We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Loved the hotel, the staff were fantastic and the service was great. The rooms were nice and the locationw as right on the water. Our favorite part was the day we spent at the hotel's private beach. It does take about 30 mins to get to the beach via complimentary shuttle but once there everything is handeled, food, drinks, towels, umbrella's, mattresses, etc. The price of the hotel was worth the stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    211
    54
    27
    9
See reviews for
135
291
58
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Arrived to be greeted by extremely efficient and friendly staff. Check in was straightforward and we were taken to our room. We had booked a prime room, it was large, clean with comfotable beds and had a wonderful sea view from our balcony. The pool area was clean and tidy with plenty of sun loungers. A really welcome "additional extra" at the time of our stay was afternoon tea. Hotel itself is very conveniently located. We had pre-booked our tours so have no experience of booking these from the hotel. The food was excellent - the only small negative comment is that we were told by our agent when we booked (and this was confirmed by staff at check-in) that dinner was a la carte and this was not the case on 2 nights of our 3 night stay. The first evening was buffet, second a barbeque and the final night was the promised a la carte - all food delicious though, no complaints from us! Every member of staff we walked past greeted us with "Jambo" and a huge smile - we had a lovely time. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Angelina05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This was our third trip to the Serena. Although we hadn't been back for over 10 years we found it unchanged and still wonderful. We had a great room with a huge balcony overlooking Zanzibar Bay - each morning we could watch the dhows coming back from their overnight fishing trips, and each evening we could watch them going the other way but this time with the backdrop of the sun setting over the coast of africa in the distance.

We had a truly delicious meal at the rooftop seafood restaurant - and would recommend it.

The staff were all friendly and helpful.

One negative, the exchange rates the hotel offers are not the most competitive.

Room Tip: We had a "prime" room and it was worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loshalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Wherever when I am traveling, business or vacations, I can find a Serena Hotel that is my choice, have been in several of these hotels in several countries, and in all of the Serena in Kenya, I have always been very much satisfied but the Zanzibar Serena Inn has been the best. Fantastic location by the sea of the Stone Town facing the mainland with a heartbreaking sundown.
What good? Courtesy, ambience, excellent furnishing in the old Swahili style, perfect and discrete service, luxurious comfortable rooms and excellent food.
Nothing better so far, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmondiNem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Serena Inn - located in a secluded area of Stone stone overlooking the Indian beautiful ocean! Quiet, serene & peaceful... Service was excellent, staff friendly, food delicious & the rooms were clean, spacious & great. The pool area had great views of the island & sunset views... breath taking!
Hiring a bike to roam around Stone Town is a good way to explore the area... the historical sights & shopping spots.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_0683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Hotel was an oasis of calm from the hustle and bustle of Stone Town.

The room was an adequate size and clean, the room we had had a balcony overlooking the sea (I think all rooms has sea views)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Tanzania Serena is a wonderful facility with peaceful gardens. It is close to all the intriguing sites to see. The rooms are large and comfortable, all with an ocean view. The staff are very helpful. We did have one disasterous dinner there, but the manage made up for our disappointment by having a bottle of wine sent to our room and not charging for the meal, a very nice gesture. We were really treated like royalty after that! Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwattsvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
31.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
270 reviews
31.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
7.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Serena Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Address: Kelele Square, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zanzibar Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing