We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, nice food and cocktails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Africa House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
DeeFitzsimons
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, nice food and cocktails”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My friends and I spent an amazing 2 weeks in Tanzania, ending our trip in Stone Town. This was the first hotel we visited that could really do cocktails. The building is very historical and you do feel like you are getting value for your money! I would recommend this hotel to any one!! Really lovely, safe and the staff are good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeFitzsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    74
    32
    28
    49
See reviews for
37
94
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balashikha, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2010

This historical hotel is located in the center of Stone Town. It's a good and rather clean hotel, but overpriced.
Our sea view room in the first floor had a very noisy road in just a few meters from the hotel wall and a shop in the gound floor below the room with some local shop vendors and their friends sitting there and talking loudly until the shop closed. We just couldn't sleep until midnight. That's why I woudn't recommend sea view here. Maybe the other side is more quiet, but I'm not sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RagnarRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our newly revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Very impressive hotel with a touch of colonialism ;) sophisticated, in the middle of Stone Town. The rooms are wonderful, the food is incredible and the staff is awesome. I enjoyed it so much, it was almost like wellness :) in the middle of a big town! the view is splendid. a bar with seaview.... come there and feel like a king :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramaeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The hotel is an upmarket place, clean, really beautiful and extremely nice stuff. Stayed there for 2 ½ days and had a great time. Rooms are beautiful. Make sure to have a monkey cocktail on the terrace!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My family and I spent 2 nights here just 1 week ago. We really enjoyed our stay. Echoing the reviewer below, the location is great, the terrace is wonderful, and the decor is really exotic. The staff, including Adam were exceptional. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORIFNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We spent an afternoon on the terrace sipping drinks and nibbling snacks in June 2010 and did not want to leave! The location is very central, the view is spectacular, the colonial decor is gorgeous and the staff are unbeatable. The 3 resident monkeys kept us entertained for hours and the longer we stayed the more guests arrived - this is definitely the place to be enjoying a cocktail at sunset . We will definitely be recommending to friends and returning ourselves for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Had an enjoyable two-night stay here. The hotel looks a bit shabby from the main road but is well-kept inside, with loads of character. I had a good-sized room with a fantastic sea view (paid extra for this).: a few of the lamps weren't working but otherwise all the equipment was functional and the room was very clean. On my first night I was worried that it would be noisy as music and voices drifted down from the bar and up from the tourist stalls, but everything was quiet after 10pm on both nights. The sunset view from the bar is great, but every other Westerner in Stone Town turns up to see it too!

My only complaint is that the travel agency recmmended by the hotel, Uhuru Travel and Tours, is a complete rip-off. I paid extra for a private spice tour only to find it was a shared trip and that everyone else had paid considerably less than me. Two of the agency's staff promised me a refund but failed to deliver, until finally a third staff member invented a whole list of previously-unmentioned 'fees' to justify the sum I'd paid and became quite aggressive when I challenged these. The hotel's reception staff agreed I had been conned but did nothing to help resolve the problem.

In summary: I'd recommend the hotel, but find a different travel agent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavypigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services. We are sorry about your Travel Agent Concerns Raised .

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 34 in Stone Town
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#22 of 34 in Stone Town
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#28 of 34 in Stone Town
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#21 of 34 in Stone Town
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 34 in Stone Town
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Africa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Africa House Hotel

Property: The Africa House Hotel
Address: Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Africa House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African House hotel is located within the prime and historic Stone Town overlooking the open sea and gardens and minutes from the beach and vibrant Shangani square featuring some of the best night life on the Island. The accomodation includes 15 airconditioned rooms, the Sunset Bar, The Sunset Lounge, a Turkish restaurant (yet to Open), Trade winds Restaurant (For Indian / Chinese / Continental / Italian and local dishes). A historical Library, a large conference hall, Hotel shop outlets and sea facing Shisha decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Africa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Stone Town
The Africa Hotel
The Africa House Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing