We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay”
Review of Al Minar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Minar
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family had a very pleasant stay at the Al-Minar hotel in Stone Town. It was comfortable, centrally located (within walking distance of most attractions) and competively priced compared to other hotels in the area. The room was very clean and the air conditioning was very welcome!. We loved the restaurant setting on the rooftop (semi open air) and the wide selection of food on the menu was very tasty. The staff were very warm and friendly and did not hestitate to go more than the extra mile in meeting our needs. We highly recommend this hotel. Thank you to Mr Bony Varkey and staff for a job well done!

Room Tip: Rooms not directly underneath the kitchen are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RobvL001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Al Minar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 269 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Al Minar Hotel was a warm and comfortable place to stay. The room was clean and air conditioned. The staff were warm, welcoming and extremely helpful. The hotel was located in a very convenient location and everything was walking distance. I absolutely enjoyed my stay and plan on going back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pndoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bony V, General Manager at Al Minar, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear 1RachelJane
We are grateful to you for your lovely words in appreciation of our hotel and services.The encouragement from our valued customers help us improve on our standards.We the Staff and management of AL-MINAR Hotel would like to thank you for selecting us on your accommodation requiremnts in Zanzibar and wish to host you at our hotel ensuring the best of our service for your next visit to this beautiful island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Al-Minar Hotel. The room was beautifully furnished, immaculately maintained and spotlessly clean with everything we could have wanted, including a great shower! The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. They got someone to show us where we could find a restaurant that was still open when we arrived late on our first night; happily lent us towels for a snorkelling trip after we had checked out and were generally friendly and keen to help. We also loved the breakfasts at the lovely rooftop restaurant (served until 11am!). The location was perfect, on a very quiet lane, but a couple of minutes from the road and a very easy walk to the House of Wonders, Forodhani Gardens, the ocean and lots of great restaurants. Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1RachelJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel is located almost opposite to the Serena in a convenient location in the heart of stone town. Everything was walkable. The employees were very friendly. The room had air conditioning and was clean. The beds were a little hard but ok. The breakfast on the rooftop was good. The restaurant on the rooftop was good; they had a choice of Indian, Chinese, Italian, etc. on their menu cards all with an African flare. The chef came out and greeted us every day and prepared lunch boxes for us to take on tours the next day. My only complaint was that the bathroom had a sewage odor which was attended to the next day after we complained. The hotel had some agreements with the tour company and had arranged great tours on the island for us at a reasonable price including dolphin swimming. The tours could’ve been a little more professional but ok for the price. The manager- Mr. Bony- was a very nice person.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at Al-Minar for one night only, but found little to complain about.

The Good:

The location within Stone Town means that you can walk all over the place without getting tired. And this is in the quieter part of town, meaning much less bustle to disturb you.

The service was pretty much spot on with friendly and helpful staff manning the floors and the reception.

The rooms are well equipped, and house keeping was efficient.

The breakfast on the roof which was fairly decent and fresh.

The value for money, in all spheres (especially foreign exchange).

The Bad:

The rooms are small. They're a good size for a couple, but no more.

The wi-fi, though free, doesn't reach all parts of the hotel. It was frustrating to stand near the doorway to be able to use it.

There are no views to speak of, and its a bit unsettling to have the windows look out to other houses. Keep the curtains down for privacy.

All-in-all, we'd recommend the place. It makes for a decent and quiet place to stay at!

Room Tip: The rooms out in the front get corner views with extra light, but suffer from poor wi-fi.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prayashgiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

What an amazing experience from start to finish our stay at AL MINAR was total perfection. The whole hotel is incredible and the staff couldn't do enough for you, we felt like millionaires. The reception area is WELL CLEANED, sleek and grand. The rooms are exceptionally well appointed with every little extra you can think of. It was these little touches that will definitely make us return to this hotel, I've always been one for experiencing different things on different holidays thinking returning to the same foreign venue would be a bit of a waste but no so here and we can't wait to go back. The FORODHANI PARK is literally metres away which can whisk you off to A FABULOUS SEAFOOD NIGHT. We had a club room,CALLED CAVE THE CLUB (if we wanted but we used the lovely ROOF TOP RESTAURANT anyway),So thank you very much AL MINAR Hotel and we are really, really looking forward to coming back next year.once again thnks for the lovely management '''''''''''GREAT WORK'''''''''''''

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triserall44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Excellent house keeping team.
Friendly staff.
Great location, you can walk around stone town from the hotel.
There's a beach you can walk to.
Lots of restaurants and cafes around the hotel.

The food may need some improvement.

Room Tip: 2 nd floor rooms are a bit noisy as the restaurant is on the roof top.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NairobiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Minar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Minar

Address: Plot 96, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $66 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Al Minar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a stone’s throw from Zanzibar’s historic Stone Town, the Al-Minar hotel is located centrally amidst the tourist district of Forodhani Gardens along the beach. The hotel itself embodies the essence of Zanzibar offering hand-carved beds, local artwork and the best local cuisine with modern amenities including state of the art bathroom, hot water and electricity backed by a generator. The best nightlife on the island is located minutes away as are the best restaurants, shops and other tourist destinations. Our hotel concierge will be happy to assist you with any arrangements regarding recreational activities during your visit. The rooftop restaurant at Al-Minar serves up an array of mouthwatering delicacies including local, Asian and Continental cuisine and the restaurants atmosphere showcases the spirit of stone town. tastefully decorated using local workmanship with modern amenities, the Al-Minar Hotel offers the best that Zanzibar has to offer with international flair ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Minar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Minar Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing