We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location in town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
dsm
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good location in town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Little expensive compared to other town hotels but worth it.

Location - right on the beach and near to shopping n restaurants area.

Rooms are clean with mosquito nets but though they spray your room, still you will have few mosquitoes...
Tv with all good channels provided in each room.

For elderly ppl i would recommend to chose rooms which are on ground floor as the upper floors have a very narrow n steep staircase.

Breakfast is basic but no complains.

All staff are very cooperative n helpful.

Pool - is good n clean.

No alcohol is served in this hotel. Taxis are available 24/7 outside the hotel.

Only concern was tht the beds are too high to reach....for elders becomes slight difficult.

But overall worth it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deepak2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear value guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing review on our property.

We are happy to hear that almost everything was fine and we will try our level best to make sure that we meet clients satisfaction.

we are looking forward to see you once again.

"karbu tena na ahsante sana"

Best regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    375
    148
    63
    23
See reviews for
248
321
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat,Oman
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel for something approaching 10 times. On each occasion the experience just gets better. The standard is always high and the hotel is maintained to a high standard. The facilities and the rooms can not be faulted. The location is wonderful, leave through the back door and you are on the beach, leave through the front door and you are in the heart of Stone town.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would not consider staying anywhere else in Stone town.

Room Tip: No elevators available but plenty of rooms on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muscatsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear value guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing your review on our property.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments.

It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all future customers.

We are looking forward to hosting you again,

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"

Best regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great location to central stonetown (food stalls, shopping etc) and relatively reasonable for the quality of rooms. The overall building and each room has some nice character and the central pool is nice, and patio overlooking the ocean. Mainly though, its the great location. Service was also good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Jason,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing your review on our property.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments.

It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all our customers.

We are looking forward to see you again,
"ahsante na karibu tena"

Best regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Well, it was our first stay in Tembo Hotel. We received an excellent customer service; everything was fantastic. We are looking forward for December holiday. Thanks for making our stay wonderful. Please, additional of an entertainment (beach/sports or live/traditional) would add on hotel experience.

Noel & Rose

Room Tip: Rooms with Ocean view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Noel,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor, which we believe that it will give the clear picture to who ever visit the site and looking forward to stay with us.

We are extremely happy to hear that your stay with us was marvelous and we will maintain our hospitality to all our future customers.

Looking forward to host you once again

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"
Best regards
Management and staff of Tembo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is my second stay at this beautiful, historical hotel. The first stay was excellent, so this time I brought a group of 6 with me. Everyone had comfortable rooms and were impressed with the location and the service. One of our group became ill and the General Manager, Mr Abdulaziz, went out of his way to make sure she was well taken care of. This hotel is in the best location in Stonetown, right on the beachfront. From here, you can arrange a boat ride directly across to Prison Island to see the endangered Aldabra tortoises. I'm already looking forward to my next stay in September.

Room Tip: Ask with a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Potti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear value guest

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing your review on our property.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments.

It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all future customers.

We are looking forward to hosting you again,

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"

Best regards
G.Manager Mr.Abdulaziz and rest of the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel is really nice, with swimming pool and beach. The biggest advantage is its location, just 5 minutes walk to the night market, 10 minutes to the port. The only reason for not giving a 5-star rating is the breakfast, which was quite below average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello dear Kathuska ,

Thank you for taking your precious time in sharing your experience with us, we appreciate for your comments and its really helpful.

We notice that and we rectify the short falls and we promise to upgrade service. We will try our level best to make sure that we meet clients satisfaction.


We are looking forward to see you once again.

Best regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Tembo House Hotel is not only a beautiful, atmospheric hotel with a fabulous location right on the water - the staff are immensely helpful. I came down with a severe bout of food poisoning on my last night in Zanzibar and ended up in a hospital in the middle of the night. The next morning, the hotel manager came to the hospital to visit me. He then booked me a flight back to Dar es Salaam so I could catch my evening flight back home, picked me up from the hospital, provided me with lunch and even drove me personally to the airport. If it weren't for the staff at Tembo I wouldn't be back home right now. As they wouldn't accept even an extra night's charge for the room (as I stayed much later than check-out time), I can only give them the highest rating here on Tripadvisor. A sincere thanks to the staff and management at Tembo for their help that exceeded all expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear value guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing classic review on our property and service given to you during your stay we us. What ever we have done during that short period is our duty to ensure you are comfort stay with us, we hope that you are fully recovered by now.

Hope to see you once again with your family members,
"ahsante sana na karibu tena"

Best regards
management and staff of tembo house hotel and apartments
reservations@tembohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Property: Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Address: Forodhani Street | P.O. Box 3974 Zanzibar, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing