We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must in stone town”

6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar
Ranked #5 of 78 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Fusion, Wine Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must in stone town”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

If your looking for a cool nice place to chill out this is the place ! It's open for breakfast till dinner really tasty food both Swahili &south African the service is excellent drinks all amazing the view is so relaxing. Try there grilled lobster. King fish

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lina64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Lina

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor- as you mention we are open for breakfast at 10:00 and stay open until about 01:00 (depending that is, we have a party on the rooftop every Saturday where we look at staying open until later).

We are glad you could take the time to chill here and enjoy what we have to offer.

We look forward to your returned visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    242
    87
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Beef in Zanzibar!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went here on our last day in Zanzibar, based on NY Times mention in 36 hours in Zanzibar, I wish we had come earlier so we could have experienced more of the wonderful menu.
Site of restaurant is overlooking the ocean a short walk up the street from the Serena Inn. There is a terrace below. an inside eating area and a rooftop dinning area. We started with vegetable samosas, (different everyday) and two small skewers of charbroiled beef with a tamarind dipping sauce. Both selections were outstanding, the beef was so tender and flavorful. The samosas were light and crispy not oily.
Our mains were Peri Peri half roasted chicken and a Caesar Salad with grilled prawns. Again, both were outstanding. The chicken was juicy and tender with a nice crispy skin. The caesar with prawns fresh and flavorful. We shared the ice cream with hot salt carmel sauce, omg.
Two of the best cappuccinos anywhere completed our wonderful meal.
The service and waitstaff are pleasant and knowledgable and they take credit cards.
Im just sorry we didn't get to go a couple more times.
I asked who the owners were, apparently one of them is an American and the other is from Zanzibar. Their wonderful meat is from south africa.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Greetings 'Snooper'

Your detailed comments on your experience here at 6 Degrees South are truly appreciated.

We pride ourselves in procuring beef from South Africa and sourcing fresh seafood daily, meaning guests are able to enjoy the best quality in produce offered in Town. I enjoy that you mention your coffee- this is sourced from the heart of Tanzania in the Rift Valley and Zanzibar, combining the purest taste to be enjoyed after a delicious meal.

I suppose by you not visiting the amount of times you wanted, means you have something even more exciting to look forward to on your returned visit. 6 Degrees makes for the perfect place to frequent as there is such a variety on offer here meaning a new experience every time.

Until the next time you are in Town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Studying in Zanzibar”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I'm a student in Zanzibar and this place is my home away from home. I've gotten to know the staff well, the prices aren't too bad, and they have amazing internet. I recommend the top patio for a perfect view of the Indian Ocean and some Hookah. Couldn't ask for a better place to wind down after a long day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you Ian for your comment.

We cater for all guests alike and welcome those to come and wind down and enjoy the view from the Rooftop Cocktail Deck. We offer the best Shisha alongside an amazing Cocktail and Wine List for this reason. And yes- we do have the fastest internet for those to catch up on their "social" life and share with the world the experiences they have had while visiting the beautiful island of Zanzibar!

Karibu Tena Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the Island”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Such a great atmosphere and a lovely view of the sea. The food is phenomenal and the staff are brilliant as well! Hilarious bunch! I'd seriously recommend it for an evening sundowner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Mr Ross Jennings!

Your comments are truly appreciated where the echoing sounds of your bagpipes are still resonating through the streets of Town. Thank you for a wonderful experience in coming through where we look forward to you marching through the streets to the entrance of 6 Degrees again.

Safe Travels and keep on doing what you do best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice feel.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice. Good food, laid back bar on the roof with happy hour half priced cocktails. A great place to relax, have a drink, enjoy the view then eat a good, but not too expensive meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Greetings Vee.

Thank you for showing your support on two occasions, it is truly appreciated! We cater for a full experience here at 6 Degrees: Shisha and Cocktails on the Rooftop with Happy Hour between 17:00-19:00 to enjoy the legendary African Sunset over the tranquil Indian Ocean; an affordable and delicious menu downstairs on our restaurant terrace which a Wine Selection that goes unrivaled in East Africa; together with the option of dining on our Tea House Terrace or Boardroom.

Until we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing