We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clove Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clove Hotel
Save
You added Clove Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 30 Stone Town B&B and Inns
TA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Clove Hotel for 2 nights and would've made a reservation for more if we knew we'd love it so much :) The hotel is beautiful and the ladies who run the place are very friendly. The balcony on the roof is great, especially in the evenings when the breeze arrives. We also took the spice tour that was recommended by the hotel and it was GREAT. The prices are more than reasonable, and overall we highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    100
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
116
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A girlfriend and I stayed at this reasonably priced hotel for 3 nights recently. - October 2012. The set up is very secure-everyone entering has to walk up stairs that lead directly to the check-in desk. And there is always at least one person at the desk.Everyone at the Clove Hotel was consistently nice, helpful and fun to talk with. The staff made and took phone calls for us. Gave us advice on where to go, gave us directions showing us maps hung up in the entry area. Set us up with a great taxi (big windowed van) driver for trips across the island and from/to airport. and were happy to offer a place for me to hang-out for a couple hours after I went snorkeling even though I had checked-out earlier that morning.
The double room that we shared had a big Tanzanian bed with a great large mattress so that you never felt the other person move. The room itself was just big enough to handle the two of us and all our stuff - 4 little tables and a little areas to hang things.The bathroom was clean, big, and had a hot water shower. We could easily walk to all the places of interest in Stone Town. The breakfasts, included with room price, offered fresh local fruits, eggs to order, and good bread for toast. But the best feature is the rooftop deck - open 24/7 with views of the ocean, couches, tables. This is where you have breakfast, where you journal, where you meet other guests, and where you have that wind-down beer before bed. The deck also offers a wonderful honor system where, no matter the time of day or night and no matter if you are temporarily out of Tsh or US dollars, there are cold waters, sodas, and beers available for the taking. You just sign your name in a little book and settle up at the end of your stay.
Friends of ours stayed at another hotel - nice place but like some other places in Zanzibar, no alcohol, not even allowed to have wine with dinner. ..and it cost over twice as much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_from_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Clove Hotel is located in the center of Stonetown and has an amazing view from the rooftop terrace. On the terrace they serve a really nice breakfast and you can chill during the day on the couches and enjoy a drink if you want or use the wifi. The owner and staff are very nice and helpful and like to chat with you, just to get to know you. We stayed in a family room, not very spacious, but clean, with a ceiling fan, balcony and a nice bathroom.
From the hotel it's easy to walk into the Stonetown center and to the sight seeing spots and it is close to nice restaurants and bars. At night you have some noise from the streets, but nothing to keep you from sleeping. Pricing is good if you look at the other hotels in the area, we payed 100 USD for a room with 4 beds including breakfast. You need to pay cash in dollars or shillings. I would recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed two weeks at this well run small hotel, ideal for the independent traveller; a much better choice than the larger hotels favoured by package holidays. Rooms were nicely decorated and the whole place was kept scrupulously clean by the well trained, pleasant and helpful staff. If you want single occupancy this is available at reasonable rates.The terrace has a sea and rooftop view that rivals nearby expensive hotels and is a delightful spot both to start the day with an excellent breakfast and to relax later. The hotel is in the heart of the old town, where people live and work, so expect some of the hubbub of the streets and courtyards to drift up to your window; it's part of the atmosphere.Lisette and Lisenka are very welcoming and unfailingly helpful with any information and advice you might need. Look no further - this is the place to stay in Stone Town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Préverenges, Suisse
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

After a safari in Ruaha, we spent 2 nights at Clove Hotel in Zanzibar. The place is nicely situated, with a view on the ocean from the rooftop terrace where one can relax in the breeze. There is some noise from the back road, but nothing to prevent you from sleeping. The staff is friendly and helpfull. The beds are confortable, the rooms are equipped with a fan and a mosquito net. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruti_1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We're just back from our first visit to Tanzania, 4 days of which we spent on Zanzibar. Clove House was recommended to us by a colleague and for the 2 nights we spent there it was perfect. Super central location for all sight-seeing visits (just next to the House of Wonders) and just near the harbour for island visit to the tortoises. We especially appreciated the friendliness of Lisette who couldn't be more helpful in organising our Spice Tour & our boat trip to the Tortoise Island and taxi to airport. We loved also the Monsoon restaurant, very close, where we could eat superbe Swahili food in lovely surroundings. Only minor thing was the lack of air in the room - very hot at night ;-) The restaurant on the rooftop is lovely with beautiful views over the ocean - a moment of calm at the end of the day in a very busy little town! Thankyou for your welcome!

Room Tip: We were a family of four and we had one of the family rooms at $115/night which is 2 rooms joined t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbidule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thika
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for several days at the Clove Hotel. It is nicely situated and has all the necessary. Very helpful and friendly staff. It is not a Hilton, but price quality is one of the best in Stone Town as far as I can see. I would go there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.5 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#12 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#2 of 34 in Stone Town
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#15 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Hotel

Property: Clove Hotel
Address: Hurumzistreet | P.O. Box 1117, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Clove Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing