We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jewel of Zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Just off the coastal road, nestled in the side streets, you will find the jewel of Zanzibar, the 'Zanzibar Palace Hotel'.

We do quite a bit of travelling and with our family of four (two big kids in our 40's and twin 6 year olds), we need room, flexibility and a relaxing stay with a few of the 'extras' that you don't find everywhere.

Franz and Co are the wide smiled owners of this very quiet, eclectic, spacious, boutique feeling hotel. They are only too willing to accommodate your requests and even went as far as to offer making something special for the kids if the menu didn’t appeal to them.

Our stay in the Shaba room was extraordinary. The room décor was majestic with three windows shedding light and a warm breeze from the nearby water. The room is equipped with an air conditioner, which worked very well and cooled down the room quickly.
There is a built in lounge bed that the children used and was quite comfortable and spacious enough for them to share, negating the need for an additional bed in the room. The room also has a large flat panel television and DVD player to help entertain the kids after a long day of sightseeing or shopping the area stores or market. Franz has a nice collection of DVD’s at the front desk for you to borrow as well.

The bathroom is as spacious as the room and the tub could sleep two comfortably. My daughter thought we had our own Jacuzzi in the room when she first saw it.
The onsite restaurant is convenient and the food was great.

I commented to one of the staff that I noticed genuine smiles on everyone’s faces. He grinned and said that he has worked there since the renovations and would continue to work with the family as long as they would have him. He commented that it was a genuinely good place to be and that the people he worked with were quite happy to be there as well. I watched the interactions of the staff with Franz and his wife and they were like one family, running this jewel of Zanzibar.

There are many hotels to choose from in Stone town but only one that I will return to if I am fortunate enough to visit again.

Thank you Franz and Co for making our last 48 hours in Zanzibar some of our best.

Room Tip: Tell the owners your preferences and I am sure they will give you the best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-4-Foremans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 577 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed in the Zanzibar Palace Hotel for three nights in early October 2011 and enjoyed every minute. The hotel was just as we hoped and in perfect keeping with its surrounding environment both internally and externally. We also ate twice at the hotel, the food and service was fantastic.

The hotel staff were very friendly and only too pleased to help even travelling a distance to deliver a painting we had forgotten!!

As noted in a few review comments the hotel is a traditional town house dressed with antique furniture over multiple floors and no lift so please don’t expect a glitzy sparkly modern hotel, if you are looking for that go to Las Vegas not Zanzibar!!
All in all a wonderful place to stay and visit. Many thanks to Frans, Patrick and staff.

Karen & Brian
Arbroath Scotland

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two days in the Sherali Suite. Believe us that it's the best hotel in Stone Town because we visited other hotels wich were less nice and had less privacy.
The owners gave us a good piece of advice about what we can visit in Stone Town.
Food was very tasty specially, lobsters and prawns. We are French and we felt like we were in a gastronomic restaurant in Paris. We appreciated so much that hotel that we will be going to book a suite for next March.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOPHIESEINEETMARNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here on our way to Matemwe for one night. The room was lovely, really boutique just oozed personality. It wasn't just pretty but also comfortable and very nice and clean. The staff was extra helpful, we really felt very well looked after. It was rainign outside, and before I could ask in case they had an umbrella we were offered one....Little extra things like that just really make a place. The breakfast we had was plentyful and very tasty. All in all, top scores!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavenlynarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst on honeymoon and LOVED IT.

Fabulous room, LOVED the outdoor bathroom.

Quiet, authentic, fantastic.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baaa_says_the_sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The hotel is fantastic place, we stayed in the top room with the open air bathroom (you do have shades so not as bad as it sounds, you can shower without flashing your bits to the world). the room has a safe, cable tv and a fantastic view from the bathroom. The plug sockets are european which is a bit odd after the rest of tanzania has UK three pin plugs. Power issues are fairly common in Stone town, so we did have a few outages, but not really the hotels fault.

The staff are great and gave us maps and directions to walk around town, which is well worth a walk around, a lovely place, (but take a torch for the walk home in case of the dreaded powercuts).

The restuarant in the hotel was good, and nicely decked out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveTrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed here for two nights on honeymoon. Liked it very much- more of a feel of a posh guest house than a hotel (not that I'm complaining!). Staff very good especially friendly and helpful Dutch guy on reception, Patrick. With only 9 rooms service is very personal. Beautifully and faithfully restored old building. We had the Rosewood room which is nice but probably not the best - no view and slightly awkwardly shaped and rather small. Bathroom very small but everything worked well. Agree with another reviewer that light was a bit dim in the evenings. Steep stairs and I'm not aware of a lift so not for those who don't like stairs but the staff took luggage without asking.
Breakfast wasn't a huge choice but very good quality. We didn't eat there in the evening as the prices seemed expensive however the food did look very good. The rooms have European plug sockets to our surprise however reception was able to provide us with an adaptor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Address: Kiponda Street | 831, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3392, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $154 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanzibar Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a luxurious nine room boutique hotel located right in the heart of Stone Town (an Unesco World Heritage site). It is independently owned and daily under Dutch management and an ideal home to explore and experience all the beauties of this magical town and Island. Zanzibar's rich history is integrated throughout the hotel by Arabian, Indian and English designs, this in combination with all modern comfort (airco, free WiFi, flatscreen TV's, etc). Each room/suite has its own unique decor with many local originating antique pieces of furniture, magical beds, colourful silks, etc. Room rates for every purse definitely makes this a place to stay. As you walk through the front door, you notice the soft aqua blue interior colours along with the antique furniture. You are immediately put into a state of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zanzibar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Palace Stone Town
Hotel Zanzibar Palace
Zanzibar Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing