We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

We were very disappointed with our booking at the Tembo House Hotel. We made a booking with the Dhow Palace which is the sister hotel to the Tembo and they arraged for us to stay one night at each hotel, commencing our stay at the Tembo House.
My daughter was in Zanzibar before I arrived and went into the hotel to confirm our booking prior to our arrival and they assured her the booking was in place. However on arrival at the hotel we were told that they had no rooms available for us in the hotel and that because we had not confirmed by e-mail (which was sent the same day we were due to arrive when we were obviously travelling to Zanzibar) they had released the room that morning. I would advise anybody booking with this hotel to ensure that they have confirmation, although obviously this did not work for us. Overall, considering this is meant to be one of the best hotels in Stone Town, the response we got from the staff would not indicate this and our experience of the hotel was a very negative one indeed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estrellaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    380
    148
    63
    23
See reviews for
250
326
63
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Good location in the heart of Stone Town so ideal for sight seeing and shopping. The hotel has beautiful decore but our room looked out over some horrible wasteland. Our shower also had incredibly low pressure meaning that you had to sit down in the bath whilst showering. Breakfast was okay but when they pancakes ran out they wouldn't cook any more!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyanddarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

My Wife and I just spent one night at the Tembo House.
We had visited the hotel 6 years ago and it had not changed much. ( A good thing).

The rooms are nice, clean, service was polity throughout our stay and there wasn't much more we could have hoped from our stay.

The room we had was on the top floor with a pool view/ocean view. In the afternoon we happened to see dolphins playing and jumping just in front of our window. Kinda Cool.

Right now the seafront location of the hotel is one of the best advantages Tembo House Hotel has compared to its competitors. It's terrace and beach strip are one of the few places in town that you can enjoy the seafront, because the "main" seafront in stown town is under renovation.

The only downer in this place is that they do not serve any alcohol beverages, but there is nice beach bar just on the right hand side of the hotel:)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

To say I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel is an understatement. We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of our tour around Tanzania for our honeymoon.
The decor is outstanding, Moorish carved wood everywhere with beautiful stained glass windows - maginificent! (I thoroughtly recommend a wander around the hotel corridors)

We had a fabulous room overlooking the beach and the room was well equipped with air conditioning and a fridge with complimentary drinking water. The beach is small but nice, although there is quite a bit if traffic about! There tends to be a large boat unloading cargo every day, but it is fun to watch the madness of the unloading and loading of the boat.
There is a nice sized swimming pool also within the hotel. They supply towels and sunbeds free of charge.
The breakfasts were good and you can sit on the beach terrace to eat. They also do some really nice food throughout the day and had a good and varied menu.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful without being overbearing.

Would I stay here again? Yes definitely!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

Central location, interesting building right on the beach, pleasant staff

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
636 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

This hotel has managed to keep some of it old world charms with beautiful communal room upstairs, old wooden beds and arabic style showers. Its a bit rundown and the manager is a grump but the pool is a nice oasis from the hot city. On Sunday they do a local style breakfast and we really enjoyed it - with some of the staff really trying hard. We ate at the restaurant next door on the beach and had a great time. Everybody goes for drinks down the road on a great verandah where u watch the sunset over the returning boats (i think it was called the africa house?). You only need a day or two in stonetown as it very small and feels a bit rough - then head to the great beaches.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c2watkins
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

This hotel is supposed to be one of the best in Stone Town and if this is correct I would hate to see one of the worst! When we arrived the room wasn’t ready but they took us to it anyway and we had to look at the last participants dirty bed sheets and rubbish etc while they showed us the ‘delights’ of the room.
There were some plus points about this place, there was air conditioning, a fridge in the room and a TV with tons of channels.
On the downside the room and bathroom were dirty, the sheets were scratchy, there was a funny smell coming from somewhere in the room as well which was quite off-putting, the water also switched off at around 9pm and when we queried this with reception they said that they were waiting for the tank to fill which seems ridiculous at 9pm. The whole hotel is in dire need of updating and a good lick of paint I think. Although it is on the beach the stretch of waterfront that it’s on is marred slightly by all the rubbish, sellers and cargo boats that are around.
We didn’t eat dinner here but we did have breakfast and what a sorry affair it was. The only breakfast food I recognised was a stale pastry, I couldn’t even work out what the rest of the food was.
I want to say that I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone but knowing that it is one of the better hotels in Stone Town I wouldn’t want to recommend any of the cheaper ones!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c2watkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Property: Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Address: Forodhani Street | P.O. Box 3974 Zanzibar, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing