flavour of old Zanzibar; we'd certainly go bcak.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our stay in the Zanzibar Palace Hotel gave us the opportunity to experience the city and Stone Town at any moment of the day and evening. Inside the Zanzibar Palace Hotel we felt very welcome in a relaxed atmosphere wit great service. Our room was extra-ordinary with a bath room on top of the roof. Imagine to shave with a view on the sea. Outside the hotel we walked directly into the attractive streets of Stone Town. We really recommend the Zanzibar Palace Hotel. Actually to experience both the Zanzibar Palace Hotel and the city is a very good combination.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

as having to get an early flight Rainbow tours booked us in a hotel close to the airport in Stoe Town ,giving us a day to look around this old and historic town. very picturesque. the hotle gave us a beautiful old room with a 4 poster bed,but the facilities 1st class with aircon and deep bath and 20th century plumming. advise tripper to go down to the beach at night to see the sunset and have a meal at one of the beach side restaurants

Room Tip: we had the Sultana suite that had a lovely balcony with first class and old furniture plus 4 poster bed. but stairs very steep to climb.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micky5311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews