We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great old fashioned town hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zanzibar Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned town hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for there for three days of which one using the privat Beachclub.
We where recommended to get room 52. This was a very good suggestion. A perfect room with a big balcony overlooking the sea.
The staff is very elegant and nice.
In our view " the" hotel in town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pim1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    210
    53
    27
    9
See reviews for
129
289
55
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, but went there almost every day whilst in Stone Town. We had many cocktails, dinner and coffee here and every time we were accepted warmly and friendly and was given a great experience. The food was great and the cocktails as affordable as you can actually get in Stone Town. This was a very smart place and we found it just as affordable as some of the cafes and bars. Even if you don't stay here - do go for a visit and have a meal or some drinks. They have live music entertainment by local artists each night so there is a nice atmosphere too.

Room Tip: Please note we did not stay here, we only went as day viistors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonitaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The rains came early we were told. So was the bug life! I have never seen so many insects. We had dinner one night in the main restaurant (the roof restaurant was closed due to the rain) and if the ants weren't coming up the table legs, there was insects falling off the ceiling and mosquitoes coming into land. Dinner wasn't great but the insects made it a whole lot worse though given the dining area is an open area, there was little the staff could do. At breakfast it was fine and the views of boats passing, children playing and a yoga class were enchanting. Communication at breakfast was sometimes a bit hit and miss but we always seemed to get there in the end. The bedroom was well equipped though a better view would have been nice. Everything worked, It was clean and tidy and it was sprayed on request. Good wifi The front desk staff were attentive and helpful as were the bar staff. It was old fashioned and quaint with considerable charm so why the TV in the bar which was constantly on - for the staff?
Hope I can get back!

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durris681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having stayed with Elewana throughout Tanzania this was a real come down. Going from staff who couldn't do enough to staff who couldn't care less. A room with a band outside playing so loud that the windows shook and we couldn't use it. A manager who tried to ignore me when I went to the desk to complain. Electric sockets that didn't work. The others switched off and needed thumping to make them work. No water at all in the morning. Waiters that had to be chased to get served. Thank God for the concierge Big Joe he was good at sorting problems. Need to make him manager. At least he cared. Glad to get away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watamu, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Fantastic location , helpful staff who were pleasant and charming could not do enough for us excellent food ..breakfast was a feast. ! Room 22 is quiet with a stunning large sunny verandah with views of the ocean . Stone town great to wander around do try the silk route restaurant one o the best Indians I have ever eaten

Room Tip: Room 22 , 4poster bed .. Huge verandah . Small bathroom but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were on a day out around Stone Town and had lunch at this hotel. It seemed to be quite a pleasant place and well located in Stone Town. The food was quite enjoyable and was seved in a pleasant and efficient way. The facilities lookec good from where we had lunch and the pool looked quite inviting. It certainly looked like a good place to stay if you were based in Stone Town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Amazing views from the room and pool area. Watch the dows sail by. Staff are great. Food is good considering the local. No complaints. Wonder the streets of Stone Town. I recommend using a guide for a couple hours. We found a registered guide named Harry. He charged $20 and we walked around the town for 2.5 hours with him. It seemed like he knew everyone and he took us into so many different buildings and told us the history of them and introduced us to the people in them. Harry was in his late 50s or early 60s and have lived on Zanzibar most of his life and had an interesting real life perspective on the town that he lived in.

Nightly local musicians would play in the common area and had a great authentic feel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TyrelH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
19.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
7.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
31.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Serena Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Address: Kelele Square, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Zanzibar Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing