We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful restaurant”

6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar
Ranked #5 of 81 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Fusion, Wine Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed January 21, 2014

6 Degrees South is a beautiful restaurant with a large terrace overlooking the spectacular Indian Ocean. It is a large white building, complete with security. I ate there twice, both times my party and I sat outside. The first time it wasn't so humid out. The second time it was very humid, but because we asked to sit outside, they turned on the spray mister and fans! It was very pleasant to sit there and be misted while waiting for our lunch to appear! They have a very extensive menu, with numerous vegetarian choices. The food is super delicious and well prepared. It is very eclectic. They have a great bar and drink menu. The service is good, attentive but not pushy, and just the sort of service you'd expect at a better class restaurant in a laid back vacation paradise....it's not New York service, but they remember you're around. If you go, get the Carrot Dog with cabbage. Delicious!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank koala46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and observations. Our spray misters definitely help with the humidity experienced here on the island and glad it added to comfort your experience here. We have launched a fantastic new menu (your Carrot dog no longer on it- but can be prepared to order if need be!). We look forward to your returned visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 738 of 955 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

A lovely decked out restaurant with views of the Indian Ocean. The food is lovely and it's a great place for a cocktail sundowner on the roof top bar

Thank TrentendK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you Keith for taking the time to comment. No better place to catch the sunset than at our North @ 6 Degrees Cocktail Deck where we always look forward to your returned visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

As a recent transplant to Stone Town, I am so lucky to have found a refreshing retreat in 6 Degrees South. The staff, especially the managers Dane and Justin, are always incredibly welcoming and take a vested interest in their clients’ happiness. The food here is delicious, in particular the Philadelphia Po’ Boy and truffle fries! If you get the opportunity, be sure to check out North@6 Degrees South, their rooftop bar, where the sunsets over the Indian Ocean are out of a travel magazine. The artful cocktails, impeccable décor, and cool air conditioning make for a one-of-a-kind destination point in Stone Town for residents and visitors alike. Cory the musician has amazing tunes and really knows how to entertain! Whether you’re looking to grab a few drinks as the sun goes down, or celebrate an evening together with a full meal, 6 Degrees South will ensure that your visit is a memorable one. Enjoy this gem of a lounge and restaurant, and perhaps I’ll see you there sometime!

Thank April L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you April for summing up our establishment so well, your comments are truly valuable to us. We always look forward to welcoming you and trust to see you soon. We are planning a few exciting events that you can check out on our Facebook Page- this includes Wine Down Wednesdays for Wine Tastings on the 1st and 3rd Wednesday every month, amongst many other exciting plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The decor and setup is simple, clean and neat. This seamlessly compliments the ocean view, background house music and really good service. Couldn't stop taking photos!

Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Hi Daniel- really glad you were able to appreciate the beauty encompassing our establishment. Please feel free to share your pictures on our Facebook page or here on Tripadvisor. Thank you for taking the time to comment where we look forward to your returned visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have visited 6 Degree's a couple of times since they opened. They are quite consistent, the food quality is good, the service is better than many places. I wish I remembered our waitresses name from last night, she was absolutely fantastic, attentive, not pushy, fast and friendly. The live music was fantastic, such a talented musician and singer. The only little issue I had was the vegetable platter was a little too oily, and mac and cheese has been taken off the menu, the mac and cheese was my favorite.

Thank KirstenWaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

We feel very fortunate to have provided the Best Night Out for you Kristen. Our musician's name is Corey and really adds to a fantastic ambiance in the evening. He does also play during Lunch on Sundays. As per the Mac and Cheese- this has been a request from a few local patrons where I would like you to know that if you contact me before coming we can have it ready for you as a special- there is nothing our Chefs cant do to meet your requirements. I have spoken to the kitchen to ensure that they prepare the platter as it should be done. Look forward to your returned visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing