We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Charm and character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked a two week trip through Imagine Africa who arranged all our safaris and accommodation extremely well and efficiently.

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is brilliantly located in old Stone Town. The hotel has huge amounts of character and the rooms are spacious. We stayed 2 nights and arranged trips to Jozani Forest and saw the Blue Sykes and Colobus monkey; a walking tour of town, a boat trip to see the giant tortoises on Prison Island and the best spice garden tour we have ever done.

All the staff were really helpful and the food great especially the passion fruit and avocado drink. Free wi=fi was a bonus. Hotel is in quiet area away from mosques !

Room Tip: There is a massage parlour run by the hotel but next door - fab ! The stairs are a bit steep and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    119
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
71
340
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

2 nights in a fab little hotel. Great chef ...food and staff. Owner was extremely accommodating. Loved the town and hustle and bustle. The Dunia suite was amazing. We also went out on day trip ti prison island. It was a lovely outing and the snorkelling was great. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Only having one night in Stonetown we opted for the Zanzibar Palace for it's location & on review recommendations. It didn't disappoint! Fantastic boutique hotel and we were in the Shaba room complete with the most amazing bathroom with a bath that could have doubled as a plunge pool!
Staff are so attentive & friendly ... and the bar may be small & cosy but the cocktails pack a punch - welcome reward after climbing Kilimanjaro. Free wifi too & really good coffee at breakfast time.
Highly recommend a stay

Room Tip: There are only 9 rooms in the hotel and we stayed in Shaba which we loved - the bath is big enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luce01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I travelled by myself to Zanzibar for a weekend, and both the hotel and the staff exceeded my expectations. Robert was very welcoming, accommodating, and let me have a late check out since my flight didn't leave until 5PM. The breakfast was wonderful, and they arrange taxi transport for you for tours and to and from the airport if you want! One of the nicest places I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EShoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We chose this hotel after a friends recommendation. A great find! The service was outstanding, we travelled with our children aged 9&11 and the staff could not have been more attentive or accommodating.

We had a fantastic time in Stonetown and have fond memories of of our time there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the Zanzibar palace for two nights at the start of this month after a week in mainland Tanzania and a week in northern Zanzbar.
Robert and the staff are superb and could not be more helpful giving us first class guidence on what to do in Stone Town. They arranged a guided tour with a local guy called GODFREY KASISI who was really very very knowledgable and helpful.
The buliding is lovely with many original features but if you cannot " hack " stairs this is not the place for you, we stayed on the top floor in the Rosewood Room that was good.
We did not eat in the hotel at night, and for that matter few others did either. This is an area that we felt they needed to be bit more ambitious, there is a spa treatment room but it only open on request. This is situated in a building next to the hotel that also has a roof top terrace, perhaps the restauarnt should be up there??
Anyway they are really nice people and desreve to suceed but there is an awful lot of new and very good competition about.

Room Tip: They all looked good but Roswood is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

When I first started looking for hotels in Stone Town I used Trip Advisor. I decided this hotel because of my budget and location. The hotel is very well presented with a lovely green garden which I saw on Trip Advisor. The staff welcomed me and help with my bags. I was given a room on the 1st floor. The room was presented like a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was on the roof top & staff couldn't do enough for you. Notes: there are power black outs so the lift doesn't work, walking distance to town, the slave market and all the alley ways full of shops, ferry to the islands and Dar es Salaam across the road. I didn't walk around the town at night, but I felt very safe in this hotel. I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skytraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing