We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I really liked this hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maru Maru Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maru Maru Hotel
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I really liked this hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Clean, new, great staff! Nice rooms, they put down the nets and then spray for bugs. Can be a little noisy, but hey its StoneTown! Close to the Gardens and old Fort. Awesome rooptop patio. We saw a NYE performance that was absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: Courtyard, not the street rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drunkmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    165
    37
    17
    22
See reviews for
92
145
52
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

There is these nice hotel with very poor service and bad location, Maru Maru is one of them. Thebrestaurant has a nice view yes on the top of hotel, but the service is so poor that you may look forn your meañ instead of the view (one hour to get a small salad).

another small details (these small details count at the end), I was unable to use my credit card duento network problem at the cashier (but we had internet in the room) and all the surrounding ATM where not working (a bit embarassing when you're on leave).

A last one, noisy in e evening....I will never come back here

Room Tip: Please choose the Tembo Hotel near by, there is a nice view on the sea, cheaper and with swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nesao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
395 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, but when we walked through the building I wish we had been. It seemed to mix the old and the new so well, and had a really refreshing feel about it.

We went for happy hour sundowners on the rooftop bar, and it was a really good vibe. The drinks were delicious, there were barbecue snacks on offer, the music was really mellow and suited the environment. The whole set up made it feel quite Mediterranean with the white walls and views out over the rooftops and ocean.

Fantastic place to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voyage_in_design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at Maru Maru hotel for two nights to visit Stone Town.

Pros:
- excellent location for exploring Stone Town on foot (including walking to/from restaurants at night)
- lovely well kept, clean and pretty colonial building
- nicely appointed rooms with decent bathroom and shower
- welcoming and friendly staff
- great views from the panoramic rooftop terrace
- breakfast served on the roof terrace (nice ambience);

What could have been better:
- The noise in the evenings: the music on the rooftop bar was a tad bit loud but what made it worse was the echo effect of the central courtyard which unfortunately amplified it and made it quite bad. I am not normally fussy about noise and I can sleep easily but on the first night I used my earplugs to fall asleep. On the positive it did not go on for too long and it was over by midnight, after which it was very quiet.
- One day it was raining and I asked for an umbrella at reception. They had run out. I think in this kind of hotel they should have at least one umbrella per room.
- it would have been nice to have wi-fi on the roof terrace (if not in the rooms) and not just at reception, though this is not such a big deal for me on holiday.
- breakfast was OK, not the worst I have ever had while travelling but nothing to wow me; Just about adequate. Staff did not know what a poached egg was when I asked for one.


Overall a good hotel which I would consider using again if I was to go back to Stone Town thought probably not for long stays just because of the noise in the evenings.

Room Tip: See if you can ask for a room away from the central courtyard, it may be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ros_in_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We loved this hotel! It is truly a gem in the middle of hot, noisy, chaotic Stone Town. The location is great with only a few minutes walk to the Forodhani Gardens, restaurants and shopping. We were really impressed with the the traditional style (the courtyard was beautiful) mixed with modern amenities. Service was excellent - from the moment we walked in we felt pampered. The room was spotless, spacious and the bathroom was the best we had in Tanzania (loved the shower!). Everything was at a much higher standard than we expected with lots of attention to detail. The letter of welcome in the room was a nice personal touch. The hotel felt very safe and secure which was important to us as we were two women travelling on our own. There is a rooftop terrace with an amazing view of the harbour where we had our breakfast. Our only disappointment was that we were only there for one night and missed the sunset from it. Overall, excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank powerbase2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We been there twice in January, when flying in (3am) and out (2am), one week later.

The first night, we had to knock on the door for 5 minutes to get an answer and wait for another 15 minutes until somebody opened the door, but they gave us a late check-out.

The hotel is new and clean, the rooms quite bright, but this place does not bring the same "cachet" as other properties around in the same price range.

For the second night, we tried to get a "half-night" bargain directly at the hotel, but they just offered us a 20% discount on the rack rate, which was still 20% higher than hotels.com current offer. That time, that was not as good as the first one: we went to sleep at 8pm, but the patio was really noisy until 10:30pm and the lounge plays loud music until 11:30pm.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneAdvisedTravaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Maru maru a new hotel surrounded by the beauty of Stone town with great staff who are welcoming and always willing to go out of their way 24/7, to ensure an unforgettable experience. The rooms are of high standard. My experience there is being in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafikiZanzibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#9 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 34 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#3 of 34 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maru Maru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maru Maru Hotel

Property: Maru Maru Hotel
Address: 397 - 400 Gizenga Street | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maru Maru Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the UNESCO world heritage site of StoneTown, Maru Maru Hotel is just a few steps from the city’s historical wonders, colourful markets and labyrinth of shops. Once a town house famous for its marble floors and tiles, it has now been lovingly restored to offer 44 bright rooms blending classic Zanzibar style with iconic design and modern luxuries. Its roof terrace offers one of the best views in the city with a 360° panorama and is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail as the sun melts into the Indian Ocean. The relaxed ambiance at Maru Maru continues long into the night as people come to enjoy a vast variety of Continental, Chinese Indian and Swahili cuisine, view art in Maru Maru’s gallery and enjoy the captivating sound of Tahareb music as it floats into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Maru Maru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maru Maru Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing