We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hospitality”
Review of Dhow Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dhow Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel Feb 28th and Mar 1st, 2014. Our original room had a malfunction of the air conditioner which made our first night very uncomfortable due to the heat. We did not say anything until the next morning when we spoke to a supervisor. we were immediately advised that they would make our remaining stay more memorable as they would upgrade our room to an Ocean view and better room. They were not kidding...we were upgraded to the 4th floor (highest floor with rooms) where there were only 2 suites. The room was phenomenal. It had a large sitting area, Queen bed and large windows that provided views of the ocean. Additionally, the bathroom and shower was outside with surounding walls but no roof ! It was really a cool concept. Outside the room there was also a large sitting area and a door led to a spiral staircase to the roof where one could sit at a table and watch the sunset or just the beach area. Everyone working at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good as well ! We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Discojoe

Thank you for your time taken and trouble completing this review.

We are delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us,as it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that our guests may have.

It is particularly very encouraging to learn from you that we managed to solve the problem before you could raise it or leave with a negative impression

We definitely look forward welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Dhow Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 648 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

Me and my husband stayed at Dhow Palace hotel for just one night and were fully satisfied. The interior is absolutely amazing, this is a real museum like other reviewers say. I even took some pics of its furniture :) The staff was very friendly to us. The room was with a nice decor and a small balcony. Very clean. There was some bottled water and a kettle in the room. We did not get a chance to enjoy the swimming pool in the courtyard but it seems to be a nice place to spend an afternoon after an exhausting day in Stone Town. The breakfast was excellent, we enjoyed it! The hotel offers free WiFi which was appreciated too. Overall highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polina_Ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Polina_Ku

Thank you for taking the time and trouble completing the review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

I hope this is just the first of many stops at Dhow Palace for many years to come

Ahsante Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a museum as well as a hotel. The furniture, wall hangings, decorations all recall a time long past but it also has modern amenities such as WiFi that works and air conditioning! We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The open courtyard and swimming pool with comfortable swing chairs and sofas around where you could sit and relax. The good breakfasts served each morning. Rooms with netted beds and VERY interesting furniture. Location near to many restaurants and shops, ATM and post office. All in all, a great place to spend 3 nights for us. Stone Town itself is very interesting so be sure to do a walking tour - it is absolutely FULL of history.

Room Tip: No elevators here so come prepared!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Albertameev

Thank you for taking the time and trouble completing the review with such a detailed information.

We are very delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, as it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services that we provide to our guests.

We hope to see you back soon,

Ahsante! (Thank You)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

On the top floor (stair access) it has a great view. It is a very large room with sitting room, bedroom, bathroom and outdoor rain shower.
Fridge included 4 small bottles of water, kettle for making in room coffee and tea, hot water in the bathroom,
Wifi work well in the room and there was also a telephone in room.
Fans and A/C worked well.
This is exactly what I would have imagined a palace room to look like in Zanzibar! Amazing furnishings.
No safe box in room but boxes with individual key behind the front desk, self serve and easy to use.
Check in was easy, I prepaid on hotels.com.
Friendly staff were helpful and very welcoming.
Pool in the courtyard looks lovely.
Restaurant on site on the main floor although we didn't try.
Breakfast included was a buffet with coffee, tea, juice, porridge, yogurt, sausage, beans, fried tomato, croissant, toast, butter, jam, fruit, eggs to order.

There is also a roof top terrance with good views.

Great location in Stonetown.
Easy walk to the ferry terminal, about 15 minutes door to door.

Room Tip: Ask for room 40.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HojasRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear HojasRojas

Thank you for taking the time and trouble completing this review.

We are so delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for noting our entire services from the member of staffs, to the decor, charm of our hotel and the facilities and an unforgettable experience in room 40.
It is only by receiving such information from valued guests, like yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what we can improve on in order to make your stay pleasurable.

It is the goal of our team that our guests feel comfortable, so that your stay is as pleasant and memorable as possible, and most importantly forging a long term bond making Dhow Palace indeed your "Home Away From Home" . We are hoping to extend our hotel in the near future with more rooms of the same style as room 40 (the outdoor / open to the sky shower)

It will give us a great pleasure welcoming you back at Dhow Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is an outstanding value for the money. The photos do not capture the charm of the hotel. The rooms are spacious and the decor is elegant. I concluded my 2 week stay in Dar and Zanzibar at the Dhow and found that it was a perfect way to say goodbye. The breakfast was the best of the places I stayed during my visit. The staff were friendly and helpful; they helped me arrange a reasonably priced day trip that catered to my interests. I will definitely stay at the Dhow the next time I visit Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen_CU2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Helen_CU2014

Thank you for your time taken and trouble completing this review.

We are delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us,as it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that our guests may have.

It is particularly very encouraging to learn from our guests, that you enjoy our services to the full from breakfast to professional advise

We definitely look forward welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great staff and very convenient location for accessing everything in Stone Town.
Hotel combines both modern and historical elements in a wonderful way.
Courtyards were marvellous.
Nice small pool which can be used for a refreshing dip.
Access to the Dhow's sister hotel the Tembo is an added benefit for lounging on the beach. Swimming in the Ocean not for all but I enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Rooms 33/34 fine rooms with views to both courtyards. Need to be fit to climb to these rooms no ele...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulunterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear paulunterman

Thank you for taking the time and trouble completing the review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

I hope this is just the first of many stops at Dhow Palace for many years to come

Ahsante Sana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Having read all of the reviews we were really looking forward to our stay but can't believe we stayed at the same place as the other reviewers. Reception was chaotic and we were allocated an occupied room, followed but a twin room before we eventaually received the keys to the double that had been booked. Staff were unfriendly, incompetent and, in the case of the waiter who took our lunch order, dishonest as he attempted to fiddle us over our change. At breakfast there were insufficient tables and our drinks were cleared away and we lost our table as we went up to get our breakfast! The room was good enough for a 2 night stay but I would reiterate the comment about there being nowhere to put bags or cases or to put clothes. (Totally impractical for a longer stay.) The furniture looked good but was too big and impractical for the space in which it it sat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhow Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Palace Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Rd | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $91 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhow Palace is an elegant, boutique hotel in the heart of historic Stone Town, close to all amenities, shops and restaurants. Furnished extensively with antiques in a truly Zanzibar style, this 150 year old graceful building has been modernised to take care of all your desires.The hotel offers an open-air interior courtyard with a spacious swimming pool and snack bar, where guests can relax and unwind in peaceful privacy. Bask in the sun on our serene roof top terrace where you can enjoy delicious local and international cuisine and tropical refreshments. The roof top terrace is an idyllic place to watch life unfold in the busy Stone Town streets below, or to witness the remarkable sunsets on this romantic island. Dhow Palace is a place to find tranquility, eat well and become wrapped up in the best of Zanzibar culture. Many of our rooms have balconies overlooking the peaceful interior courtyard and swimming pool; all have traditional Swahili beds, air conditioning and many other facilities, including cable television and hotspot wireless internet. Let the Dhow Palace sail you through your holiday whilst you enjoy the blissful climate and explore the history and culture that this beautiful island has to offer. Location and amenities:The Dhow Palace Hotel is conveniently situated in central Stone Town, close to the shops, markets and restaurants. The Dhow is also within easy access of Zanzibar's awe-inspiring beaches, watersports, excursions and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dhow Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhow Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing