We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abyssinian Maritim Ethiopian Traditional Restaurant

Abyssinian Maritim Ethiopian Traditional Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 73 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely place amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

its an amazing place lovely hostess and the food is delicious a lot of flavours I used to live in the north side of the island and every trip to stone town my highlight was the lovely Ethiopian restaurant .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank agnaysium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    45
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

loved the small green garden- wish there were less mosquitoes though. The service was very friendly, quick and professional.
There is a big variety of Ethiopian dishes to choose, we ordered a combination of chicken, beef and lamb- on the less hot and spicy side- that came on a huge platter.
No cutlery is used. the bring soft bread rolled like kitchen paper and you cut a piece of bread and use it to scoop the meat and the sauce.
The prices are very good and the coffee presentation at the end really awesome

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank covaltio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampula, Mozambique
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“divine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

after constant recommendations by a friend i finally decided to try this joint out. Oh my oh my I had been missing out. The food is so wonderfully prepared, tastes scrumptious and served hot. I now go there every chance I get and am telling all my friends. If you want exotic value for money food, you ought to eat at this place, its worth every cent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shadreck S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Excellent Ethiopian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We love Ethiopian food, so when we saw this restaurant, we decided to try it out.
We decided to sit indoors as there were some mosquitoes about though the outdoor garden looked lovely.
We were the first at the restaurant, so service was good and we had a friendly waiter. Our drinks orders were taken promptly and we were given a towel to clean our hands.
We decided on one of the mixed plates which included tibs, a favourite of ours. It is not spicy and has a delicious flavour. We had the beef but there is also lamb (not part of a mixed plate). It didn't disappoint.
The custom is to always use one hand when eating Ethiopian, usually your right.
Afterwards we shared a Spris, a layered juice - a speciality of Ethiopia. It was delicious. It included avocado, mango and blackcurrant. A lovely way to end the meal.
We have eaten in restaurants in Addis Ababa and the decor and set-up on stools around a large injera basket was similiar, so it is very authentic.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I took 23 people of a wedding party in for a meal after I found out a previous place was no good. They catered for us beautifully and whilst the service was a little slow, a group of 23 does put pressure on any restaurant. They coped well and the food was amazing. The choice of dishes is good and we ate in the traditional way. Hope I can go back soon. If you like ethiopian food, this is one to experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Diverupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinian Maritim Ethiopian Traditional Restaurant also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Abyssinian Maritim Ethiopian Traditional Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing