We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2011

been there for two nights after our safari in northern Tanzania and really enjoyed the nice place. The house itself, the friendly staff and the atmosphere. Great!
Ruth and Gerhard Rieder, Austria

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bludesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
There are newer reviews for Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 989 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband and I spent nearly a month in Tembo Hotel and found it fantastic. The rooms were clean, spacious and the beds had mosquito nets. The staff came every night with mosquito repellent to spray in the rooms. The management and staff were very friendly and nothing was too much of a problem for them and any small issue was dealt with straight away. Abdul was the head manager and we found him irreplaceable, and he even upgraded our room to a beautiful sea facing view.
Our bedroom was magical, we had lovely views of blue sky, sea, dhows and of course the fishing boats.
Every morning we were greeted by our head waiter Anthony who helped us pick the sweetest and freshest fruit for breakfast. The selection was vast for hot and cold food. We loved the coconut milk every morning at breakfast. And as we ate our breakfast we would love to watch the boats coming to shore and the loading and unloading of goods as well as watching the older boys doing their exercises on the beach.
We would never forget the amazing experience we had in Zanzibar and we cannot wait to return. And a large part of this experience was due to the lovely people we met in Zanzibar and also who worked at the hotel. This was unforgettable for us.
We had plenty of interesting places to visit and there was never a dull moment. The beaches were lovely and we always felt safe. We would highly recommend going to Prison Island to see the tortoises and swim in the clear sea.
And we would also recommend going on the spice tour which was fascinating.
We would like to give a massive thanks to the head chef, and the managers Abdul and Yasuf. Not to mention our head waiter Anthony who was lovely.
Thank you. From the Silver Surfers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silversurfers53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This is as lovely as all the reviews say. It would be very difficult to find fault. The rooms are lovely & when we had trouble using our Mastercard to pay they suggested we paid Visa. We didn’t want to use Visa as we are then charged an extra 5%, the manager offered us a 10% discount on our bill to settle the issue – you can’t ask for better than that.
The one small gripe is the breakfast, for a hotel of this caliber you expect better. Everything is pre cooked (read that to mean cold), even the toast is cooked goodness knows how long ago. The eggs are in a warmer but so over cooked to be inedible. Such a shame for an otherwise faultless place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights, it has beautiful views of the ocean, friendly staff,very clean,
reasonable breakfast, and its not far from shops,restaurants,
always haggle the prices down to 40% of asking price.with everyone.
overview this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hk2ny2kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I stayed at the Tembo House Hotel for 3 nights. I was in Zanzibar for business, and so needed to stay in Stonetown. The hotel was very inexpensive (two rooms for myself and a colleague would have been under the US per diem for one of us), and had a pretty good location on the beach in the old town.

The hotel is very old (I think the original building, where I was lodged, was built in the 1880s), and needs major refurbishing. I was initially placed in a room that faced the area where the breakfast buffet was held - the set-up for the buffet woke me up at 5am and kept me up the rest of that morning. I asked to be moved, and was put in a larger room on the 2nd floor. However, I found both rooms to be ill-lit, unclean, buggy (the cleaning staff leave the unscreened windows open all day and the mosquito nets had holes in them), and noisy (could hear loud noise from the street/other rooms). I've stayed in much nicer hostels and cheap inns in Europe and South Africa than Tembo House.

The location was the biggest plus (though the beach was not particularly attractive, and was adjacent to a working dock, as others note). The hotel staff was fairly nice (they did accommodate my move). The hotel itself is very quirky, almost like staying in a museum, which was amusing - but I would truly recommend just taking a stroll through the lobby and staying elsewhere!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manderific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We have stayed in Stone Town a few times now, always at the Tembo. The kids love to explore the winding staircases and corridors and discover 'treasures' - old ZnZ chests, models of buildings in Stone Town, a child's cot.... And the pool makes a huge difference if you have children with you as well. It's location is perfect - right on the sea and yet a short walk from all the delightful alleys of Stone Towns old quarter. We took a trip to Prison Island from the beach right in front of the hotel. But best of all, every time we have visited we have been impressed with the helpful staff who patiently showed us several rooms before we decided which ones worked best for our group, sorted out problems for us quickly and cheerfully and always greeted us with a smile on reception!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
5  Thank LucyMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

The hotel is in a great location - on the beach and very central and just outside of the little streets of Stonetown (although the streets are full of character they can be a bit confusing and so it is nice to be outside that). The pool was so refreshing after a hot day of walking around the town and the staff were very helpful when we wanted to use the internet.
We were able to check in early and leave our luggage when we came through town again later that week. When there was a problem with our room, we were upgraded to a bigger room with a view of the ocean.
The breakfast was amazing. Eating while sitting on the beach like we did at Tembo was a treat that we werent even able to enjoy when went to a resort on the other side of the island. And at the buffet which included amazing fruit, spiced coffee and crepes, there were unlimited fresh coconuts with straws so you could drink the juice straight from the conconut. Fantastic.
A great hotel and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: sea view room
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andyh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
543 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Address: Forodhani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $118 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing