We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service”
Review of Maru Maru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maru Maru Hotel
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I had the misfortune to attempt an early lunch here the other day. We made it to the rooftop terrace after two different members of staff assured us the restaurant was open. After getting the menu and trying to order, which took half an hour, we were told that the restaurant was actually closed. When we asked a manager if it was possible to just get soup, as I had a dodgy stomach, he said 'yes, I'll ask the chef to make some'. Another half hour later, we asked a member of staff if the soup was coming and we were told it wasn't. Terrible customer service. Also the drinks were very expensive... Avoid!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank IVDD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maru Maru H, Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Dear Sir / Ma'am ,

Greetings from Hotel Maru Maru!

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Maru Maru. Your feedback is valuable to us and we ensure that we offer best of our services and hospitality to all our guests.

We regret for any inconvenience caused. We will discuss the same with our management and offer appropriate service recovery measure during your next visit.

At Hotel Maru Maru we ensure our guests leave the hotel with memories and stories to rejoice with. We hope to see you back soon.

For any assistance please feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours Thankfully
Ashwin Krishnamoorthi
Sales and Marketing Manager
marketing@marumaruzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 574 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Location - Perfect location, on a nice shopping street, 5 feet from the Fort and 50 steps to Foodhani Gardens.

Staff - some where very nice, some were okay. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. They set up dinner reservations for us, gave us advice on where to go, and were very pleasant. They also gave us some cookies and drinks and put balloons in our room for our honeymoon which was very nice.

Rooms - air conditioned (which is a necessity there) with a TV with limited channels, but if you like sports, there were cricket, football (soccer), and rugby on the two nights we stayed there. Although we weren't in our rooms too often.

Breakfast - it was pretty good. My only real complain is it is supposed to start at 7 and our last day (while rushing for our flight) we were there at 7 and waited 20 minutes for them to set up. And they were not very pleasant while we tried to tell them we were in a hurry due to our flight.

Rooftop - Great views, great at sunset, and a nice bar. We had one drink up here both nights of our stay and enjoyed them.

Overall, it was a nice stay with a perfect location for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamboJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maru Maru H, Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Dear Brandon ,

Greetings from Hotel Maru Maru!

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Maru Maru. Your feedback is valuable to us and we ensure that we offer best of our services and hospitality to all our guests.

At Hotel Maru Maru we ensure our guests leave the hotel with memories and stories to rejoice with. We hope to see you back soon.

For any assistance please feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours Thankfully
Ashwin Krishnamoorthi
Sales and Marketing Manager
marketing@marumaruzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have just checked out of Maru Maru hotel. This was a family vacation and frankly I would sum up our review as follows: huge improvements needed and the hotel is overrated!

We picked the hotel partly be used of the ratings of TA. Having travelled the world and especially in Zanzibar and Tanzania we were appalled by port customer service we received at the hotel not to mention the sub-average quality breakfast! Our package included meals and after a sampling of the breakfast we decided it was not worth even trying lunch or dinner - we ate somewhere else. The manager (Olivier spears) was never seen - unlike in other hotels where general managers are visible and out there welcoming guests. We complained to him about a mess up in our reservation which caused havoc at check in- he did not even have the courtesy to respond to my email . The front office manager tried to help but frankly it did not seem like he was empowered to make any decision . For a hotel that is 3 years old we were shocked even by Zanzibar standards how poor the quality of service was. Oh and be aware - if you are booked yo stay in the old wing - there is no wifi: you have to get a cable connection and this is quite cumbersome!

Our family of four just checked out of the hotel before our time expired simply because the service and the manager were yo say the least horrendous. Do yourself a favor and don't try this hotel - there are much better options just down the street than Maru Maru. I also think the manager has some issues and like other reviewers am starting to think there is segmentation of clientele and quality of services rendered. Just look at the facts and ask yourself why this particular hotel had not eve ivied ANY award. Now we know why! We will never go back to the hotel and we would not recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay away from the old wig if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jhjh3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maru Maru H, Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Dear Sir / Ma'am ,

Greetings from Hotel Maru Maru!

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Maru Maru. Your feedback is valuable to us and we ensure that we offer best of our services and hospitality to all our guests.

We regret for any inconvenience caused. We will discuss the same with our management and offer appropriate service recovery measure during your next visit.

At Hotel Maru Maru we ensure our guests leave the hotel with memories and stories to rejoice with. We hope to see you back soon.

For any assistance please feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours Thankfully
Ashwin Krishnamoorthi
Sales and Marketing Manager
marketing@marumaruzanzibar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We had already spent 19 days in a villa on the eastern side of the island and decided to conclude by staying in Stown Town to do the cultural thing and shop. Hotel is clean and decor nice. Ammenities in the rooms are average. Breakfast didn't impress! Rooftop offers great deals and stunning views, awesome sunset. Dissapointed that the hotel does not have a swimmingpool. Our room didn't offer a view worth opening our shutters.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank DeninaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Maru Maru is a lovely hotel centrally located in the nicer end of Stone Town. Everything you would want to see is no more than a 10 minute walk away. The room was a reasonable size, with a good size wardrobe and a decent desk. Attached is a large bathroom. The TV channels were a bit limited, but then, you don't travel here for the TV. The wifi was quick and reliable. The breakfast was pretty decent, with a selection of pastries, fruits, toast, coffee and a small range of cooked items. Staff were friendly and efficient. Check in and check out took very little time. Would stay there again if I was in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miserableinkhartoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at Maru Maru for one night after doing a safari, and the clean, cool, airconditioned rooms were more than welcome! The hotel looks beautiful, very boutique with lovely decorations in the lobby and public areas. The hotel is also right in the middle of stone town and as you step out the door you are in the beautiful laneways and right amongst it.

The rooms are lovely and clean and having a tv, air conditioning and big soft towels is very luxurious after coming from safari!

We would happily stay at Maru Maru again if back in Stone Town, my only notes would be that it is reasonably noisy - you can hear the staff and other guests moving about in the hallways outside your room. It didnt bother us but might bother some. Also when checking out we were told that the eftpos was down and we would have to pay cash. Luckily there is an ATM nearby, but often that is out of order too we found, so maybe try and have cash when checking out, just in case!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We visited this hotel only for lunch. The terrace restaurant has a nice view of Stone Town. The menu has Indian and European food - wee ordered Indian and it was quite tasty. The service is rather slow though.

Overall would rate place worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#6 of 33 in Stone Town
325 reviews
18.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,704 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maru Maru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maru Maru Hotel

Address: 397 - 400 Gizenga Street | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $101 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maru Maru Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the UNESCO world heritage site of StoneTown, Maru Maru Hotel is just a few steps from the city’s historical wonders, colourful markets and labyrinth of shops. Once a town house famous for its marble floors and tiles, it has now been lovingly restored to offer 44 bright rooms blending classic Zanzibar style with iconic design and modern luxuries. Its roof terrace offers one of the best views in the city with a 360° panorama and is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail as the sun melts into the Indian Ocean. The relaxed ambiance at Maru Maru continues long into the night as people come to enjoy a vast variety of Continental, Chinese Indian and Swahili cuisine, view art in Maru Maru’s gallery and enjoy the captivating sound of Tahareb music as it floats into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Maru Maru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maru Maru Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing