We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Reasonable cafe for a break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hot Spot Bistro

Hot Spot Bistro
Ranked #51 of 75 Restaurants in Stone Town
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Reasonable cafe for a break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Dropped in for a drink at this establishment. Reasonable prices for drinks but atmosphere slightly spoilt by tourist tat for sale in the same room

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a cafe, shop, wifi hotspot and tour operator in one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place in stone town, they have maintained the old Zanzibar decor and furniture which gives you a feel of where you are! Great selection of food and rings including coffee and cold drinks. You can buy souvenirs too and arrange a tour at the same time. Wifi is free. An ideal stop whilst in stone town

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnujJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultan Qaboos, Oman
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“masha'allah habeebti betjaniny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

First of all the setting and the buildings are really beautiful. Arabic style but elegant and nice antique furniture. The setting is relaxing. The restauant decor also does not disappoint and offers a display of deserts and other offerings. Service was excellent and friendly. I ordered a green salad and when it came it first looked like it was only lettuce however once I began eating I found it was filled with green vegetables including aspargus, snow peas, avocado and numerous others . My main meal was a beef fillet on rice and was done perfectly. The beef was tender all the way through and came off the bone beautifully. The taste was lovely and the rice fresh, light and tasty basmati. All as I had hoped and I look forward to visiting again. Excellent tiramisu!! One of the best stone town has to offer! say'ye'a

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmedalsaidqaboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“New coffee shop with lots of potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

A new addition to the tourist strip in Stone Town this venue is a combination coffee shop, tour agent and curio store. The restaurant, in which i have dined more than once offers the usual coffee shop fare with a small menu and cakes, ice creams and the like. Service was attentive and the bathrooms always clean (as was the semi open plan kitchen which one passes on the way to the bathroom). The venue has two levels where one can sit and patrons have free use of the wireless internet. everything I have eaten there thus far has been fine, though i think the menu could do with a bit of tweaking (i'm a chef by profession) and some of the portion sizes i felt were a little small.
Overall however, Hot Spot Bistro has some potential if management can keep things on track. I would more than likely return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SamirAbdallahAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My kids LOVED the Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The restaurant is a treat and my family liked it very much.All the good reviews that I have read about this property are true. The Resort was excellent. We had a wonderful time. The Friday Seafood Buffet was a smash!. The friendliness of the staff seems genuine. I have never seen such good customer service as I experienced in my traveling.you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ania w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Spot Bistro also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Hot Spot Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing