We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in Stonetown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I spent three nights at the Serena Inn, Zanzibar....... The hotel gives its guests real professionalism and I must say everything was just perfect.The room service was just good. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR VISITORS TO STONETOWN.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kojo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 712 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

I will start by saying I believe we may have had the best room in the Hotel - Room 51.
Serena Inn is located right in stone town, walking distance to all that stone town has to offer, markets, beach, restuarants. The Hotel itself has old world charm and the architecture is exactly what we imagined stone town to be like. Our room was an absolute delight, a large 4 poster bed with mosquito net, nice bathroom, an L shaped balcony which provided 2 seperate otdoor seating areas, one with a hammock which I lived in! The view from the balcony was over the sea and the pool area, we sat out and with so many small boats going past we never tired of the view. The pool was a relaxing, quiet oasis. Breakfast was OK, but included in the price, for other meals we ate out, found a great little cafe/restuarant right by Memories of Zanzibar that I would love to review but can't remember the name of it, but we ate there 3 times it was so good.
Cons : Bed hard (but we found it the same all over Eastern Africa)
You must climb stairs to get to upper floors and a bit of a maze, but worth it to have the
room we had.

Room Tip: Room 51 - the best in the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bulmanius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful hotel, it's like stepping into a paradise of days gone by. Lovely attention to detail and some of the friendliest hotel staff I've ever met and I've been to a good few. Excellent choice for what ever you want!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanga67s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Zanzibar Serena Inn combines a fine athmosphere and pleasant service. The hotel staff is very service minded and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Restaurants OK - not remarkable, but with OK choice. Go for the seafood. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel is at the heart of Stone Town.Walking distance to authentic narrow streets of the Town and near to the sea; good for taking fisherman and local sail boats' pictures. Hotel belong to Aga Han foundation, quite clean, friendly services. Stayed 1 night only before departing to a nearby island.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savas-Unsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is Outstanding ! We have been to stonetown countless times and have stayed at different places but would rate this as Stone town's best !, The staff are friendly and efficient, the service is superb Quality as usual the Serena style. The breakfast is widespread. We were given a room with pool & ocean view, Lovely Amenities provided for the bathroom including mosquito repellent wipes , as well as kettle for making tea /coffee in the room. If you need to stay in stonetown, and want to have the best than this is the place, just book - you will be happy you did ! We would like to thank the entire Serena team for making our stay a memorable one, we will be back soon !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GABTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A lovely converted mansion right on the beach on the edge of stone town, beautifully decorated and delightful staff. Don't expect 5 star amenities in Zanzibar - its not that sort of place, but if you want a romantic old world experience full of authentic character you will get that in spades here. No plastic keycards here! Rooms are well furnished and air-conditioned, and there are lots of beautiful public spaces (open to the sea breezes) to explore. A nice pool, and the beach right there. Heaven!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
598 reviews
19.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,710 reviews
7.9 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
19.7 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Serena Hotel

Address: Kelele Square, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $279 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zanzibar Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing