We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, that's it.”

Terrace Restaurant at Maru Maru
Ranked #13 of 77 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view, that's it.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Excellent roof top view for sunset.
Otherwise very touristy, slow service (it shouldn't take 15 mins to get one bottle of beer with two reminders and still not get it!).
Be careful paying in USD's, the waiters will apply their own exchange rate if you are not careful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarrodFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    101
    35
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milan italy
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Indian food with view to match”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went there twice , the food was so tasty. Great samosas and the usual Indian menu. But it was fresh tasting and clean. Service a bit patchy but nowhere near the disasters I have read about here. There is a lift to the roof top, this is a real luxury in stone town. Most places you ave to climb 5 stories! Not a place for great cuisine , stone town , but this place is a trusty friend in a cuisine desert !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank christopherong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I could not get much worse than this”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Thought I would stay in the hotel and have dinner on the rooftop for the first night in Stone Town. Big mistake. My friend and I started with the appetizer which was supposed to be Indonesian satay with peanut sauce. It turned out to be a couple of pieces of old chicken on a skewer with some chili sauce. I asked for the peanut sauce and the waiter brought me some Indian Korma sauce. So, first mistake, it was what was advertised. Now normally, I always trust a waiter or waitress, second mistake here. I ordered the fish tikka. It was so old and fishy tasting that it was inedible. I told the waiter how bad it was and he did offer to fix something else but my colleague/friend was also struggling with his meal. He ordered lamb in masala and the lamb was so tough I think he almost broke a tooth. I will say that at least that sauce was decent, can't say great but at least it resembled Indian food. The garlic naan was the only thing really good that represented anything that seemed like Indian food. I will also admit that they didn't charge me for the rotten fish. That was nice of them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Roof top views”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This restaurant sits on the roof top of the Maru Maru hotel. After climbing what seemed to be a never ending stairway, the view from the top and the food wade it worth while. Excellent food, excellent service and an outstanding evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Nice rooftop terrace - view is better from the bar”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our back up hotel in case we changed our mind about staying at the Serena Inn. So in the end even though we didn't stay here, we went to the terrace restaurant for dinner the day we arrived (there's an elevator – an unusual feature for hotels here – up to the floor below the rooftop so you have to walk up the last flight of stairs). At sunset, the bar was packed as it was the choice place to watch the sunset. The restaurant, however, was covered and didn't have as good a view as the open terrace in front of the bar. And the music was a bit loud. Food was good however, we both had Indian curries - delicious and prices were very reasonable. All in all, a very attractive place, right in the center of Stone Town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace Restaurant at Maru Maru also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Terrace Restaurant at Maru Maru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing