We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by the accomodation”
Review of Abuso Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abuso Inn
Ranked #11 of 31 Stone Town B&B and Inns
south africa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprised by the accomodation”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Abus Inn in Stone Town looks destitute, until you go upstairs and find such friendly staff> It is home from home, old but clean linen, comfortable beds, a/c and fans. No water. The bathrooms are basic, clean, hot water. Usual breakfast included. Good price, I will surely go back. This is if you want budget accommodation.

The staff organise transport if you want to travel north or south. You can leave your luggage for a few days in a safe room. This was valuable!

Room Tip: Good budget accommodation, central, safe and clean. Best asset is the friendly staff. Rooms on the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafikiSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    46
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
26
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent a night at Abuso Inn in December and were very pleasantly surprised with everything. We booked this over the internet and were not sure what to expect, what we got was friendly staff and service, great location, good sized and well maintained rooms and att at a very good price!
Thanks to everyone at Abuso - it is definintely somewhere I would stay again next time I am in Stone Town!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast qld
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at Abuso inn. The hotel is a family run business where nothing is a problem. The staff are warm , helpful snd caring and keen to be of any assistance.
The rooms are spacious and the bed is comfortable. Bathroom has good shower pressure
The location is central and easy to find and very close to the beach.
The owner is a wonderful man where nothing is problem. He went way out of his way to assist me when I left luggage at the airport. Wow is all I can say.
Highly reccommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Leane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This place is close to the waterfront and Forodhani Gardens, quiet, and well-kept by good people. It doesn't have rooftop dining or a pool, but the air conditioning, door-to-door taxi service, and breakfast were great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saaseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Living in Tanzania (mainland) for over two years now I have had a few chances to head over to Zanzibar, but I have to say this has been the best hotel I stayed at. (prompting me to write this review).

The rooms were very nice, well furnished and very well kept for a descent price. Its an excellent Stone Town Location being right in the centre of the Town. But above all what made this hotel better than the rest was the exceptional service and friendliness of all the staff.

A definite recommendation for anyone looking to stay in Stone Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The owner of the Abuso Inn went above and beyond to help me out when my luggage was mistakenly taken by 2 girls. I also saw him helping out another man who was going to miss his ferry. The Abuso Inn is a family owned business with very helpful staff. The rooms are clean and simple, with air conditioning and hot showers and a great location! They also have free wi-fi in the lobby that can be accessed in some rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi52240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia Hobart
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

A very comfortable, clean, and friendly place to stay, close to all conveniences and the old town. We stayed for three nights. The breakfast was a highlight every morning, and if we were ever to return to Stonetown, this is where we want to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 34 in Stone Town
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 34 in Stone Town
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 34 in Stone Town
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 34 in Stone Town
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abuso Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abuso Inn

Property: Abuso Inn
Address: Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Abuso Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abuso Hotel Stone Town
Abuso Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing