We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional African”
Review of Dhow Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dhow Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Very well located for walking around Stone Town. Looks a little dated at first glance but it is part of the charm of this traditional African style hotel. Top floor rooms are a bit of a climb up steep stairs but probably the quietest away from the street below. Pool is in a strange location right in the middle of the main thoroughfare but this is a city centre location.
Alcohol is not available here but short walk to other hotels and restaurants that do if you want it. You will probably be woken early by the local mosque calling the faithful to prayer but this is to be expected in any Muslim country.
Trip to see the Red Colobus monkeys in the forest is worthwhile.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 660 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of a group tour safari. This hotel had a new portion and an older portion. We stayed in the old portion and it truly felt like we were staying in a palace - albeit an older palace without necessarily having all the modern conveniences. For some reason our room had three beds and yet each was only a double. The air conditioning only seemed to refridgerate the area immediately surrounding it. The bathrooms were large but then again not modern. We found the place quiet at night and therefore got a good nights sleep. The hotel is dry but we went across the street to the Africa House for drinks in their wonderful bar overlooking the harbour. We ate dinner out of the hotel as well although the breakfast and two lunches we had at the hotel were good.

Room Tip: Old section if you want character, new if you want more modern convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Good rooms with AC and comfortabel Zanzibar king size bed. Breakfast was very nice. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandSELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Vast rooms or suites. Stunning example of old glamour. Lovely pool.
Be prepared for no alcohol and no Internet though, as the computer was broken or missing. Easily remedied outside in the street Internet cares. Service patchy, but location and rooms great. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a terrific Hotel located in Stone Town close to Forodhani Gardens, the Fort etc (both 5 mins walk away). The Hotel has modern conveniences (A/c, Flat Screen TVs, Mini Fridge etc.) embedded in its old world architecture. The Staff are quite attentive and very helpful. The prices while certainly not in the backpacker range are NOT obscenely expensive. (A Single room costs $80). The place is close to many restaurants and the waterfront. One can retreat to the rooftop terrace for a meal or just to take in the view. The tiles in the bathrooms are an interesting touch. I would definitely stay here again.

The Hotel does not have Wheelchair access and those unable to climb the stairs, may need to choose rooms on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gopal-Venkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in November 2011, it was absolutely lovely. I stayed here with 2 friends, the room was on the top floor. It was huge had 4 double beds, huge bathroom which included a Persian bath. The hotel has a great authentic feel to it with lots of the furniture which was used back in time. The pool is stunning, a great attraction in the centre of the hotel. Would definitaley reccommend to friends. Great location in the heart of things.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollydeeDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Lovely, warm and a cheaper option for a luxury hotel. the best bit is its location; in the heart of Stone Town. The rooms were so clean and the bathroom quite fancy. Their fish was oh so yummy and the staff very friendly. Weird though that the pool was in the center of the hotel making it too public to swim. Overall i'd say a good choice for short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandaarchibong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhow Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Palace Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Rd | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $92 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhow Palace is an elegant, boutique hotel in the heart of historic Stone Town, close to all amenities, shops and restaurants. Furnished extensively with antiques in a truly Zanzibar style, this 150 year old graceful building has been modernised to take care of all your desires.The hotel offers an open-air interior courtyard with a spacious swimming pool and snack bar, where guests can relax and unwind in peaceful privacy. Bask in the sun on our serene roof top terrace where you can enjoy delicious local and international cuisine and tropical refreshments. The roof top terrace is an idyllic place to watch life unfold in the busy Stone Town streets below, or to witness the remarkable sunsets on this romantic island. Dhow Palace is a place to find tranquility, eat well and become wrapped up in the best of Zanzibar culture. Many of our rooms have balconies overlooking the peaceful interior courtyard and swimming pool; all have traditional Swahili beds, air conditioning and many other facilities, including cable television and hotspot wireless internet. Let the Dhow Palace sail you through your holiday whilst you enjoy the blissful climate and explore the history and culture that this beautiful island has to offer. Location and amenities:The Dhow Palace Hotel is conveniently situated in central Stone Town, close to the shops, markets and restaurants. The Dhow is also within easy access of Zanzibar's awe-inspiring beaches, watersports, excursions and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Dhow Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhow Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing