We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stonetown Heaven”
Review of Maru Maru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maru Maru Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Behind the house of wonders there is this wonderful and cozy hotel which is worth every dime!!!!!! Service is excellent, great location......i'm definately recommending this hotel to all and will definately be sending my clients to Maru Maru

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TC-ARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marumaruhotel, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for considering my hotel as a heaven in in town. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and delighted that you are sending your clients to our hotel. We will look forward to have you and your clients at our hotel soon

Regards
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 562 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Location is great. Very close to the old fort and the Forodhani gardens. Convenient to walk to many places within Stonetown as the hotel has a central location.
Service was commendable. The room was lovely and very clean. The entire hotel layout is planned very well.
Loved the views from the terrace of the water and of the city. Made a great spot to sit and watch the sunset. Food was delicious. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marumaruhotel, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much for staying at our hotel. we are happy that you feel valued and enjoyed our food.

we will look forward to see you soon whenever your travel plans brings you to Zanzibar

Regards
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I loved my stay at the Maru Maru hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Zanzibar. The location behind the old forte is great and the service is unbelievable. The entire hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very well designed and spacious. The roof has an amazing view and a great ambiance and the food is delicious! Maru Maru is a must stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabarid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marumaruhotel, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. This is so motivating to push ourself to do more and give more value to our guest. We will look forward to see you at our hotel soon in near future.

Regards
Olivier Spears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Maru Maru is beautiful inside and out. The rooms were spacious, clean and beautiful.
I loved their bathroom, which was all white, clean and spacious also. The beds were clean and had crisp white linen, very soothing experience in the room.

Location is very convenient, just steps away from the famous Forodhani park.

The reception clerk was not very friendly, but could be that she had no experience how to welcome guests or could she was just having a bad day. On the other hand the manager there GIRISH was very nice and down to earth. He made our stay very pleasant. I would totally recommend this hotel to all those who are visiting Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZahidaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marumaruhotel, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

We were glad to have you as our delighted guest, thanks more all the feedback. We will assure that we will maintain our standards and look for improvement in every step. Should you travel plans bring you back to Zanzibar we will be delighted to offer you a celebrity experience.

Regards
Olivier Spears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Amazing stay at Maru Maru – fantastic location and the Terrace Lounge – makes it the perfect place to explore Stone Town. Just behind the Old Fort – with the terrace 360 views out to the Zanzibar port and across Stone Town you can escape the busy streets below – the perfect spot for sundowners!

Rooms were immaculate, very tasteful, small details, great showers (and lots of hot water!). Staff very friendly and helpful, great food a real gem. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthewmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marumaruhotel, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Mathew,

We were glad to have you enjoying our cocktails, thanks more all the feedback. We will assure that we will constantly upgrade and improve our cocktails ans other product and service. Should you travel plans bring you back to Zanzibar we will be delighted to offer you the best experience.

Regards
Olivier Spears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

very good value for money, excellent location and fantatstic views. rooms are well tastefully and simply decorated (not the usual Zanzibari style) and very comfortable. bathrooms in old wong very nice. service very good. restaurant has good indian food but it so conveniently located that you can just about walk anywhere else to eat... highly recommended hotel and one of my favourites

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marumaruhotel, General Manager at Maru Maru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Rupen,

Thank you so much your staying with us and your valuable review on trip advisor. We were so delighted to be your host during your stay. We wish to see you soon at our hotel.

Regards
Olivier Spears

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

An Excellent Oasis in the Stone Town with a local interiors and modern amenities. Enjoyed the well serviced and frequented terrace, views are great both in the evening and during the day. The rooms are very comfortable and stylish, slpet very well. The staff is amazing, always willing to help. The only dissappointing thing was they took 30 mins to pick up my clothes for pressing it was too late.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nassir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
18.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,681 reviews
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maru Maru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maru Maru Hotel

Address: 397 - 400 Gizenga Street | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: $102 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maru Maru Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the UNESCO world heritage site of StoneTown, Maru Maru Hotel is just a few steps from the city’s historical wonders, colourful markets and labyrinth of shops. Once a town house famous for its marble floors and tiles, it has now been lovingly restored to offer 44 bright rooms blending classic Zanzibar style with iconic design and modern luxuries. Its roof terrace offers one of the best views in the city with a 360° panorama and is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail as the sun melts into the Indian Ocean. The relaxed ambiance at Maru Maru continues long into the night as people come to enjoy a vast variety of Continental, Chinese Indian and Swahili cuisine, view art in Maru Maru’s gallery and enjoy the captivating sound of Tahareb music as it floats into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maru Maru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maru Maru Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing