We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

2 nights well spent...
Best:
Room
Restaurant
Pool
Beach
I really enjoyed my stay
Best hotel in stone town

Special thanks to
Rahim Amigo...........!
Thanks for the hospitality
.........................................................

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Salwa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Director of Sales at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear salwa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so happy to read that you had a fantastic holiday and you enjoyed our hospitality, and food, pool, our beautiful beach and high standard bedroom. It was our pleasure hosting you and we all hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the near future.

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"

Best regards,
Rahim Amigo& Management
reservations@tembohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
There are newer reviews for Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 989 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

It was great experience staying in Tembo hotel, best rooms, best service ever experienced best hotel management. And very very special thanks to our one and only Rahim Amigo your the best.................Thanks for all the hospitality.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Aliasgher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Director of Sales at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Aliasgher ,

It's hard to find words to thank you for your absolutely wonderful review. We are so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time at Tembo house hotel &Apartments. We feel privileged that you shared your very special occasion with us and we are thrilled that we lived up to your expectations. It really was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to welcome Mr & Mrs Alisgher back in the near future.

"ahsante sana na karibu tena"

Best Regards
Rahim Amigo & Management
reservations@tembohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very central location and ON the beach! That would be its biggest USP. Stone Town is a very small city in Zanzibar (Unguja Island) and Tembo (means elephant in Swahili) is one of its best hotels, I would say. Affordable, clean, wonderful location and nice food.

We stayed at Karafu on the ground floor pool side, and loved it. When we checked in, the reception actually showed us around 3 rooms and we chose Karafu. Good choice! Right by the pool and 10 steps from the restaurant and onto the beach.

The staff is immensely helpful. They quickly connected me to the sight seeing operator, and within minutes I had my 2 day itinerary set in place. The housekeeping staff also diligently came in every evening to spray the mosquito repellent and put the nets in place for bedtime.

Rooms have an old world charm and antique furniture. Lots of interesting Parsi furniture and artifacts, as this was early a Parsi house. It's right opposite Freddy Mercury's (Queen) home, before the Balsara family migrated to the UK. But they stayed at Tembo each year during their vacations.

Bathrooms are very clean, and the shower cubicle was shaped like an Arabian Hamam.

Food is lovely here. I loved their sea food platter, French onion soup and their Indian preparations. The breakfast buffet is also lavish. Lots of variety and good fruits.

Their WiFi needs improvement, as in if the hotel is close to full occupancy, then there is virtually no connectivity. I was struggling with mine, and of the 3 days that I stayed there, I barely got connection on one day.

But I would love to visit Tembo again if given a chance, and maybe stay on the higher floor with a sea facing room.

Room Tip: Any poolside rooms downstairs or the sea facing rooms on the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zenobia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you very much Zenobia for taking your precious time on writing your review on our property.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments.

It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all future customers.

We are looking forward to hosting you again,

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"

Best regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Perfect location. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and authentic. Lovely view and the food is absolutely delicious! Definitely recommend staying at Tembo if you want to explore Stone Town and relax!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCobsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for taking your precious time in sharing your experience with us, we appreciate for your comments and its really helpful.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments,It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all future customers.

We are looking forward to see you once again.
"ahsante sana na karibu tena"

Best regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Tembo Hotel on 2 separate visits to Zanzibar, and we would be delighted to visit again.

The beach location of the hotel is great- and it is adjacent to attractions such as Forodanhi Sqaure, the National Museum, the Palace of Wonder, the Fort, and the Dhow Music Arts School. Walking day and night was easy and felt relatively safe. It is also walking distance to some of the most delicious restaurants in Stone Town.

The accommodations are clean, quaint, comfortable and in the traditional Swahili architecture style in a renovated, historic building. Furniture is an antique collection.

One of our favorite characteristics of the hotel is the staffing. They are always delightful and always provide personalized service with a smile. We got to know many of them by name and they were extremely responsive to any requests. The general manager is a warm host and became a friendly and familiar face during our week stay. He made personal visits to our table at meals to exchange a smile inquire about our stay. He made it a point to meet other patrons and ensure that everyone was well accommodated.

They are fantastic trouble-shooters: They connected me to a quality Spice Tour 45 minutes before tour departure. Afterwards, they went out of their way to ensure I got a shower before my international flight. They stored luggage until we returned from a motorbike trip to the north of the island. Staff also assisted with contacting airline companies for booking last minute flights departing from Zanzibar. We were once overbooked for a room, and they made sure to accommodate us with discounted alternate accommodations at their nearby apartments at the Mercury House… without missing a beat!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 100-200 wing on the new building all have pool/beach views. Rooms in the older building...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmark55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor, which we believe that it will give the clear picture to who ever visit the site and looking forward to stay with us.

We are extremely happy to hear that your stay with us was marvelous and we will maintain our hospitality to all our future customers.

Looking forward to host you once again

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"
Best regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

When we got to the hotel, nobody was there to take our baggage up the stairs. We had to take it up 3 flights of stairs. The staff are very rude, nobody says jumbo (hi) and they just give you a dirty look. The rooms have dirty floors, like they haven't been washes in years. The staff cleaners don't even knock on your door to come in, they just let themselves in to spray mosquito repellent. The toilet we had was leaking every time we flushed. They had no safe in the room which was terrible. The bed sheets had hair on them and stains on them, we mentioned it to the front desk and they just cleaned the hair and didn't change the bed sheets that we asked, because we still had the yellow stain. Gross!!!.. Worst hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I love love love the Tembo, it is right in Stone Town and you can walk anywhere, it is safe and the hotel is right on the beach, the staff are very very nice, and very helpful also. The Resident Director will take care of anything you may need from exchanging currency to getting ferry tickets and a van to drive you. The rooms are clean and are beautifully decorated, there is a restaurant on site, and the beautiful is always kept very clean, the buffet is great and there are tables inches from the beach, very friendly atmosphere and very inviting. This is the second time I have stayed at the Tembo there were about 25 of us and I recommended it to all of my friends and we will return next year from all parts of the world. Thanks Amigo for a wonderFULL stay. The one thing but you guys already know is to work on your wifi. See you next year with just as many of us.

Room Tip: Stay downstairs in the Karafu room there is a double and a single in there...........if you have a d...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drmzcmtru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hellow my dear Margie,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing your review on our property.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments.

It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all future customers.

We are looking forward to hosting you again,

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"

Best regards
Amigo&Management
reservations@tembohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
543 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Address: Forodhani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $118 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing