We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely central location lovely family run feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abuso Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abuso Inn
Ranked #8 of 30 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“lovely central location lovely family run feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lovely hotel- we had a great sea view bit something is being built in front of it so this might not last! Breakfast is on the roof which is lovely good selection of breads and freshly made eggs and fruits etc.
Air con in all the rooms which was essential! They have couches all around the main area to relax and chat to other travellers and use the wifi. The staff were very helpful and nice and we really enjoyed our stay - it was a little on the expensive side but that's normal for this quality in stone town

Room Tip: You need to choose between the view on 2nd floor and wifi on the 1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eileennooleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
23
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

conveniently located in the heart of stowntown, a few minutes walk from all histrical sites, forhodani gardens, all the best restaurant etc.
in a beautifully restored old house it breaths history and romancisism. the painted glasses of windows and doors, the wooden floors in rooms and marble floors on stairs and lobby, nice terrace with seaview...highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akwah_mbokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss Rosenau, Austria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had problems with hotel we had originally booked in Stone Town, so we asked our guide to recommend another reasonable place. He showed us the Abuso and it was the right decision to move there. Friendly staff, nice room with ensuite bathroom (which could need some improvement like all the plumbing in this historical town), working air condition plus - the best of all - a wonderful breakfast terrace with a super view!

Room Tip: Make sure the window shades in the bathroom do not fall off :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaOfRespontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Abuso Inn is located in the heart of Stone Town, on a little square just off the main tourist haunts. The square provides a small parking area and is guarded by a friendly watchman, who also makes sure any touts following you back off before you reach the hotel.

Don't let the crumbly look of the exterior fool you - practically all of Stone Town looks like this. Walk up the little staircase (it's not accessible for wheelchair users) and you find yourself inside what once must have been a very grand home. Hardwood floors, darkened by generations of walking feet and polishing hands, stained-glass interior doors, wooden shutters on the windows, Zanzibari beds and Zanzibar chests in your rooms... it's all very lovely.

The place is kept meticulously clean. A/C and showers work and the water is hot. There is no safe in the room but "the room IS the safe" we were told - this is a family business run by honest people who take pride in looking after their guests.There is always somebody around to keep an eye on things and we felt that our belongings were perfectly safe.

It's quiet at night and we slept very well.

Breakfast is buffet style and consists of traditional chapatti, zanzibari rolls, fruit and eggs prepared to your liking on the spot. Try the local honey, it's delicious. It's served on a lovely shaded rooftop terrace with views over the harbour.

At USD 75.- for the room, including breakfast, it's very good value for Stone Town and we would go back without hesitation. The only suggestion we'd have is to get new mosquito nets for the beds - ours had mutliple holes in it. Despite this small issue the Abuso Inn is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room for the lovely harbour views and the breeze. Switch off the corridor lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrekkerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After reading positive reviews in Tripadvisor, I recommended Abuso Inn to friends looking for last minute accommodation in Stone Town. They were very much satisfied so I decided on staying at Abuso Inn too. Based on my experience in October 2012:

- The staff was very kind and helpful all the time.
- They helped me organize transport to airport and Jozani Forest.
- My room had hot water, mosquito net, both A/C and ceiling fan.
- Breakfast was nice and included.
- After checking out, I could leave my baggage at the reception and mangos in the refrigerator :)

If you are looking for a well located, budget accommodation with antique furniture and very kind staff, you will definitely like Abuso Inn!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marczi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent four weeks in Zanzibar, and Abuso Inn was our base camp hotel. Perfect situated in Stone Town near the Forodhani park. Quiet hotel at a reasonable price - very good value for money. Friendly staff and very good service. The breakfast terrace on the roof had excellent view of the harbor and we even watched dolphins from the terrace one morning. Long breakfast on the roof was the perfect start of the day. While going to other places on the island, and on safari at Selous, Tanzania, most of our luggage stayed safely at the hotel. Large rooms with AC is all you can ask for. Abuse will for sure be our choice the next time we go to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjorjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Abus Inn in Stone Town looks destitute, until you go upstairs and find such friendly staff> It is home from home, old but clean linen, comfortable beds, a/c and fans. No water. The bathrooms are basic, clean, hot water. Usual breakfast included. Good price, I will surely go back. This is if you want budget accommodation.

The staff organise transport if you want to travel north or south. You can leave your luggage for a few days in a safe room. This was valuable!

Room Tip: Good budget accommodation, central, safe and clean. Best asset is the friendly staff. Rooms on the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rafikiSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
#8 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
0.8 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#15 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abuso Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abuso Inn

Property: Abuso Inn
Address: Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abuso Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abuso Hotel Stone Town
Abuso Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing