We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Zanzibar!”
Review of Dhow Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dhow Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Zanzibar!”
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We loved this hotel - beautiful old antiques in every room and all around the hotel. Beds very comfortable (King size). Staff were very friendly and helpful. There were a few maintenance issues in our room so we were upgraded to a Delux Suite for 2 nights! This was lovely but we had to move into a very small room for the final night as our room was booked.

The other dissapointment was that the rooftop restaurant was being renovated - just bad timing on our part but it would have been good to know this in advance.

So, all the packing and moving aside, it was a great stay and we would highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Stone Town.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    290
    87
    26
    15
See reviews for
131
269
61
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malawi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed at the Dhow Palace as the sister hotel, The Tembo was full, I wanted somewhere on the beach, but this was actually very pleasant, I ended up paying $70 for a huge room overlooking the swimming pool area with a little balcony and lots of fans.
It is showing signs of wear and tear, definitely "well used" comes to mind although it was clean enough and everything worked.
Nice Zanzibar beds and lovely period furniture.
One of the best assets is the rooftop restaurant where breakfast is served, the view over the city is wonderful. Breakfast is a bit basic, but considering where you are, on an island, with most everything shipped on, it is more than adequate.
Not luxury by any stretch, if you want that I would recommend I think the Serena, if it's not full of aid workers on a "retreat" or loud cousins from across the pond.
But for my style of traveling was worth it, also very close to the Fourdanini (I think that's how to spell it!!) gardens which opens up for food in the evening... also a great experience, go later when the tourists have been through and the locals are there, the ice cream pancakes with banana we found were great!!
The staff were very helpful, the only bummer being was the wireless internet was useless!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justyn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed for three nights in this hotel and found it a very pleasant place. The staff were extremely helpful and kind to us and the room exceeded our expectations in terms of size. It was decorated with antique furniture and all three of us had a double bed each! The proximity to the attractions of Stone Town were an added plus! Breakfast was lovely and there was quite a wide variety of food available.
Overall, the hotel is a good place to spend a couple of days exploring Stone Town which is an amazing place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estrellaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed in the Dhow Palace for two nights during a short visit to Stone Town. The location of the hotel is fantastic and all the sights of Stone Town are easily accessible.

The room was not amazing but was clean and had air conditioning, a fan and a fridge. The ensuite was nicely decorated with an arabian style shower, we did have some difficulty with the shower as there appeared to be contact with electricity somewhere, there was a current running through it. This only happened on the second morning of our stay & we notified the staff who said they would have someone take a look at it.

This is a dry hotel (ie no alcohol) so if you are looking for somewhere to enjoy a beer or bottle of wine in the evenings, this is not the place for you.

Breakfast was a large assortment of foods, and the coffee was good. the rooftop terrace has lovely views.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavendercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2009

What an extraordinary hotel. Although we arrived in Stone Town earlier than the normal check-inn time, we were welcomed and our luggage was stored in a secure location, allowing us to use the time at hand to wander through the streets of Stone Town.
One would be able to find something to complain about regarding the rooms, if you wanted. This is not a ‘Five star hotel’ but the accommodation offers a unique experience not attainable anywhere in “civilization”. Rather experience the hotel for what it is but more important for where it is located!
We stayed for two nights and the staff was friendly and helpful especially the pool attendant and the security guards.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIESLSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Situated in a beautiful historic building close to the beach, shopping and museums, this is a charming hotel with excellent staff. I stayed here 3 nights and it was a great base for touring Stone Town, the spice plantations, and other organized trips. The rooms are furnished in traditional style with a high bed and gorgeous tiled bathtub, and there is a lovely rooftop patio where meals are served.

After returning home from my trip, I realized that I had accidentally thrown my camera memory card in the garbage. I contacted the hotel and asked them to look for it...keep in mind this was 4 days after I had thrown it out. They got back to me and said they'd found it!! I just received the memory card by courier today. I am so impressed with the level of service provided, and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybug027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Stone Town, the old town of Zanzibar Town. Booking was easy through their web pages (www.dhowpalace-hotel.com) and response to inquiry came within hours. I also booked airport pick-up (15 USD) from them to avoid the local taxi hassle when arriving.

Double room (100 USD per night) was spacious. Very comfortable king size bed with mosquito nets, which were sprayed every night. Bathroom looked nice, but shower was pathetic, no pressure at all and water was really salty. There was also a little balcony facing back yard. Both air condition and fan in the ceiling worked smoothly.

Breakfast was plentiful: fruits, pastries, porridge, toast, eggs to order, coffee and juice. But restaurant is located in the top floor and there is no lift, so if you have difficulties climbing up steep stairs look somewhere else. There are no alcoholic drinks available.

Swimming pool is in courtyard, a nice refreshment after a hot day in town. Safety boxes are located in a separate room behind reception and are included in room rate. Reception arranges all kind of tours. City tour by walking with a guide is a good idea to get a picture of Stone Town and its major sights without getting lost in the narrow "streets".

Service was really good and all we asked was quickly and promptly answered and arranged. The morning we left breakfast was arranged us at 5 am.

All the above makes this hotel a very good choice in its price range.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
343 reviews
31.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhow Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Palace Hotel

Property: Dhow Palace Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Rd | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhow Palace is an elegant, boutique hotel in the heart of historic Stone Town, close to all amenities, shops and restaurants. Furnished extensively with antiques in a truly Zanzibar style, this 150 year old graceful building has been modernised to take care of all your desires.The hotel offers an open-air interior courtyard with a spacious swimming pool and snack bar, where guests can relax and unwind in peaceful privacy. Bask in the sun on our serene roof top terrace where you can enjoy delicious local and international cuisine and tropical refreshments. The roof top terrace is an idyllic place to watch life unfold in the busy Stone Town streets below, or to witness the remarkable sunsets on this romantic island. Dhow Palace is a place to find tranquility, eat well and become wrapped up in the best of Zanzibar culture. Many of our rooms have balconies overlooking the peaceful interior courtyard and swimming pool; all have traditional Swahili beds, air conditioning and many other facilities, including cable television and hotspot wireless internet. Let the Dhow Palace sail you through your holiday whilst you enjoy the blissful climate and explore the history and culture that this beautiful island has to offer. Location and amenities:The Dhow Palace Hotel is conveniently situated in central Stone Town, close to the shops, markets and restaurants. The Dhow is also within easy access of Zanzibar's awe-inspiring beaches, watersports, excursions and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dhow Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhow Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing