We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed oasis just out of busy Stone Town”
Review of Mtoni Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mtoni Marine Hotel
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just spent 5 nights at Mtoni Marine. Room was clean , cool and comfortable. The grounds are well kept and lush. Breakfasts and dinners at the restaurant were great. Ask for a table of the beach... It's a great experience. The sports bar was the only place with wifi.... Needs to be in each room too, so we spent a lot of time there dodging flies and insects as it wasn't the cleanest place around. The food here was not as good either, but the pizzas were apparently good.
A magical experience was had with the Mtoni Palace tour and dinner. We had a private event for our large group but this is available on Fridays. There is a tour of the ruins after a flower bracelet welcome. Then traditional music and dance with a delicious BBQ feast of local delicacies. The whole experience esp the beautifully decorated and lit ruins was truly fantastic and magical and a wonderful way of learning the local history. A must do if you visit Stone Town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lankalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Mtoni Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 196 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Mtoni Marine gives the perfect blend of beach and city. It is close to Stone Town - a short taxi ride will get you there in minutes. But when the street vendors begin to get to you, you can retreat to this lovely resort and laze by the pool with views across to Prison Island. The gardens are lush and well-tended, the rooms are impeccable, with fresh flowers on the pillow. The dining at night is by the beach with Arab musicians and lights in the foliage and the soft air of the beach. Lovely food, lovely ambiance. Good fast free wifi in the popular sports bar. And a bridge connects the hotel to the ruins of Mtoni Palace.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mmmm924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lovely place, we were there during the busara music festival so it was packed. we ate at the mcheza bar couple of times and the food was very good. Mr. Shauri Kondo, their front office manager is a super star !

We stayed in club rooms, everything in the room was in great working condition and house keeping was very prompt and clean too. Breakfast was good too, it was served at their main restaurant so you get pleasant view of the sea and lovely breeze .

The pool was very clean , we used it on one of days that we were there, we were lucky there were only a handful of people that day by the pool inspite of the hotel being full, i guess many had gone for their day excursions.

The gardens are well manicured and grounds are kept very clean.

If you have the budget then go for their Palm court rooms which are closer to the pool and beach ( club rooms are a bit behind). we have been here many times and have stayed at all their room types including the family apartments but my favorite is the palm court , sad they werent available when we were booking this time.

Over all, Mtoni still rocks. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GABTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I and my family had great fun at Mtoni Marine. Very wonderful and caring staff right from reception to kitchen. Abdu arranged for our tour to Stone Town and Nungwe beaches in the north.

Their food though relatively expensive was indeed nice. The family cottage at the extreme western end was good except that bed sheets were never changed for the three nights we stayed there. The cleaners would only come just to lay the bed, do some cleaning in the room and then call it a day! To the visitors, i advise you to remind the management every when you want the bed sheets changed.

Over all it is a nice hotel. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Africa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtoni, Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your nice feedback we discovered today!
We will investigate on the bedsheets and get back to you asap.
In the meantime we wish you a nice weekend and hope to see you back in the future.
Warm regards,
Stefanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Despite having called earlier for reservation, front desk tried to squeeze 5 adukts and 2 kids into 2 standard bedroom... We finally manage to get a 3rd room with help from the manager.
Waiter in the restaurant charged us a lot for 1 breakfast, 3 juice and 3 teas but we never manage to get a bill for it. When informed, the management did try to investigate and to find out which staff member was cheating guests and hotel.
On the second day, offer to shift us as there were overbooked into an appartment, while they had showed us a 2 bedroom apartment the previous day, they wanted us to move in a 1 bedroom apartment on that day. At that point we decided to pack and finish our vacation somewhere else.
Positive point: The chef was very nice, helpfull and the food was good.

The 4 Tanzanians of the group felt very unwelcomed because of being locals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonnickJ-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtoni, Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Yvonnick56
We have noted your comments on Trip Advisor and apologize for your disappointment with our Hotel. We tried our best to accommodate your group in a suitable manner when you were not pleased with the room allocation that had been agreed upon with your original telephonic booking. During peak season it is difficult to alter bookings and room allocations.
The incident at the restaurant was most unfortunate and we are grateful to you for having informed us and we were able to take action against the waiters horrible manners.
Your last comment on feeling unwelcome because you were Tanzanians is truly disheartening and disappointing. Our hotel caters to all and our guests come from all over the world, however probably the majority are East Africans or East African residents.

Yours sincerely, management Mtoni Marine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Staff are not honest , they allways try to cheat you , some of them theives especially the one who enter the room for spraying or cleaning where they chsnge the USD 100 with 1 USD so you dont notice as it happend to me and I made big fight till I got my money back (never allow anyone enter your room if you are not therer).
Never pay the food in USD because it is in TSH and when the use exchange rate, they will ripe you off with very low rate.
Overall avoide this hotel or must becarefull

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sand2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtoniM, Manager at Mtoni Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Sand2013
We were dismayed to read your review on Trip Advisor.
We are very sorry for your negative experience, however we do warn our guests at reception as well as in the rooms to keep cash in the safes that are provided in the rooms.
Also we apologize for the incident at the restaurant. The restaurant does use the daily bank exchange rate, and after your comment we are making sure we have a visible posting of the daily rate of exchange
We try our best to give our clients a pleasurable stay in our hotel and in Zanzibar and it is extremely disappointing to hear that we failed so badly.
Sincerely,
Mtoni Marine Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A nice layout just a short distance north of Stone Town. The room was a bit worn down but the staff had made a nice swan sculpture of the towel and decorated with flowers. Very nice! The pool area and the beach was very pleasant and tours to Prison Island was arranged to go snorkling and watch giant tortoises. The bar and restaurant was okay even though service sometimes was a bit slow. But when you're on vacation, who cares? The food was also fair but it didn't quite reach the ambitions that the restaurant seemed to have.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikki60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
#21 of 37 in Zanzibar City
75 reviews
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
#22 of 33 in Stone Town
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
2.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
291 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kholle House
Kholle House
#15 of 33 in Stone Town
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mtoni Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mtoni Marine Hotel

Address: Malawi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $136 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mtoni Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mtoni Marine is located on the west coast of Zanzibar, 10 minutes north of Stone Town and neighboring the legendary Mtoni Palace. This laid back and family friendly hotel is the ideal location from which to explore Stone Town and the rest of the island, while providing a peaceful retreat from it all. The hotel offers great facilities including a newly built infinity pool, a variety of restaurants and entertainment,Spa,The neighboring Mtoni Palace where Princess Salme was born and the perfect setting for Zanzibar weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Otel and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mtoni Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mtoni Marine Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing