We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Fantastic Price, Service & Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have lived in TZ for a couple of years now so have had the pleasure of going to Zanzibar a few times, Like everything it depends on what your going for but in my opinion staying in Stonetown is your best option and allows for no restrictions on what you do. If this is what your after look no further than Tembo Hotel. The rooms are fantastically designed providing all the luxuries of a modern hotel but maintaining a beautiful Zanzibar traditional feel. The restaurant served fantastic food. The Sea views from either the restaurant, one of the rooftop terraces or even the room was beautiful. Unlike most Stonetown Hotels Tembo also has a pretty descent beach, and in the evening they allow the local kids to play there, which makes evening meals pretty fun watching the kids do summersaults into the sea. (the kids are also aware that no pestering of guests is allowed). What really made this hotel stand out was the service, our concierge and reception staff were extremely accommodating. Although I am fortunate enough to pay resident rates, the price of Tembo is also very good for tourist rates as well, especially when you compare it to other hotels offering the same experience, and I hope it stays this way.... In my opinion a must for any one wanting to stay in Stonetown.

Room Tip: If you can, ask to try and stay on 2nd or ideally third floor, the views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night before heading off to a beach resort. The hotel is in a good location from which you can easily explore Stone Town.
Our room, although overcrowded with furniture which somewhat restricted where we could place our luggage, was pristinely clean. The cleaning staff do an excellent job here and are always at their tasks.
I thought that the food was very ordinary, although their local coffee with cardamon is sensational.
The big down side however is the mosquitoes. There are loads of them in Zanzibar and the rooms are not well enough sealed to prevent their entry into the rooms. The mosquito nets did more to trap the mosquitoes inside than to keep them out. We both woke up in the morning literally covered in bites.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc0691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Nice variety of rooms, pool and beach. No liquor as it is Muslim, but a bar is adjacent. Don't miss Archipelago for lunch, some of the best food and service in stone town. Tempo is good central location for stone town tour and shopping too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GenSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I would really recommend this Hotel, Nice Pool so lively atmosphere. Close to Restaurants and shopping. The Manager Mr. A.O. Yussuf Made our stay so pleasant. Thanks for all the help you gave us Mr. Yussuf. I loved staying there and breakfast is included. We had a blast Thanks Tembo House Hotel.
I will definitely come back.

Rozila (Canada)

Room Tip: If you are going with the family take the apartments, We stayed in a two bedroom. It has a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rozila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My family of four recently spent eight weeks travelling in Tanzania and we did have a booking at the Tembo Hotel. I made the booking for a "family room" before I left Australia and when we arrive the "family room" was up the road away from the beach and outside of the hotel by about 500m in the "Freddie Mercury House". It wasn't within the hotel so the pool and restaurant would not have been close at hand, no wifi and you would not be staying on the beach. We were dissapointed and moved to the Serena Inn which was lovely. The manangement at the Tembo were understanding that we were not happy with the quality of the hotel, and we did not have to pay anything to leave, other than the cost of the transfers which was fine. Not a bad experience all in all by jst a bit disappointing...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChannyRimington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Clean, modern (with antique touches throughout)

Gorgeous stay for 2 nights when in Stone Town. Do the stone town tour.

My only complaint would be our waiter kept bothering us to do the turtle tour, which his brother operated. We finally told him that we had done the tour so he would stop asking us (every meal for a day and a half before we told him we already went)

Great pools, rooms are very nice, AC is a savior here.

I would go back here ANY day.

Also, do the spice farm tour :)

This was a perfect stay before going to Ocean Paradise on the north end of the island which was amazing.



Best part about this hotel? FREE INTERNET!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richknebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I would first of all take this opportunity to first and foremost put my opinion about Tembo Hotel to the dedicated staff of Tembo Hotel

My special regards goes to Mzale the reservation manager at the hotel, he handled me with my clients booking excellent even though our booking was last minute one but he assured us of our stay and we did

Secondly i would like to recommend highly the standard of the apartments Tembo hotel has, any one travelling to Zanzibar with family or very close friends i would advice you book the apartment instead f the rooms, they are just as far much better than the rooms in the main building, though about a few meters away from the main building but you will share all the other amenities the main hotel offer

The meals were delicious and its standard is erecomendable

Room Tip: Consider the appartments thatn the rooms due to privacy while traveiling with family or close relati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lukore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
370 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Address: Forodhani Street | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $118 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing