We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Africa House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$218
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Al Minar(Stone Town)
$68
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kisiwa House(Stone Town)
$78
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$133
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$294
$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dhow Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
$95
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
70
84
39
31
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
84
39
31
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef joeterrace barwatch the sunsetlovely lunchthe sun setsunset viewindian foodsea frontwonderful staydownerszanzibarstonetowncharmrooftop
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 277 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Very impressive hotel with a touch of colonialism ;) sophisticated, in the middle of Stone Town. The rooms are wonderful, the food is incredible and the staff is awesome. I enjoyed it so much, it was almost like wellness :) in the middle of a big town! the view is splendid. a bar with seaview.... come there and feel like a king :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramaeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 16, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The hotel is an upmarket place, clean, really beautiful and extremely nice stuff. Stayed there for 2 ½ days and had a great time. Rooms are beautiful. Make sure to have a monkey cocktail on the terrace!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 16, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My family and I spent 2 nights here just 1 week ago. We really enjoyed our stay. Echoing the reviewer below, the location is great, the terrace is wonderful, and the decor is really exotic. The staff, including Adam were exceptional. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORIFNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 16, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We spent an afternoon on the terrace sipping drinks and nibbling snacks in June 2010 and did not want to leave! The location is very central, the view is spectacular, the colonial decor is gorgeous and the staff are unbeatable. The 3 resident monkeys kept us entertained for hours and the longer we stayed the more guests arrived - this is definitely the place to be enjoying a cocktail at sunset . We will definitely be recommending to friends and returning ourselves for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CandPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 16, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Had an enjoyable two-night stay here. The hotel looks a bit shabby from the main road but is well-kept inside, with loads of character. I had a good-sized room with a fantastic sea view (paid extra for this).: a few of the lamps weren't working but otherwise all the equipment was functional and the room was very clean. On my first night I was worried that it would be noisy as music and voices drifted down from the bar and up from the tourist stalls, but everything was quiet after 10pm on both nights. The sunset view from the bar is great, but every other Westerner in Stone Town turns up to see it too!

My only complaint is that the travel agency recmmended by the hotel, Uhuru Travel and Tours, is a complete rip-off. I paid extra for a private spice tour only to find it was a shared trip and that everyone else had paid considerably less than me. Two of the agency's staff promised me a refund but failed to deliver, until finally a third staff member invented a whole list of previously-unmentioned 'fees' to justify the sum I'd paid and became quite aggressive when I challenged these. The hotel's reception staff agreed I had been conned but did nothing to help resolve the problem.

In summary: I'd recommend the hotel, but find a different travel agent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavypigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 15, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services. We are sorry about your Travel Agent Concerns Raised .

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews