We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Minar
Nearby Hotels
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dhow Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
$106
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beyt Al Salaam(Stone Town)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$72
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$105
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$116
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zanzibar Hotel(Stone Town)
$72
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
152
118
22
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
118
22
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat managerforodhani gardenswifi worksmanager mrwalking distanceeggs cooked to orderconvenient locationrooftop restaurantexcellent locationair conbreakfast buffethotel is locatedrooms are nicetwin roomwater pressurethe hotel managermosquito net
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 301 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Every single member of staff at Al Minar was so friendly and welcoming, from Griffin, the man who came to meet us when we couldn't find our way to the hotel, to the reception and waiting staff. to the cleaning staff. The hotel was extremely clean. comfortable and stylish. We had a TV and air con as well as a fridge and everything we would need for a comfortable stay. The breakfast buffet is extensive and very yummy!! We would definitely stay there again should we visit Zanzibar in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We almost booked a more expensive hotel but then saw the 'Fabulous' review for this hotel. So pleased we changed our minds. Perfect location in centre of old town, down a side alley which made it very quiet. Upon our arrival, we were offered a glass of cool watermelon juice and cold scented towels. It was a very hot day. Our bedroom was attractively decorated with free wifi and air con. The staff were smiley, helpful and friendly. We had the best curry 'IN THE WORLD' in The Cave, part of the hotel. Breakfast a little disappointing as the cereal was stale, but they cook eggs, anyway you like, to order.
We booked Harry, at reception for our walking tour. He seemed to know everything!
Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iwishiweredancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in Al-Minar for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The friendliest staff we experienced on Zanzibar, they were helpful and helped us with everything we need (trips, taxi, etc). Rooms are nice, with A/C and hot water all the time. The hotel is right in the city centre, has its own rooftop restaurant where the breakfast is served as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kathuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Really nice place to stay. Good location, and the staff were so awesome and helpful, thank you for everything! And the breakfast was the best of all the hotels where we stayed all over the island. Baadaye!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Säde Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent three nights at Al -Minar and we enjoyed it very much. The hotel is new built and like a gem in Stone Town. It is very close to a small beach and the harbour and from the hotel you easily take walks around Stone Town.
We were warmly welcomed with a glass of juice and a cold towel and quickly got our room. The rooms are decorated in an african style with a huge bed and mosquitonet. There are coffee-and tee facilities in every room and free WIFI. The restaurant on the roof serve very good food. All the staff is wonderful!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews