We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay in the Arabica Suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Divonne, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Our stay in the Arabica Suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We really enjoyed our short stay in Stonetown (after the initial culture shock!) and were very pleased with our choice of hotel.

We loved our 'Arabica' suite, even though we feel we did not spend enough time in it to do it justice! We only had a day and a half in Stonetown and so many things to see... The room was brilliantly decorated in the antic Arabian style, but with all the modern comfort, including aircon - a haven after walking around the city under a scorching sun.

The hotel is well located, but as we found out, nothing is ever far in Stonetown, it is just a question of finding your way around (no street name signs anywhere, so very easy to get lost at first!)

Owners and staff were very pleasant and efficient. The hotel is full of character and takes you back to the days of the Sultans, with wifi, flat-screen TVs and DVD players as a bonus! ;-)

We could have happily stayed a few days longer...

Room Tip: Just bear in mind that you need good legs to go up the stiff stairs to the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadège
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    119
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
72
340
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

i wasn't happy to get back in the city coming from chapwany private island, and when a drove down the streets in stone town i couldn't imagine finding a marvellous place opening the door of the hotel. Cosy, charming, discret luxe. A Palace ! the service is discret and helpfull, the room Nadia is marvellous, all the confort you need in a traditionnal fournitures bedroom. The pearl is at the Spa ! I used to work at hotel MARTINEZ in Cannes FRANCE which is a palace and i can tell you are in a high level of luxury. BRAVO i'll be back some days for sure

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aupetitgari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We loved our stay at the Zanzibar Palace Hotel! It was like an exotic step back in time, with all of the amenities! Attentive, friendly staff and welcoming owner made our visit memorable. Great location allows for exploring and visiting major sites with a guide or own your own. Food was also quite good. A real gem on a gem of an island!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlendaDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Two weeks ago we came back from a wonderful journey to Zanzibar/Stone Town. Our son is living there for 5 months because of an internship. He is working in this hotel and we have been visiting him for 2 weeks in oktober 2011.
We met the Dutch owners and they were so kind and helpful to us. Every time when we came back in the hotel it felt like we were coming home.
We also prefer to eat in this hotel, because in other restaurants we did not always dare to eat because we were afraid to become ill. People in Zanzibar are not always as hygenic as we are, but in this hotel they surely are! And above all they have a wonderful and tasteful lunch and dinner menu!
We slept in 4 different rooms, and they were all very clean, beautiful en romantic!
We have had an unforgettable stay in Stone Town thanks to this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Just off the coastal road, nestled in the side streets, you will find the jewel of Zanzibar, the 'Zanzibar Palace Hotel'.

We do quite a bit of travelling and with our family of four (two big kids in our 40's and twin 6 year olds), we need room, flexibility and a relaxing stay with a few of the 'extras' that you don't find everywhere.

Franz and Co are the wide smiled owners of this very quiet, eclectic, spacious, boutique feeling hotel. They are only too willing to accommodate your requests and even went as far as to offer making something special for the kids if the menu didn’t appeal to them.

Our stay in the Shaba room was extraordinary. The room décor was majestic with three windows shedding light and a warm breeze from the nearby water. The room is equipped with an air conditioner, which worked very well and cooled down the room quickly.
There is a built in lounge bed that the children used and was quite comfortable and spacious enough for them to share, negating the need for an additional bed in the room. The room also has a large flat panel television and DVD player to help entertain the kids after a long day of sightseeing or shopping the area stores or market. Franz has a nice collection of DVD’s at the front desk for you to borrow as well.

The bathroom is as spacious as the room and the tub could sleep two comfortably. My daughter thought we had our own Jacuzzi in the room when she first saw it.
The onsite restaurant is convenient and the food was great.

I commented to one of the staff that I noticed genuine smiles on everyone’s faces. He grinned and said that he has worked there since the renovations and would continue to work with the family as long as they would have him. He commented that it was a genuinely good place to be and that the people he worked with were quite happy to be there as well. I watched the interactions of the staff with Franz and his wife and they were like one family, running this jewel of Zanzibar.

There are many hotels to choose from in Stone town but only one that I will return to if I am fortunate enough to visit again.

Thank you Franz and Co for making our last 48 hours in Zanzibar some of our best.

Room Tip: Tell the owners your preferences and I am sure they will give you the best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The-4-Foremans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed in the Zanzibar Palace Hotel for three nights in early October 2011 and enjoyed every minute. The hotel was just as we hoped and in perfect keeping with its surrounding environment both internally and externally. We also ate twice at the hotel, the food and service was fantastic.

The hotel staff were very friendly and only too pleased to help even travelling a distance to deliver a painting we had forgotten!!

As noted in a few review comments the hotel is a traditional town house dressed with antique furniture over multiple floors and no lift so please don’t expect a glitzy sparkly modern hotel, if you are looking for that go to Las Vegas not Zanzibar!!
All in all a wonderful place to stay and visit. Many thanks to Frans, Patrick and staff.

Karen & Brian
Arbroath Scotland

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEINE ET MARNE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two days in the Sherali Suite. Believe us that it's the best hotel in Stone Town because we visited other hotels wich were less nice and had less privacy.
The owners gave us a good piece of advice about what we can visit in Stone Town.
Food was very tasty specially, lobsters and prawns. We are French and we felt like we were in a gastronomic restaurant in Paris. We appreciated so much that hotel that we will be going to book a suite for next March.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SOPHIESEINEETMARNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing