We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the Job”

Flamingo Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingo Guest House
Ranked #10 of 31 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very Cheap. Very Clean. Great Breakfast included. Basic but does the job when travelling around Zaznibar. Stayed here on 3 separate occasions - unless you're looking for bar/restaurant/pool/luxury then I don't see why you would stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliceJ35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 71 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

we stayed there 3 nights, its quite resonable for a budget trip, it has room with private shower and without it, simple but enough breakfast, clean room with mosquito network.
I had just a problem with a rude staff because of just 5 min delay in breakfast, which solved with the others apology, immediately!
you can reach any of stonetown attractions by 5-15 min walking and also you can reach the port by 25 min walking or 5 min drive!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHOTGUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A great budget place to stay at in Stone Town. Basic, clean rooms, friendly staff and good location: 10 min walk from Forodhani Gardens and the old town. Breakfast is simple, but good, served on the rooftop. There's a free safe at the reception to store your valuables. Really liked the staff, there were super friendly and nice. I stayed there the first two nights and then went back twice when travelling around Zanzibar. And would stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katica035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

It's a budget option, so don't expect much. There's water, there are mosquito nets and fans, the beds are comfy enough and eating your basic breakfast (toasts, jam, eggs, fruit) on the rooftop is a nice start of the day. Don't expect the receptionist to greet you with a smile and show to the most interesting places though:) All in all, I'd recommend the place to all budget travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This guest house cost us approximately £7 per night. Breakfast was basic but adequate, lovely cups of tea served with breakfast. Rooms are basic but enough as we were out all day and evening. First impression of the place was miles away from luxury, however, you soon feel safe and at home here, basic but I will return. The staff were helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardmorgan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Perhaps more of a 3.5 rather than 4 rating, but the Flamingo Guest House was exactly what I was looking for during my stay in Stone Town. Cheap enough so that I could spend my money on good eating, trips etc., and clean and comfortable to a level which was satisfactory.

A bonus for me was the breakfast, including fruit, eggs, toast, cofee/ tea and juice. Very filling, and quite generous compared to other budget alternatives.

If you are looking for 'just a place to stay' this is a good alternative.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I know a lot of people who would run screaming on finding out that this place has shared bathrooms which are a small room with toilet and shower combined. In reality they weren't that bad and kept very clean. We at least had a sink in our room.

Flamingo is a budget place so you can't expect too much. There was a new overhead fan, a functional mosquito net but the bed had a footboard which I hate in all hotel rooms. At two metres I'm lucky to fit in an average bed and an inflexible footboard makes this a bigger problem than it should be.

The rooms are comfortable as long as you don't expect sheets to be changed everyday or much cleaning to be done.

Breakfast is great on top of the hotel in the open-air.

Location is good, a ten-minute walk from the port area and on the edges of Stone Town but still in the middle of Zanzibar Town. It's really easy to walk everywhere.

Staff were fairly disinterested but responded when asked questions directly.

We stayed seven days and overall had no complaints. We slept well in a corner room with a cross breeze even though it was the hottest time of the year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samurai_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zenji Hotel
Zenji Hotel
#1 of 31 in Stone Town
419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rumaisa Hotel
Rumaisa Hotel
#12 of 31 in Stone Town
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lost & Found Hostel Zanzibar
Lost & Found Hostel Zanzibar
#2 of 24 in Stone Town
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Guest House

Address: Mkunazini Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range: $31 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Flamingo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Guest House Hotel Stone Town
Flamingo Guest House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing