We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby chic”
Review of Dhow Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dhow Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shabby chic”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an 'Adventure Company' tour. It's in a perfect location right in the heart of Stone Town yet still pretty easy to find. The building epitomises the local architecture and has that old slightly worn but comfortable shabby chic feel. Our room was huge with a soft four poster bed, a collection of old hand carved furniture, a chaise longue and a wooden balcony overlooking the courtyard pool. The bathroom had those exquisite arabic tiles and a pretty decent shower.
Food wise breakfast was a nice buffet style spread with eggs cooked to order and the 1 lunch we had was fairly mediocre and uninspiring - far better to get out and try the loads of interesting places that Stone Town has to offer. All in all a decent and safe place in which to see Stone Town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    296
    90
    28
    15
See reviews for
135
274
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I was an Africa novice prior to this trip and I guess I didn't know what to expect from the various hotel;s we stayed at. The Dhow Palace was our first stop and I can say that I really enjoyed it.

The rooms were very big, with a rustic and authentic style furniture and complete with TV, Fridge and Air Con (though the rooms are naturally shaded you wont use this much). The beds were big and comfy, the bathroom was quirky but fine - bizzare set up with the shower but what the hell, its Africa. The hotel has a lovely rooftop terrace and the swimming pool is a nice touch after a day stomping around the town.

The only let down is the lack of a licensed bar, but this is quickly remedied by hopping over the road to the wonderful former colonial establishment 'Africa House' - possibly one of my favourite bars ever visited!

Good times, recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMWilliams1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

The Dhow was the perfect selection. We were right in the heart of Stone Town and could get to all the sights easily. The hotel services and communication were great - they arranged our rooms ahead of time, accommodated changes in our reservations, set up an airport pickup, added a spice tour while we were there, and greeted us warmly throughout our stay. Breakfast was fine, rooms were comfortable, and the pool was perfect for cooling off after long, hot rambles through the town. They had power outages, but made sure there was power to cool the rooms in the morning and evenings, so that was no problem. The best was the atmosphere - lovely antiques, balconies, beautiful wood everywhere you look.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Fantastic hotel bang in the centre of Stone Town - we stayed in the suite for one night - which we can warmly recommend - very large room overlooking Stone Town and the best bit of this suite is the bathroom - open air shower/bath - a dream!!! The rooftop was were they formerly served breakfast and has just recently refurbished.

Very reasonably priced, very friendly staff, good breakfast, nice swimming pool in the court yard, overall a perfect birthday present -

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chasingdreamholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I went to this hotel and stayed a few nights in December. The hotel is centrally located in Stone Town, only a few minutes walk to all the main attractions. If you are more interested in the beach though I would recommend staying on the North Coast. The hotel isn't beach fronted but for us this wasn't an issue. The rooms are very spacious, we had a triple which came with large beds, overhead fans and A/C which was good for the night sleeping. The room was a large size with plenty of space for all our stuff, we also had a TV and table in the middle. All the beds has mosquito nets over the top which were in good condition. The hotel also has a pool which is plenty deep enough though isn't very long so isn't brilliant for actual swimming but is nice just to cool off in or if you have kids for them to play around in. We opted for the B&B option and breakfast was nice, continental style with a varied amount of choices. Price per night was pretty reasonable, and the hotel was nice and clean with attentive staff. The hotel also gave access to there WiFi network for free, which I thought was a big plus as a charge is often levied for this at other hotels.
The only warning I would give is that this is a dry hotel, it didn't bother us but if you like a drink at your hotel or in your room then this isn't the hotel for you as no alcohol is served at the hotel or allowed to be drunk in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin22y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Only stayed for three nights. Great service and staff were friendly and helpful. Atmospheric rooms with typical zanzibar furniture, comfortable and clean – and good value for money. Rooms we had were not noisy even though its in the town. Not a modern air con unit but we quickly got used to it. Perfect location for Stone Town and the front was only two minutes away if you wanted to get the breeze. Quick swim if you wanted. We had a good evening meal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jctraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Dhow Palace.

Strengths:

1. Located smack in the middle of Stone Town, across the alley from the more expensive New Africa hotel which has a nice upstairs lounge where you can have a sundown by the Indian Ocean. (Dhow, however, is not directly by the water.) But you can climb to a rooftop veranda and have a 360 degree view of the water and the surrounding Stone Town.

2. Zanzibari styled room with Zanzibari beds and lots of space. We had a triple which had two queen size beds and one double bed. We definitely felt like we were in the heart of Zanzibar as we entered the room.

3. Good breakfast, usually include in the room price. It was a buffet breakfast with lots of options. My favorite was the freshly made sweet rolls. They have Zanzibari breakfast items, but also western items such as omelets, cereal, toast, etc.

4. Hot water. We had plenty of hot water while there. One reviewer noted there was no hot water, but could it be because of the Zanbari power outage last year that lasted for months? Hotels had to run on generators, which could cause the hot water problem.

5. Cold AC.

6. Residence rate. For those living in Tanzania, ask for a Resident discount which give you about 20-30 percent off. They do check your passport though.


Weakness:

1. The pool in the hotel smack is the middle of the dining area. So expect to be watched in you want to swim.

2. Our room faced an alley with another building across, so we didn't get much sunlight.

3. Our bathroom was a bit small.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harmony101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 34 in Stone Town
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#8 of 34 in Stone Town
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#9 of 34 in Stone Town
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 34 in Stone Town
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhow Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Palace Hotel

Property: Dhow Palace Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Rd | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhow Palace is an elegant, boutique hotel in the heart of historic Stone Town, close to all amenities, shops and restaurants. Furnished extensively with antiques in a truly Zanzibar style, this 150 year old graceful building has been modernised to take care of all your desires.The hotel offers an open-air interior courtyard with a spacious swimming pool and snack bar, where guests can relax and unwind in peaceful privacy. Bask in the sun on our serene roof top terrace where you can enjoy delicious local and international cuisine and tropical refreshments. The roof top terrace is an idyllic place to watch life unfold in the busy Stone Town streets below, or to witness the remarkable sunsets on this romantic island. Dhow Palace is a place to find tranquility, eat well and become wrapped up in the best of Zanzibar culture. Many of our rooms have balconies overlooking the peaceful interior courtyard and swimming pool; all have traditional Swahili beds, air conditioning and many other facilities, including cable television and hotspot wireless internet. Let the Dhow Palace sail you through your holiday whilst you enjoy the blissful climate and explore the history and culture that this beautiful island has to offer. Location and amenities:The Dhow Palace Hotel is conveniently situated in central Stone Town, close to the shops, markets and restaurants. The Dhow is also within easy access of Zanzibar's awe-inspiring beaches, watersports, excursions and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dhow Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhow Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing