We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice decor, friendly staff”
Review of Maru Maru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maru Maru Hotel
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Maru Maru is a lovely hotel centrally located in the nicer end of Stone Town. Everything you would want to see is no more than a 10 minute walk away. The room was a reasonable size, with a good size wardrobe and a decent desk. Attached is a large bathroom. The TV channels were a bit limited, but then, you don't travel here for the TV. The wifi was quick and reliable. The breakfast was pretty decent, with a selection of pastries, fruits, toast, coffee and a small range of cooked items. Staff were friendly and efficient. Check in and check out took very little time. Would stay there again if I was in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miserableinkhartoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 549 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at Maru Maru for one night after doing a safari, and the clean, cool, airconditioned rooms were more than welcome! The hotel looks beautiful, very boutique with lovely decorations in the lobby and public areas. The hotel is also right in the middle of stone town and as you step out the door you are in the beautiful laneways and right amongst it.

The rooms are lovely and clean and having a tv, air conditioning and big soft towels is very luxurious after coming from safari!

We would happily stay at Maru Maru again if back in Stone Town, my only notes would be that it is reasonably noisy - you can hear the staff and other guests moving about in the hallways outside your room. It didnt bother us but might bother some. Also when checking out we were told that the eftpos was down and we would have to pay cash. Luckily there is an ATM nearby, but often that is out of order too we found, so maybe try and have cash when checking out, just in case!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We visited this hotel only for lunch. The terrace restaurant has a nice view of Stone Town. The menu has Indian and European food - wee ordered Indian and it was quite tasty. The service is rather slow though.

Overall would rate place worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My name is Culture Hamada and I’m from Zanzibar, I went with my girlfriend to Maru Maru, we were inside the hotel when I was violently attacked by a person, the manager of the place, because I was barefoot. Without saying “sorry” or “ please” he come to me shouting aloud: GO OUT FROM HERE, WITHOUT SCHOES YOU CANNOT STAY HERE, GO AWAY! Me and my girlfriend try to say “don’t shout to us , we hare customers, you can’t treat us like this, be nice!” the manager reply with violence: “YOU HAVE TO GO OUT NOW FROM THIS PLACE OR I CALL POLICE! WE DON’T SELL NOTHING FOR YOU!GO OUT! SECURITY! SECURITY!” We didn’t have any chance to reply because he was shouting and shouting me, we were shocked by his behaviour, he treated me like a criminal, the security come to me and with his hand in my back pushed me to go out. We left the place feeling really disappointed for his bad way to invite me to go out. They have proven to be racist without any respect for the people of Zanzibar. The Zanzibarians like to walk barefoot and if we can’t go in a place for this reason at least tell us with kindness at the main entrance. Black, Barefoot, Rasta, WE are persons, don’t treat us like animals.
God bless you
Culture Hamada

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cultureHamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marumaruhotel, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Hamada,

We are running a hotel that is visited by international tourists and business travelers. While running this business every staff member of the hotel is trained on communications, etiquette, customer handling etc...our management do not approach any guest violently. we respect local community and the hotel has majority of local staff. We also respect your way of living in public areas. but please understand a private establishment has its rule & regulations to follow for the benifit of our guests and the hotel. The management do not tolerate anyone who is not willing to follow the rules of conducting the business such a n appropriate dress code. The management reserves the right of admission. This is for the safety, security of our guests staying at the hotel and to ensure the atmosphere and people inside the premises fit to the standards our guests expect in this hotel. when a request to leave the hotel premises is taken offensively by you the guest and start using foul languages then management have to take next step of using the security or law enforcement officers to remove the guest...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed in the Maru Maru for 2 nights. Great place to stay in Stone Town, ideally located near the fort and the waterfront. The hotel is colonial style with some modern twists and has a fantastic rooftop terrace bar and resteraunt. The staff were friendly and the rooms were good. The only area to improve would be the breakfast which was only average. Also the area around the hotel is a but noisy from early morning so you will be woken up early.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hotel is very beautiful and clear. There is a nice terrace. Some nights there is live music at the terrace. Staff is generally helpful and friendly. It is at the central place.
But we didn't like the huge trash container which is very close to the hotel entrance. If they apply to municipality they can solve this problem. And our room was looking a wall only. And there was a huge noise (because of the air condition of the kitchen I think ). They shoud cancel that room in my opinion. And when you come to hotel they want to take credit card comission for booking.

Room Tip: Ask for the silent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonayKoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel in Stonetown, we would happily stay again. Perfect location right amongst the alleys, shops, few minutes to the beach and gardens, right next to the old fort, great roof top restaurant and bar, lovely friendly staff, fresh and clean rooms. We were unfortunately involved in a car accident on our holiday and the staff looked after us very well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.0 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
18.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maru Maru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maru Maru Hotel

Address: 397 - 400 Gizenga Street | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $100 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maru Maru Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the UNESCO world heritage site of StoneTown, Maru Maru Hotel is just a few steps from the city’s historical wonders, colourful markets and labyrinth of shops. Once a town house famous for its marble floors and tiles, it has now been lovingly restored to offer 44 bright rooms blending classic Zanzibar style with iconic design and modern luxuries. Its roof terrace offers one of the best views in the city with a 360° panorama and is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail as the sun melts into the Indian Ocean. The relaxed ambiance at Maru Maru continues long into the night as people come to enjoy a vast variety of Continental, Chinese Indian and Swahili cuisine, view art in Maru Maru’s gallery and enjoy the captivating sound of Tahareb music as it floats into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maru Maru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maru Maru Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing