We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, but a feeling not clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located by the beach, in town and in the center of the busy and high pace Stone Town. The morning view over the ocean is great with perfect light towards the boats.

Six years since our last stay the hotel has improved with AC's and new paint. But there is something about the cleanliness which is missing. Half-empty dishes of food from room-service are to be found outside doors from early evening through next morning, and lack of hangers to dry your swimming gear and towels in the rooms make the location feeling not clean.

An upgrade of the environment with a focus on hygiene is recommended.

Room Tip: Send an email to Tembo, they respond very quickly and can identify what is available. Works very wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jobaaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you jobaaroy for taking your precious time in sharing your experience with us, we appreciate for your comments and its really helpful.

We notice that and we rectify the short falls caused by our house keeping staff. and we promise to upgrade the cleaness and hygeine through out the hotel premises.

We looking forward to see you once again.

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Tembo House and really enjoyed it. Wonderful location on the beach and everything else within walking distance. One of our party unfortunately had her bag stolen one night,containing her money,passport,credit cards but thanks to the staff at Tembo , especially Abu ,we were able to get to the police station ( the hotel provided a car for us).When we came back,the restaurant which was closed,made us some sandwiches ! The next day Abu took us back to the police station as well as organising new passport photos and photocopies ..It really helped make a bad situation more tolerable. would definatly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank bjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear value guest,
Thank you for your review and recommendation.We deeply appreciate taking the time to post and are so glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.
we hope that you manage to travel back home without any problem after getting temporary documents from authority concerned.
Actually what ever we have done its a apart of our hospitality to ensure our clients satisfaction. and we pass your regards to Abu and our entire team.
We looking forward to see you onces again and we wish happy new year.

Best regards
managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great place! All rooms either have a pool or ocean view and they are large and open with comfortable beds. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic and it was lovely sitting outside looking at the ocean. Staff are very friendly and willing to assist with any enquiries. Location of the hotel is handy and within walking distance to many great restaurants and cafés. Recommend a stay here when in Stone Town

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank KHarps81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Dave_Kate77 ,

Thanks for such a kind review about your stay at Tembo house hotel. It was our pleasure welcoming and hosting the both of you and we are glad to see how much you enjoyed the friendliness and efficiency of our staff, as well as the beauty of our location and property. It was very nice meeting you and the whole Tembo hotel Team would welcome you and your friends and family again, with great pleasure.

Best regards
Rahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

in terms of location - in Stonetown and on the beach. The Tembo is a great vacation spot or a spot to add a little vacation if on a business trip to Zanzibar. We had family in tow and asked for the family room #100 - a great choice because it has it's own terrace overlooking the ocean. (We were a bit annoyed the second night they asked us to move because they had double-booked - the other room up high was ok, view of the pool and much cooler, but sunrise brought the annoying pitter patter of little pigeon feet strutting around in the roof, and we had been spoiled.) Good breakfast, and pleasant staff. Hotel also arranged transfer from/to airport for $15.

Room Tip: Ask for #100!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your review and recommendation.We deeply appreciate taking your precious time to post and we are so glad that had a pleasant and comfortable stay on first night.
We are sorry to move you on the second night as the room given to you was prepaid by tour operator, we had no other option as we mentioned to you upon arrival that family room was booked.

We wish you happy new year and all the best through out the year.
We are looking forward to see you again.
ahsante sana

Warm regards,
Managment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Really enjoyed the stay here. Comfortable beds and nice air conditioning, VERY important in November! Great breakfast too!It was hot in Zanzibar but had a lot of fun anyway, shopped in the numerous little shops within walking distance of the hotel.REALLY cool places to spend your money here and not too pricey. Great balcony overlooking the pool, the pool was awesome also! Visited Freddie Mercurys Restaurant, he was born in Stonetown. Take the spice tour. Right on the ocean, would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you Robert for your review and recommendation.We deeply appreciate your taking the time to post and are so glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you " ahsante"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Having always wanted to go to Zanzibar I chose to stay at Tembo. Situated in a great position it affords friendly professional service. In such a tropical, busy place Tembo is like an oasis of good coffee, clean cool rooms, helpful staff, superb pool and every comfort to return to after experiencing the wonders of Zanzibar.. For a single person the front desk gentlemen are completely trustworthy and provide guides and drivers for all your needs. I personally thank them all for making me feel at home especially with a huge breakfast to start the day.

Room Tip: I am an oldie so I was in a lovely room on the ground floor, young people would enjoy the view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LettyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you so much LettyMelbourne for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property.

We are always happy when we hear that our guests enjoy the facilities and it really gives us strength to maintain our hospitality.


We are looking forward to see you onces again.

"karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel provided us with a really nice end to my long weekend in Zanzibar. The hotel is set very close to the centre of Stone Town and is directly on a beach which leads to the main seafront area of Stone Town. Within five minutes walk lie the Forodhani Gardens where a beautiful fish market is held daily. Not a fan of fish? Try the chocolate and banana crepes!

The hotel itself is quite unusual, it's furnished with a variety of old and sometimes bizarre furniture and, true to its name, contains a lot of elephant paraphernalia.

The breakfast is not to be missed either with a huge variety of delicious breads and meats. They even provide you with tinfoil to take food away with you should you be in a rush!

Overall a great hotel. By far best one I stayed in during my time in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aws409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property. We are always happy when we hear that our guests enjoy the facilities and it really gives us strength to maintain our hospitality.

We hope that we may see you again one day back in Zanzibar, and hopefully back to Tembo House Hotel and Apartments

Karibu sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
560 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Address: Forodhani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $120 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing