We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect balance between relaxation and access to Stone Town”
Review of Mtoni Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mtoni Marine Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect balance between relaxation and access to Stone Town”
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

No doubt there are more polished places to stay but for us, Mtoni Marine was exactly what we wanted after a week camping safari. We wanted somewhere quiet to relax but didn't want to get stuck on a resort which was too far away from Stone Town to visit regularly for restaurants, tours etc. Mtoni is a $6 taxi ride into Stone Town. The rooms are large and modern with a large bed and mosquito nets. We were there in low season so the main restaurant was closed but the sports bar served food which was decent. The staff were friendly and watching the locals watch the FA cup was fabulous and very lively! Breakfast was adequate although a bit boring as it was the same thing everyday. We didn't book half board because we wanted to go into Stone Town for meals.

The highlight was the infinity pool which was beautiful and made up for a less than fantastic beach. There is also a spa which has fantastic but expensive massages.

Overall it was a good experience and I would recommend Mtoni Matine to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernKat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    73
    26
    18
    12
See reviews for
54
53
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed there over the Easter break, a family with 3 young children for a break from Dar.

On the plus side: extremely friendly staff, a great pool and a nice sports bar, plus some good excursion options. The hotel let us check in early and actually asked their workers to stop the renovation when our kids tried to nap (that said, should they be renovating when guests are around on the Easter weekend....).

The accommodation is relatively basic, and the pictures on the web are an improvement of reality, but it was generally clean and everything worked.

On the negative side
- the taxi that was meant to pick us up never showed up (that was quickly remedied by taking a local hire, but still...)
- forget the beach: you see big tankers and containers, and the beach is pretty dirty and definitely not tempting (but then, there is the pool....)
- the imposed menu. at USD 35/person, the first night was very good and plentiful, nicely set out on the beach. For the 2nd night, we would have been happy to have "a la carte", but no, it had to be the USD 35/head seafood barbeque. A bit expensive we thought, and this turned out very expensive as the seafood consisted of overcooked crab, calamari and very small prawns. For that amount of money by the ocean, one would expect something akin to jumbo prawns and half lobster, as one would get in Dar. The 3rd night, we were told "a la carte" was back, only to have the USD 35 menu imposed on us again as we sat down. We walked out ...

Bottom line: average accomodation, friendly staff, very poor beach, and a food section which, while good the first night, remained a rip off for the seafood barbeque. Shame because that may result in not returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dar_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I can only recommend the dinner at Mtoni which offers the best food in town, take the daily special if your are tight on your budget. The location is very romantic with traditional music, fire on the beach and tables in the sand. One shoudn't miss it.

Room Tip: we didn't stay in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

" Ditto Auroafrica " Ten of us stayed here for Sauti Za Busara . We enjoyed the surroundings and the closeness to Stone Town. The staff was helpful and attentive. The rooms could benefit from an update. (loved the bath soap).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruzanChristiansted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karatu, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I really enjoy this place; a group of us stayed here recently for Sauti za Busara, the annual music festival in Stone Town.

The staff and management are friendly and efficient people and the atmosphere very laid back. There are always a good mix of 'locals'- expats from Dar and inland TZ and overseas visitors. It's very family friendly so there are lots of kids around on the weekends. If you want a long white sandy beach, this isn't for you although it's on the beach (and a small lagoon) so you get the atmosphere but not really recommended for swimming, snorkeling etc.

It's an excellent alternative to staying in Stone Town as it's only a 5 minute, inexpensive taxi ride to town and the local transport also passes by if that's your style. The pool is the best; very large, looking over the aqua blue ocean with dhows sailing by, clean with plentiful towels and a "splash bar" for drinks. There's a kid's pool also. One day we stayed poolside all day and were served lunch on our lounge chairs (of which there are plenty). I find it the perfect combination of tropical getaway with access to Stone Town attractions without having to stay in Stone Town which I find hot and claustrophobic (except of course if you have the budget for the Serena). However, I've chosen Mtoni Marine over Serena on several occasions as I just love the atmosphere there.

The buffet breakfast is very good. The sports bar has decent food too (I highly recommend the Tiger Woods pizza) and is a great choice for 'sun-downers'. There is a more upscale restaurant known for its seafood dishes where you can dine on the beach- very romantic. There is a wonderful spa that uses all natural ingredients from the island and the therapies are excellent.The owner of the spa has a small tour company that does different kinds of excursions on the island and in Stone Town, well worth considering. They have a nice shop with a tailor on site should you want something made for you. There are two computers with free internet near reception. Any excursions you desire can be arranged from reception. The Mtoni Palace Ruins are right next door and the hotel has been instrumental in helping to restore them. Definitely give that a visit.

The rooms are spacious, have a/c, adequate storage, a safe,bottled water daily, a writing desk, good nets and a small balcony. The bathrooms are also good sized. The gardens are lush. They have several family apartments.

I've stayed here many times and will continue to come back.

Room Tip: Club rooms are very good value, I always ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We stayed here as a family while I was working in Stone Town. Mtoni Marine is a great place for kids to run around, swim and play. The pool is very nice and the kids pool is good for the smaller ones. There is also a small playground, a trampoline and a kindergarten. The beach is ok but not the white sandy beaches Zanzibar is famous for.

We stayed in a family room, which was clean and well furnished. However it was very very damp and musty. Breakfast was good. Food at the sports bar was ok. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again if I had work around Stone Town, or as a base for trips into town, but definitely not as the highlight of my holiday.

Room Tip: The ground floor family apartments are damp and musty, ask for a top floor one if you don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TZnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

up all night again :(- you must be careful with the food in the restaurants...
if you don't have your own transport you will feel very trapped as the place is miles from stone town...rooms very clean but all the doubles are pushed-together singles so you end up slipping between them.
Breakfast is a joke and in two weeks has not been ready on time. Rooms very clean and most staff very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
#19 of 37 in Zanzibar City
62 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
#26 of 33 in Stone Town
15 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
3.2 mi away
Zanzibar Ocean View
Zanzibar Ocean View
#163 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mtoni Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mtoni Marine Hotel

Property: Mtoni Marine Hotel
Address: Malawi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mtoni Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mtoni Marine is located on the west coast of Zanzibar, 10 minutes north of Stone Town and neighboring the legendary Mtoni Palace. This laid back and family friendly hotel is the ideal location from which to explore Stone Town and the rest of the island, while providing a peaceful retreat from it all. The hotel offers great facilities including a newly built infinity pool, a variety of restaurants and entertainment,Spa,The neighboring Mtoni Palace where Princess Salme was born and the perfect setting for Zanzibar weddings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mtoni Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mtoni Marine Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing