We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuso Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abuso Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This place is close to the waterfront and Forodhani Gardens, quiet, and well-kept by good people. It doesn't have rooftop dining or a pool, but the air conditioning, door-to-door taxi service, and breakfast were great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saaseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
23
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Living in Tanzania (mainland) for over two years now I have had a few chances to head over to Zanzibar, but I have to say this has been the best hotel I stayed at. (prompting me to write this review).

The rooms were very nice, well furnished and very well kept for a descent price. Its an excellent Stone Town Location being right in the centre of the Town. But above all what made this hotel better than the rest was the exceptional service and friendliness of all the staff.

A definite recommendation for anyone looking to stay in Stone Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The owner of the Abuso Inn went above and beyond to help me out when my luggage was mistakenly taken by 2 girls. I also saw him helping out another man who was going to miss his ferry. The Abuso Inn is a family owned business with very helpful staff. The rooms are clean and simple, with air conditioning and hot showers and a great location! They also have free wi-fi in the lobby that can be accessed in some rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi52240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia Hobart
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

A very comfortable, clean, and friendly place to stay, close to all conveniences and the old town. We stayed for three nights. The breakfast was a highlight every morning, and if we were ever to return to Stonetown, this is where we want to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

This modest African hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Stonetown, next door to Tembo Hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, with air-conditioning, fan & mosquito net and boasts very nice African furniture. It is just half the price of Tembo hotel. Ok no pool but I was there for 1 night only and found the hotel very convenient. The staff is honest, helpful and charming too. Breakfast is basic but the atmosphere is great and friendly. Great low budget place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonRose_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

The location of the hotel, the rooms, the roof terrace breakfast and not at least the very friendly personnel made our stay terrific. Abuso is more like a home than a hotel. In the hours between check-out and departure we were offered room and bathroom for free. One day we will hopefully return to Zanzibar and when in Stonetown we will definitely chose Abuso Inn again.

Sara and Peter, Denmark.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraFriis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

No one will mistake the Abuso Inn for the Tembo (a luxury hotel nearby), but it's 80% as nice for under half the price.

It's a family-run establishment, and everyone is very accommodating and pleasant. I negotiated a lower rate for my two rooms, and there was a bit of miscommunication about this at check-out time, but the owner (Hamid) was quite pleasant about it and we reached a very reasonable understanding.

My wife asked the front desk where to get a Coca-Cola and they had them in stock for quite cheap (even by Tanzanian standards). On one occasion, all they had on hand was warm Coke, so Hamid sent his daughter out to a local shop to pick one up for her. That's the kind of friendliness and service you can expect at Abuso.

Breakfast is unspectacular and basic, but quite nice -- eggs, instant coffee (almost everyone in Zanzibar serves instant coffee, don't hold it against them), tea, bread (loaf bread and chappati), excellent fresh fruit and juice. Breakfast is served on the roof of the hotel from 7-9 am and the view is very pleasant.

People don't go to Zanzibar to hang out in a great hotel -- they go for the beach, the sightseeing and the local culture. Of course you want a pleasant place to return to when you are done with the day, and the Abuso gives you that and more, without being an overpriced tourist trap.

Four stars, just because my standard for "five stars" is a bit higher than this -- but for "value" definitely five-stars-plus!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDB23x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#13 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
#8 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abuso Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abuso Inn

Property: Abuso Inn
Address: Forodhani Street | PO Box 465, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abuso Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abuso Hotel Stone Town
Abuso Inn Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing