We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel. ”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

An excellent Serena (as I expect from this company) beautifully located in stone town by the beach. Located in an old building with a really authentic Zanzibari feel. Great service (just the right balance) and food. A new Hyatt opening next door will soon raise the stakes somewhat.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank LukeAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    212
    54
    27
    9
See reviews for
136
291
58
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cavallino-treporti
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

In my opinion the best Hotel in Stonetown, simply luxury that let you relax day after day.
Good services and breakfast, we didn't try the restaurant, as there were plenty in Town.
Soon Hayatt will open a new luxury Hotel, but I like better historic places.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trevigiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

First time inn Zanzibar Stone Town for 5 nights cant believe I actually managed to stay this long...
It was the Friendly staff and the immaculate service provided which I think kept me going.. Starting from the doorman to the housekeeping just have to ask for it and its done ... It made my stay even more pleasurable.. I think this is the only hotel in stone town I would stay at for so long ...The food and the pool was an added bonus with stunning views it could not have been better .. The Serena name was surely kept here.. Truly an excellent hotel to stay in .
The rooms do nee a little refurbishing and I think the bathrooms are a little tiny but that would not stop me coming back here.... Excellent Location too ... Enjoyed my stay thoroughly ...until next time which may be very soon ..

Room Tip: The Prime Rooms are excellent and make sure you have a taste of the local food from the menu its gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlfaZulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for there for three days of which one using the privat Beachclub.
We where recommended to get room 52. This was a very good suggestion. A perfect room with a big balcony overlooking the sea.
The staff is very elegant and nice.
In our view " the" hotel in town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pim1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, but went there almost every day whilst in Stone Town. We had many cocktails, dinner and coffee here and every time we were accepted warmly and friendly and was given a great experience. The food was great and the cocktails as affordable as you can actually get in Stone Town. This was a very smart place and we found it just as affordable as some of the cafes and bars. Even if you don't stay here - do go for a visit and have a meal or some drinks. They have live music entertainment by local artists each night so there is a nice atmosphere too.

Room Tip: Please note we did not stay here, we only went as day viistors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The rains came early we were told. So was the bug life! I have never seen so many insects. We had dinner one night in the main restaurant (the roof restaurant was closed due to the rain) and if the ants weren't coming up the table legs, there was insects falling off the ceiling and mosquitoes coming into land. Dinner wasn't great but the insects made it a whole lot worse though given the dining area is an open area, there was little the staff could do. At breakfast it was fine and the views of boats passing, children playing and a yoga class were enchanting. Communication at breakfast was sometimes a bit hit and miss but we always seemed to get there in the end. The bedroom was well equipped though a better view would have been nice. Everything worked, It was clean and tidy and it was sprayed on request. Good wifi The front desk staff were attentive and helpful as were the bar staff. It was old fashioned and quaint with considerable charm so why the TV in the bar which was constantly on - for the staff?
Hope I can get back!

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durris681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having stayed with Elewana throughout Tanzania this was a real come down. Going from staff who couldn't do enough to staff who couldn't care less. A room with a band outside playing so loud that the windows shook and we couldn't use it. A manager who tried to ignore me when I went to the desk to complain. Electric sockets that didn't work. The others switched off and needed thumping to make them work. No water at all in the morning. Waiters that had to be chased to get served. Thank God for the concierge Big Joe he was good at sorting problems. Need to make him manager. At least he cared. Glad to get away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
31.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
31.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Serena Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Address: Kelele Square, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zanzibar Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing