We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Chain hotel of Aga Khan foundation. We did not stay there but had drinks and seen some rooms. If you are use to organized life this is the unique hotel in Stone town. It is clean, pleasant nicely decorated hotel.
Extensive renovation has been done. I think from the old time there is only 4 walls left. There is every comfort. You are at the edge of Stone town but yet in a very pleasant setting.
Unfortunately shop in the hotel is very small with not much thing. If you do not like negotiate and see the price before you touch the only chance you have is shops in the hotels. Knowing the commitment of Aga Khan to Africa please enrich your shop with products from local cooperatives.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Muge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 711 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Waiting for a ferry back to Dar we stopped over in the Serena Inn. The Concierge could not have been more helpful. Our luggage was secured, a table found with access to the pool. A room for showers and to change was provided which was clean and tidy. Food and drinks in a constant stream with good service. A good tip was given to the staff. An excellent finish to our time in Stonetown

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

As you enter, you just forget its a hotel. Its a mystic labyrinth in Stonetown stone. Yes, everything is there - the service, the friendly faces, the blue sea. Pices fall in place, its a hotel, but so different. I love the breakfast on the patio with the warm sea wind cooling your skin. Inspiring, optimistic and luxurious.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have not seen such friendly and jolly service in a long while and it was great to be at Serena Zanzibar. Right from the airport pick-up through to the front desk, great customer service with a genuine smile.

The hotel is located right in the center of stone town within easy walking distance to major attractions , the open market place at Forodhani, house of wonders , museum and government offices. It is refreshing to be in a town where security is not an issue and one can walk around into the night without fear. The locals are extremely friendly and chatty as you walk around, if lost just turn to the person around the corner and they will give you directions.

The hotel is a refurbished building giving it that great traditional feel you want to enjoy in Stone town, Zanzibar (a world heritage site) but also modern comfort provided. Room was clean with complimentary water bottles provided. Most rooms have a sea view. The hotel is on the ocean edge , though without a beach as such as the tide comes in quite close. still possible to walk along the beach at low tide. They offer free transfers to a private beach about 30 minutes away.

Only con was the expensive transfer from the airport at 40 USD for a very short distance.
Otherwise great hotel, great food and great people.

Definitely looking forward to visit again and hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Room Choice – Request a room with both sea view as well as pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

There's nothing wrong with this hotel. Rooms were very pleasant and as honeymooners we received a few bottle of wine which was lovely. The only grumble I had was the service. We spent our last day in Zanzibar here before flying home. For the last week we had been used to excellent service and so perhaps my expectations were too high. Upon arrival the reception staff couldn't find our reservation. This was quickly sorted but they promised our room would be ready within 5 minutes. They took us to the bar to wait. 30 minutes later we were still sitting there and no one had come to apologise or see us. My husband went to check and was promised again it would only be another 5 mins. 15 minutes later we finally got into our room. I appreciate that they might not have been expecting us but keeping us waiting 45 mins with no apology isn't good. Compared to other serena hotels which we stayed at during our safari in Tanzania I would say this one is average and doesn't live up to its 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTucker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I spent three nights at the Serena Inn, Zanzibar....... The hotel gives its guests real professionalism and I must say everything was just perfect.The room service was just good. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR VISITORS TO STONETOWN.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kojo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I will start by saying I believe we may have had the best room in the Hotel - Room 51.
Serena Inn is located right in stone town, walking distance to all that stone town has to offer, markets, beach, restuarants. The Hotel itself has old world charm and the architecture is exactly what we imagined stone town to be like. Our room was an absolute delight, a large 4 poster bed with mosquito net, nice bathroom, an L shaped balcony which provided 2 seperate otdoor seating areas, one with a hammock which I lived in! The view from the balcony was over the sea and the pool area, we sat out and with so many small boats going past we never tired of the view. The pool was a relaxing, quiet oasis. Breakfast was OK, but included in the price, for other meals we ate out, found a great little cafe/restuarant right by Memories of Zanzibar that I would love to review but can't remember the name of it, but we ate there 3 times it was so good.
Cons : Bed hard (but we found it the same all over Eastern Africa)
You must climb stairs to get to upper floors and a bit of a maze, but worth it to have the
room we had.

Room Tip: Room 51 - the best in the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bulmanius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
597 reviews
19.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,704 reviews
7.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
19.7 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Serena Hotel

Address: Kelele Square, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $282 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zanzibar Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing